
 

 

6VAC20-50-40. Time requirement for completion of training. 
A. Deputy sheriffs, jail officers, courthouse and courtroom security officers, and deputy sheriffs 

designated to serve process who are required to comply with the compulsory minimum training 

standards, field training, and other requirements shall satisfactorily complete such training within 

12 18 months of the date of appointment or hire as deputy sheriffs, jail officers, courthouse and 

courtroom security officers, and deputy sheriffs designated to serve process unless provided 

otherwise in accordance with subsection B of this section. 

B. The director or director's designee may grant an extension of the time limit for completion of 

the compulsory minimum training standards and requirements for the following reasons: 

1. Medical condition; 

2. Injury; 

3. Military service; or 

4. Administrative leave involving the determination of worker's compensation or disability 

retirement issues or suspension pending investigation or adjudication of a crime. 

C. The director or director's designee may review and consider other reasons (e.g., natural 

disaster, family medical leave, etc.) for granting an extension. If approval is granted, the 

extension shall not exceed 90 days. 

D. The director or the director's designee may review and consider requests to renew training 

extensions if the reason for the original training extension continues and the request occurs 

before the expiration of the original extension. 

E. The director shall not grant an extension for failing to pass compulsory minimum training 

standards within the specified time limits. 

F. Deputy sheriffs, jail officers, courthouse and courtroom security officers, and deputy sheriffs 

designated to serve process who do not satisfactorily complete the compulsory minimum training 

standards, field training, and other requirements within 12 18 months of hire or appointment as a 

deputy sheriff, jail officer, courthouse and courtroom security officer, or deputy sheriff 

designated to serve process, or who do not receive an extension of the time limit for completion 

of the requirements, shall be subject to the provisions of § 9.1-115 of the Code of Virginia. 

G. The department shall notify the agency administrator of individuals not in compliance with 

the requirements of this section. 

Statutory Authority 

§ 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia. 
 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-115/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-102/

