Law Enforcement FAQ's
I am an out-of-state police officer/federal officer, how do I get certified in Virginia?
I am a former police officer In Virginia, how do I get re-certified?
How do I find training information for the Line of Duty Benefits for law enforcement officers and public safety officers?
How often do I have to attend In-Service Training?
Every law-enforcement officer, jailor or custodial officer, court security officer, process service officer, and officers of the Department of Corrections must complete compulsory in-service training by December 31 of the second calendar year following satisfactory completion of the entry-level compulsory minimum training standards, and every other calendar year thereafter.
- LE-40 hours (4 legal, 2 Cultural Diversity and 34 Career Development)
- Jailors-24 hours (4 legal, 2 Cultural Diversity and 18 Career Development)
- Court Security and Civil Process-16 hours (4 legal, 2 Cultural Diversity and 10 Career Development)
- DOC Correctional Staff-24 (4 legal, 2 Cultural Diversity and 18 Career Development)
- DOC Lieutenants & Wardens-40 (4 Legal, 2 Cultural Diversity and 34 Career Development)
How often do I have to Re-Certify as a General Instructor?
Instructor certification shall be valid for not more than three years. Individual instructors must meet all applicable recertification requirements by December 31 of the third calendar year following issuance of certification.
How do I (Agency) submit paperwork for new hires (Form 21) and employment updates (Form 31) to DCJS?
Agencies not currently using T-Rex (Training Online Database software) may fax their forms to DCJS or send via PDF format; however, this method will significantly delay processing the request. The T-Rex User Guide may be accessed at http://www.dcjs.virginia.gov/cple/t-rex/
Fax to (804) 786-0410
Who do I contact for general law enforcement questions?
Who do I contact in reference to Private Security?