2014 Virginia Victim Assistance Academy
2014 Basic Virginia Victim Assistance Academy
The Department of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS) and the University of Richmond are pleased to announce that applications are now being accepted for Virginia's 7th Basic Victim Assistance Academy.
The Academy will be held from Saturday, July 19, 2014 to Friday, July 25, 2014 in collaboration with the Virginia Network for Crime Victims and Witnesses of Crime, Inc., and the Criminal Injuries Compensation Fund.
To be considered for admission, interested individuals should submit applications to DCJS by April 4, 2014. Selected applicants will be notified by May 2, 2014.
Student applications are now available on-line. In order to apply, interested individuals must sign up for a DCJS User Account. Once the account is set up, the application can be be completed at https://www.dcjs.virginia.gov/trainingevents/victims/vvaapp.
Sexual Assault Advocates, Domestic Violence Advocates, Victim/Witness Advocates, Victim Services Provides, Law Enforcement Officers, Prosecutors, Probation and Parole Officers and other allied professionals who work with or are interested in the field of victim services are eligible to apply to the Academy.
DCJS in-service credit, including legal and cultural diversity subject matter credit, has been requested and will be available for Law Enforcement Officers.
Participants who successfully complete the Academy will be eligible to apply for Provisional Advocate Credentialing through the National Advocate Credentialing Program.
For more information, please see the attached announcement or visit our website at http://www.dcjs.virginia.gov/.
July 19 - 25, 2014
The registration fee is $150. The registration fee includes on-campus lodging and all meals. Travel costs to and from the Academy are not included.
The federal Office for Victims of Crime Training and Technical Assistance Center (TTAC) provides scholarships of up to $1000 to individuals seeking professional development opportunities. Academy students can apply for scholarships to cover the $150 registration fee and expenses associated with travel to and from the Academy. More information and the application process can be found at www.ovcttac.gov/taresources/applyPDscholarship.cfm
Individuals interested in applying for a TTAC scholarship should apply directly to TTAC. OVC TTAC must receive the completed Individual or Multidisciplinary Team (MDT) Professional Development Scholarship application and all application materials at least 45 calendar days prior to the event or the request will be rejected - NO EXCEPTIONS. If you have any questions about the process, please call 1-866-OVC TTAC (1-866-682-8822) for assistance.
Who is eligible to attend
Victim services providers, allied professionals such as law enforcement officers, prosecutors, probation and parole officers, sexual assault advocates, domestic violence advocates, and victim/witness staff are eligible. Individuals with three years of victim assistance experience or less should apply to the Basic Academy.
Graduation requirements include: successful completion of ALL assignments and attendance at ALL sessions of the Academy.
This intensive but rewarding training will be held on the campus of the University of Richmond in Richmond, Virginia. The Academy will be held in modern classroom facilities. Participants are strongly encouraged to stay on-site in university housing.
Applications and Deadline
Click here to apply to the 2014 Virginia Victim Assistance Academy (note that a DCJS User Account is required to complete the application).
To be considered for admission, interested individuals should submit their applications on-line to DCJS by 11:59 p.m. on April 4, 2014. Successful applicants will be notified by May 2, 2014.
Melissa Roberson (804) 225-3456 or Melissa.email@example.com.
For further information, contact Melissa Roberson at Melissa.Roberson@dcjs.virginia.gov or (804) 225-3456.
SAVE THE DATE!
2014 Advanced Virginia Victim Assistance Academy
The Department of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS) is pleased to announce that Virginia's first Advanced Victim Assistance Academy is tentatively scheduled for December 10 -12, 2014.
The Advanced Academy will provide a 20-hour interdisciplinary intensive training and discussion on the following areas:
- Services to victims with mental illness
- A Trauma Informed Approach to services
- Effective Management and Supervisory Techniques for experienced victims services providers and allied professionals
To be eligible to attend the Advanced Academy you must have at least five years of experience working with crime victims or have successfully completed the Virginia Victim Assistance Basic Academy. Applicants will be required to attend all sessions of the Academy and may also be required to complete work assignments prior to the Academy.
Please save these dates as registration is not yet open for the Advanced Academy. Registration is expected to be available by August 2014. If you have any questions, please contact Melissa Roberson at 804-225-3456.