Who is considered "armed"?
The term "armed" refers to any private security registrant, bail bondsman, bail enforcement agent, or SCOP who carries or has immediate access to a firearm in the performance of his duties.
What is a firearms endorsement?
A firearms endorsement is a separate card that must be carried with a valid registration card to show that an individual has successfully completed the annual firearms training and has met the requirements as set forth in the state regulations.
How do I apply for and/or renew my firearms endorsement?
Please see the Apply & Renew section of our website for details.
Can any registered category be armed?
Yes provided the applicant submits a firearms endorsement application (PSS_RF) and $10 fee as well as complete all required training. Security officers must take arrest procedures (05E).
When must I complete firearms training?
Firearms training must be completed before the firearms endorsement will be issued. After that, firearms retraining must be completed annually when you renew your firearms endorsement.
Will the firing range or training school provide a handgun if I do not possess one?
You must contact the individual range or school for that information.
I already have a concealed weapon permit. Do I need a firearm endorsement from DJCS?
If you carry or have access to a firearm during the course of your duties in any registered capacity, you must have a firearm endorsement issued by DCJS to carry a firearm. This includes successful completion of training and submittal of the firearms endorsement application (PSS_RF) and fee.
Will a firearms endorsement allow me to carry concealed?
No. To carry concealed in the course of his/her duties, an individual must have in his/her possession a valid registration with a firearms endorsement; permission of employer; and a valid concealed handgun permit.
I qualified with a 9mm pistol but my company has issued .38 revolvers. Do I need to qualify with revolvers as well?
Yes. You must qualify with each type of action and caliber of firearm that you will carry.
Can anyone take the advanced handgun course?
Yes, provided they have successfully completed an entry-level handgun course (07E) from a DCJS-certified training school.
I have military training; can I get an exemption from firearms training?
No. Firearms training exemptions can only be given to those who have completed qualification within the past 12 months at a criminal justice agency, academy or correctional department within Virginia. You must submit the waiver application (PSS_WA), fee and documentation to see if your training qualifies.
I am a former law enforcement official. Can I get an exemption from firearms training?
Yes, however, your training must have occurred within the past 12 months from a criminal justice agency, academy or correctional department within Virginia. You must submit the waiver application (PSS_WA), fee and documentation to see if your training qualifies.
I took NRA firearms training; do I have to take firearms training from a DCJS-certified school?
An exemption may be granted provided the training meets or exceeds the requirements in the state regulations. You must submit the partial training exemption application (PSS_WA), fee and documentation to see if your training qualifies.
Return to the FAQ index.