spacer
spacer

Locksmith

Locksmith Defined / Initial Registration / Renewal Registration / Checklist

Locksmith Defined

A locksmith means any individual that performs locksmith services, or advertises or represents to the general public that the individual is a locksmith even if the specific term locksmith is substituted with any other term by which a reasonable person could construe that the individual possesses special skills relating to locks or locking devices, including use of the words lock technician, lockman, safe technician, safeman, boxman, unlocking technician, lock installer, lock opener, physical security technician or similar descriptions.

Initial Application

    The requirements can be found in 6 VAC 20-171-120 of the Regulations. Registrations are issued for 24 months

    Eligibility Requirements

    1. Be a minimum of 18 years of age.
    2. Successful completion of all initial training requirements for each registration category, including firearms endorsement if applicable.
    3. Be a United States citizen or legal resident alien of the United States.

    Training  Requirements

    18 Hours, Consisting of:

    Training Schools Offering Course (.htm) Additional Applications

    1. Any individual who is already registered with the department and wishes to add categories to his/her current registration must complete the requirements for an Additional Registration Category. For more information, view the Additional Registration Category page.
    2. Any currently registered individual who has lost their registration card may apply for a replacement. For more information, view the Replacement Registration page.
    3. Any individual who has ever been convicted or found guilty of a felony or misdemeanor (not to include minor traffic violations) in Virginia or any other jurisdiction to include military court martial or currently under protective orders must submit a Criminal History Supplemental Form. For more information, view the Criminal History page.
    4. Certain training exemptions may be granted for required training courses. For more information, view the Training Exemptions page.

    Before a registration will be issued, individuals must complete all required training for each category of their registration.

    Required Forms

  • Initial Private Security Registration Application (.pdf, 4 pages)
  • Fingerprint Processing Application (.pdf, 2 pages)

Additional Forms

  • Criminal History Supplemental Form (.pdf, 1 page)
    • The form must be submitted with the PSS_FP form if you have ever been convicted or found guilty of a felony or misdemeanor (not to include minor traffic violations) in Virginia or any other jurisdiction to include military court martial or currently under protective orders.
  • Replacement Registration or Certification Application (.pdf, 1 page)
  • Partial Training Exemption Application - Entry Level (.pdf, 3 pages)
  • You may be eligible to waive a portion of your entry-level training if you have completed certain private security services training or if you are a qualified law enforcement officer.

Renewal Registration

The requirements can be found in 6 VAC 20-171-130 of the Regulations. Registrations are issued for 24 months.

Training Requirements

4 Hours, Consisting of:

Submit to the Department

  1. Registration renewal application and applicable non-refundable fee;
  2. Completion of in-service training. The school will submit a roster, do not send your training completion form to DCJS.

Additional Applications

  1. Any individual who is already registered with the department and wishes to add categories to his/her current registration must complete the requirements for an Additional Registration Category. For more information, view the Additional Registration Category page.
  2. Any currently registered individual who has lost their registration card may apply for a replacement. For more information, view the Replacement Registration page.
  3. Any individual who has ever been convicted or found guilty of a felony or misdemeanor (not to include minor traffic violations) in Virginia or any other jurisdiction to include military court martial or currently under protective orders must submit a Criminal History Supplemental Form. For more information, view the Criminal History page.
  4. Any individual who meets limited circumstances, may apply for a renewal extension. For more information, view the Extension page.
  5. Certain training exemptions may be granted for required training courses. For more information, view the Training Exemptions page.

Before a registration will be issued, individuals must complete all required training for each category of their registration.

Required Form

Additional Forms

  • Criminal History Supplemental Form (.pdf, 1 page)
    • The form must be submitted with the Fingerprint form if you have ever been convicted or found guilty of a felony or misdemeanor (not to include minor traffic violations) in Virginia or any other jurisdiction to include military court martial or currently under protective orders.
  • Replacement Registration Application (.pdf, 1 page)
  • Partial Training Exemption Application - In-Service (.pdf, 2 pages)
  • You may be eligible to waive a portion of your entry-level training if you have completed certain private security services training or if you are a qualified law enforcement officer. 
  1. What is a “locksmith”?
    “Locksmith” means any individual that performs locksmith services, or advertises or represents to the general public that the individual is a locksmith even if the specific term locksmith is substituted with any other term by which a reasonable person could construe that the individual possesses special skills relating to locks or locking devices, including use of the words lock technician, lockman, safe technician, safeman, boxman, unlocking technician, lock installer, lock opener, physical security technician or similar descriptions.

  2. What is the definition of locksmith services?

    "Locksmith services" mean selling; servicing; rebuilding; repairing; rekeying; repining; changing the combination to an electronic or mechanical locking device; programming either keys to a device or the device to accept electronic controlled keys; originating keys for locks or copying keys; adjusting or installing locks or deadbolts, mechanical or electronic locking devices, egress control devices, safes, and vaults; or opening, defeating or bypassing locks or latching mechanisms in a manner other than intended by the manufacturer with or without compensation for the general public or on property not his own nor under his own control or authority.

     



  3. Do I have to have a registration before I can work?

    No. A locksmith can work for 90 consecutive days while completing the compulsory minimum training requirements, provided your fingerprints were submitted on or before their date of hire and your employer provides you with a 90 day authorization document.  This document along with a photo ID must be carried on duty while performing regulated services until a temporary or permanent registration is issued.

     



  4. Do I have to be trained before I can work?
    No. A locksmith may work for up to 90 consecutive days while completing the compulsory minimum training requirements, provided their fingerprints were submitted on or before their date of hire and they are employed by a Private Security Services company licensed by DCJS to provide locksmith services.

  5. What are the entry-level training requirements?
    18 hours -- 25E Locksmith entry level training (18 hours)

  6. What are the in-service training requirements?

    4 hours - 25I Locksmith In-Service (4 hours)



Return to the FAQ index.

Home

Contact the Director
Contact Private Security Services
Contact Regulatory Affairs
Contact Law Enforcement Services
Contact Victims Services
Contact Juvenile Services
Contact Correctional Services
Contact Research Center

About the Director

Director's Bio

About the Deputy Director

Deputy Director's Bio


Quick Links

Human Trafficking
Report Campus or Local Emergency
Forfeited Asset Sharing Program
Blueprints for Change: Criminal Justice Policy Issues in Virginia

Strategic & Service Area Plans
Virginia Law Enforcement Professional Standards Commission
Integrated Justice Program

National Terrorism Advisory System (NTAS) check current status Need help? Dial 2-1-1
Department of Criminal Justice Services
1100 Bank Street
Richmond, VA 23219
804.786-4000
FOIA
WAI Level A Compliant
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer