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DEPARTMENT OF CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES

Regulatory Separation of Responsibilities

6VAC20-20-10. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have the following meaning

meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Academy director" means the chief administrative officer of a certified [ criminal justice ]

training academy.

"Agency administrator" means any chief of police, sheriff, or agency head of a state or local

law-enforcement agency.

"Approved training" means training approved by the department to meet minimum training

standards.
"Board"” means the Criminal Justice Services Board.

"Certified [ criminal _justice ] training academy" means a training facility [ campus] in

compliance with academy certification or_recertification standards operated by the state or

local [ units gnit units ] of government that is owned, leased, rented, or used exclusively for the

purpose of training _criminal

justice professionals requlated by the department and board.

"Committee on Training" or "COT" means the standing committee of the board that is

charged with reviewing proposed changes to the standards, receiving and reviewing public

comments, and approving changes to the standards as needed.




"Compulsory minimum training standards" means the written performance outcomes

approved by the Committee on Training and the minimum [ training ] hours approved by the

Criminal Justice Services Board.

"Curriculum Review Committee" or "CRC" means the committee consisting of nine

individuals representing the certified [ criminal justice training ] academies. Four members of the

committee shall represent regional criminal justice [ training ] academies, four members of the
committee shall represent independent criminal justice [ training ] academies, and one member
shall represent the Department of State Police Training Academy. The Committee on Training

shall appoint members of the Curriculum Review Committee.
"Department” means the Department of Criminal Justice Services.

"Director" means the chief administrative officer of the department or his the director's

designee.

"Requirements" means the core elements an officer needs to accomplish to obtain law-

enforcement certification.

6VAC20-20-20. Compuisery-minimum-training-standards- (Repealed.)

6VAC20-20-21. PRerformance—outcomes—and—minimum—hours—regquired Compulsory

minimum training standards and requirements.

A. Pursuant to the provisions of subdivision 2 of § 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia, the

department under the direction of the board establishes the standardsforCompulsory-Minimum




v compulsory

minimum training for full-time and part-time law-enforcement officers.

B. An individual hired as a law-enforcement officer as defined in § 9.1-101 of the Code of

Virginia shall comply with the following law-enforcement certification requirements:

1. Successfully complete law-enforcement basic training at a certified [ criminal justice ]

training academy, which includes receiving a minimum of 480 hours of department

approved training in the following categories:




a. Professionalism,

b. Legal,

c. Communication,

d. Patrol,

e. Investigations,

f. Defensive tactics and use of force,

g. Weapons, and

h. Driver training.

2. Successfully complete a minimum of 100 hours of approved training in the category of

field training by meeting or exceeding the field training performance outcomes identified

in the Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services Field Training and On the Job

Training Performance Outcomes.

C. Law-enforcement officers become certified upon meeting all compulsory minimum

training standards and [ other] requirements that include documented completion of all

performance outcomes, the law enforcement certification exam, and field training.

6VAC20-20-25. Approval authority.

A. The GriminalJustice-Services-Board board shall be the approval authority for the training

categories and hours of the compulsory minimum training standards identified in 6VAC20-20-

21. Amendments to training categories and hours shall be made in accordance with the

provisions of the Administrative Process Act (8§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).

B. The Committee on Training (COT) [ ef-the| Criminal-Justice-ServicesBoard [-beoard |
shall be the approval authority for the performance outcomes, training objectives, criteria, and

lesson plan guides that support the performance outcomes.



1. Performance outcomes, training objectives, criteria, and lesson plan guides
supporting the compulsory minimum training standards may be added, deleted, or
amended by the Committee-onTraining COT based upeon on written recommendation of
a chief of police, sheriff, agency administrator, academy director, Curriculum Review

Committee (CRC), ar interested party, or member of the community.

Any-suggestions 2. Suggestions received related to performance outcomes, training

objectives, criteria, and lesson plan guides shall be reviewed at-theregularly scheduled

AdministrativeProcess-Aect by the CRC. The CRC shall present recommendations for

revisions to the COT.

C. Priorto Before approving changes to the performance outcomes, training objectives,

criteria, or lesson plan guides, the Cemmittee-on—Training COT shall eonducta—public-hearing

schedule an opportunity for public comment during a meeting of the COT. Sixty A minimum of

60 days prierte before the public-hearing meeting of the COT, the proposed changes shall be

distributed to all affected—parties certified training academies for the opportunity to comment.

Notice of ehange—eof changes to the performance outcomes, training objectives, criteria, and

lesson plan guides shall be filed for publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations upen

D. The department shall notify each certified [ criminal justice ] training academy in writing of

any n

effective30-days—after notice—of publicationin-the-Virginia—Register COT approved revisions.

COT approved revisions require a minimum of 30 days' notice to certified training academies

prior to becoming effective.




6VAC20-20-30. Applicability.

A. Every A person employed as a full-time or part-time law-enforcement officer, as defined

by §9-169(9) § 9.1-101 of the Code of Virginia, subsequent-te after July 1, 1971, shall

satisfactorily complete the compulsory minimum training standards and the requirements for

law-enforcement officers as identified in 6VAC20-20-21 and 6VAC20-20-40.

B. The director may grant an exemption or partial exemption from the compulsory minimum

training standards and the requirements set forth in 6VAC20-20-21 to a law-enforcement officer

of any a political subdivision of the Commonwealth who has had previous experience and

training as provided in §9-173 § 9.1-116 of the Code of Virginia.

C. Any A person not employed as a full-time or part-time law-enforcement officer on July 1,

1971, who remains out of law-enforcement law_enforcement for more than 24 months, upon

reappointment as a full-time or part-time law-enforcement officer, shall be required to comply

with the compulsory minimum training standards and the requirements identified in 6VAC20-20-

21 unless provided otherwise in accordance with subsection B of this section.

6VAC20-20-40. Time requirement for completion of training.

A. Every-law-enforcement-officerwho-is Law-enforcement officers required to comply with
the compulsery-minimum-training-standards requirements of 6VAC20-20-21 shall satisfactorily

complete sueh-training the requirements within 12 months of the date of hire or appointment as

a law-enforcement officer.

B. The director, or his the director's designee, may grant an extension of the time limit for

completion of the compulsory minimum training standards uhderthefollowing—conditions and

[ other ] requirements for the following reasons:

1. Hiress Medical condition;

2. Injury;



3. Military service; or

[ 5= 4.] Administrative leave involving the determination of worker's compensation or

disability retirement issues—full-time—educationalleave or suspension pending

investigation or adjudication of a crime;-e¥.

C. The director or the director's designee may review and consider other reasons (e.d.,

natural disaster, family medical leave, etc.) for granting an extension. If approval is granted the

extension shall not exceed 90 days.

[ D._The director or the director's designee may review and consider requests to renew

training extensions if the reason for the original training extension continues and the request

occurs before the expiration of the original extension. ]

[ B- E. ] The director shall not grant an extension for:

1. Failing to pass compulsory minimum training standards and requirements within

specified time limits.

2. Failing the certification examination.

[E-_F.] The agency administrator may request an _extension from the director or_the

director's designee.

1. The request shall be in writing and include written documentation articulating the

reason the individual is unable to complete the required training within the specified time

limits.




2. The request shall be submitted to the department before the expiration of the

specified time limits.

G- [ EG. ] Law-enforcement officers who do not satisfactorily complete compulsory minimum

training standards [ ,field training ] and [ other ]_requirements within 12 months of empleyment

hire or appointment as a law-enforcement officer, or who do not receive an extension of the time

limit for completion of training the requirements, shall be subject to the provisions of §9-181 §

9.1-115 of the Code of Virginia.

[ & H.] The department shall notify the agency administrator of any-efficer individuals not

in compliance with the requirements of this section.

6VAC20-20-50. Compliance-with-compulsory-minimum-training-standards- (Repealed.)







Committee-onTraining-of- the Criminal Justice-Services-Board- Attendance.

1. Officers attending approved training are required to attend all classes and shall not be

placed on duty or on call except in cases of an emergency. If there is an emergency

(e.q., natural disaster, catastrophic event, etc.) the agency administrator or designee

shall determine if it is appropriate to place officers on duty or on call and shall advise the

academy director within 24 hours.

2. Officers shall be responsible for any material missed during an excused absence.

B. Academy testing.

1. Officers shall comply with the requirements of subdivision B 1 of 6VAC20-20-21.

2. Each officer shall meet all the training objectives and pass each criteria for testing

related to every performance outcome approved by the COT.

3. An officer may be tested and retested as—may-be-necessary within the time limits of

6VAC20-20-40 and in accordance with eaeh the certified [ criminal justice ] training

academy's written policy.



C. Law-enforcement certification exam. Upon documented compliance with the compulsory

minimum _training standards identified in subdivision B 1 of 6VAC20-20-21 officers will be

eligible to complete the law-enforcement certification exam.

6VAC20-20-80. Failure to comply with rules and regulations.

A. Any individual attending a certified [ criminal justice ] training academy shall comply with

the rules and regulations promulgated by the department. The academy director shall be
responsible for enforcement of all rules and regulations established to govern the conduct of

attendees.

H-the academy director—considers—a—violation—of B. Individuals violating the rules and

regulations governing the certified [ criminal justice ] training academy determined to be

detrimental to the welfare of the certified [ criminal justice ] training academy;—the—academy

directormay-expelt-the-individual or the safety of officers, visitors, or personnel may be expelled

from the academy.

C. Notification of such-action-shall an_expulsion will immediately be reported, in writing, to

the agency administrator of the individual ir-accerdance-with-therules-and-regulations-within-the
adthority-of the-certifiedtraining-academy and the department.

6VAC20-20-90. Administrative requirements.




completion: |

[ B-] The law-enforcement agency shall complete the department authorized field training

completion form (Form B-13) documenting the completion of field training for officers.

[ & B. Field training shall be completed in accordance with the requirements in 6VAC20-20-

40. ] The agency administrator shall ferward—a-properly-executed-field-trainingform sign and

submit the field training completion form to the department for each officer [—within-12-meonths

documentation shall be open to audit, inspection, and review by the department upon request.

[ EzD. ]_Training records shall be maintained in_accordance with the provisions of this

chapter and the Virginia Public Records Act (§ 42.1-76 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).

6VAC20-20-120. Certification status and in-service training.

A. All full-time and part-time law-enforcement officers of a police department or sheriff's

office that is part of or administered by the Commonwealth or any political division, law-

enforcement officers as defined in § 9.1-101 of the Code of Virginia, and all jail officers as




defined in 8 53.1-1 of the Code of Virginia must be certified through the successful completion

of training at [ an-approved certified | criminal justice training academy in order to remain eligible

for appointment or employment.

B. Officers shall comply with in-service training and firearms training requirements identified

in 6VAC20-30.

6VAC20-20-130. Certified training academies.

Every criminal justice agency under the purview of the department shall be a member of a

certified [ criminal justice ] training academy.

FORMS (6VAC20-20)

Field Training: Law Enforcement, B-13, (rev. 5/2018)

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE (6VAC20-20)

Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services Field Training and On the Job Training

Performance Outcomes, published September 2012, Virginia Department of Criminal Justice

Services (Revised January 2018)

6VAC20-50-10. Definitions.

The following words and terms when used in this chapter shall have the following meanings

unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:
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"Academy director" means the chief administrative officer of a certified [ criminal justice ]

training academy.

"Agency administrator" means any chief of police, sheriff ef, agency head of a state or local

law-enforcement agency, or agency head of a local correctional facility as defined in 8 53.1-1 of

the Code of Virginia.

"Approved training" means training approved by the department to meet minimum training

standards.
"Board" means the Criminal Justice Services Board.

"Certified [ criminal justice ] training academy" means a training facility [ or campus ] in

compliance with academy certification or recertification standards operated by the state or local

unit{s) [unit units ] of government that is owned, leased, rented, or used exclusively for the

purpose of training _criminal

justice professionals requlated by the department and board.

"Committee on Training" or "COT" means the standing committee of the board that is

charged with reviewing proposed changes to the standards, helding-public-hearings receiving

and reviewing public comments, and approving changes to the standards as needed.

"Compulsory minimum training standards" means the written performance outcomes,
training objectives, criteria for testing, and lesson plan guides approved by the Committee on

Training and the minimum [ training ] hours approved by the board.

"Curriculum Review Committee” or "CRC" means a committee consisting of nine individuals
representing the conduct of entry-level jailor or custodial officer, courthouse and courtroom
security officer, and process service officer training. The composition of the committee shall be

three representatives of sheriffs' offices, three representatives of regional jails, twe and three



representatives from [ criminal justice training ] academies,—and—one—representative—of-the
Department-of-Criminal- Justice-ServicesJailsFrainirg-Unit. The Committee on Training shall

appoint the members of the Curriculum Review Committee.

"Department” means the Department of Criminal Justice Services.

"Director" means the chief administrative officer of the department or the director's designee.

"Requirements" means the core elements a jail officer, deputy sheriff, court security officer,

or civil process officer needs to accomplish to obtain department certification.

6VAC20-50-20. Compulsory minimum training standards.

A. Pursuant to the provisions of subdivisions 7, 8, and 9 of § 9.1-102 and-8-53-1-120 of the

Code of Virginia, the department under the direction of the board establishes the standards-for

Wi dejs-virginia-gov- compulsory minimum training standards for full-time and part-time deputy

sheriffs and jail officers as defined in 8 53.1-1 of the Code of Virginia; persons designated to

provide courthouse and courtroom security pursuant to 8 53.1-120 of the Code of Virginia; and

persons designated to serve process pursuant to 8 8.01-293 of the Code of Virginia.

B. Academy-traihing-categories—Jailer Individuals hired as deputy sheriffs or jail officers as

defined in § 53.1-1 of the Code of Virginia shall meet or exceed compulsory minimum training

standards at a certified [ criminal justice ] training academy and complete field training

requirements. Certification requires deputy sheriffs and jail officers comply with the following:




1. Successfully complete jail officer department approved training at a certified [ criminal

justice ] training academy in the following categories:

1 a. Professionalism;

2 b. Legal lssues;

3—Communications c. Communication;

4Operations d. Jail operations;

5. e. Investigations;

6- Defensive Tacties/Use-of Force f. Defensive tactics and use of force;

+# d. Weapons Yse; and

8- BriverTFraining h. Driver training and transportation.

2. Meet or exceed the performance outcomes in the category of field training identified in

the Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services Field Training and On the Job

Training Performance Outcomes.

Individuals hired as courthouse and courtroom security officers shall meet or exceed

compulsory minimum training standards at a certified [ criminal justice ] training academy and

complete field training requirements. Certification requires courthouse and courtroom security

officers comply with the following:

1. Successfully complete courthouse and courtroom security officers department

approved training at a certified [ criminal justice ] training academy in the following

cateqories:



1 Court-Seecurity a. Professionalism;
2- b. Legal Issues;

3—Communications c. Communication;

4. d. Court Seeurity-Operations security operations;

5 Ceurt-Seeurity e. Investigations;

6. Defensive Tacties/Use-of Force f. Defensive Tactics and use of force;

+# d. Weapons Yse; and

8—TFranspertation h. Driver training and transportation.

2. Meet or exceed the performance outcomes in the category of field training identified in

the Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services Field Training and On the Job

Training Performance Outcomes.

D. Individuals hired as deputy sheriffs and designated to serve process shall meet or exceed

compulsory minimum training standards at a certified [ criminal justice ] training academy and

complete field training requirements. Certification requires courthouse and courtroom security

officers comply with the following:

1. Successfully complete process service officer department approved training at a

certified [ criminal justice ] training academy in the following categories:

_ | - , e Officor.

1-Process-Service-OfficerOperations a. Professionalism;

2- b. Legal Issues;

3—Communications c. Communication;




4 d. Civil Precess-Operations process operations;

_civil _—

6- Defensive Tacties/Use-of Force e. Defensive tactics and use of force;

+ f. Weapons UYse; and

8—TFranhspeortation g. Driver training.

. e Officer_Field Traini

2. Meet or exceed the performance outcomes in the category of field training identified in

the Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services Field Training and On the Job

Training Performance Outcomes.

6VAC20-50-21. Approval authority.

A. The CriminalJustice-Services-Board board shall be the approval authority for the training

categories of the compulsory minimum training standards identified in 6VAC20-50-20.

Amendments to the training categories shall be made in accordance with the provisions of the

Administrative Process Act (8 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).

B. The Committee on Training ef-the-Criminal Justice-Services-Board shall be the approval
authority for the performance outcomes, training objectives, criteria, and lesson plan guides that

support the performance outcomes.

1. Performance outcomes, training objectives, criteria, and lesson plan guides
supporting the compulsory minimum training standards may be added, deleted, or
amended by the Committee-onTraining COT based upen on written recommendation of
a chief of police, sheriff, agency administrator, academy director, Curriculum Review

Committee (CRC), interested party, or member of the community.



Any-suggestions 2. Suggestions received related to performance outcomes, training

objectives, criteria, and lesson plan guides shall be reviewed at the regularly scheduled

meeting of the Curriculum-Review Committee CRC. H-commentisreceived-atany-public

Administrative Process-Act The CRC shall present recommendations for revisions to the

COT.

C. Priorto Before approving changes to the performance outcomes, training objectives,

criteria, or lesson plan guides, the Cemmittee-on—Training COT shall eonducta—public-hearing

schedule an opportunity for public comment during a meeting of the COT. Sixty A minimum of

60 days prierte before the public-hearing meeting of the COT, the proposed changes shall be

distributed to all affected—parties certified training academies for the opportunity to comment.

Notice of ehange—eof changes to the performance outcomes, training objectives, criteria, and

lesson plan guides shall be filed for publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations upen

D. The department shall notify each certified [ criminal justice ] training academy in writing of

effective-30-days-after notice—of publication-in-the-Virginia-Register- COT approved revisions.

COT approved revisions require a minimum of 30 days' notice to certified training academies

prior to becoming effective.

6VAC20-50-30. Applicability.

A. Every A person employed as a jailer-oreustedial sheriff deputy or jail officer as defined in

8 53.1-1 of the Code of Virginia and in accordance with subdivision 9 of 8 9.1-102 of the Code

of Virginia shall meet compulsory minimum training standards and requirements established in




subsections subsection B—G—and-DB of 6VAC20-50-20 and 6VAC20-50-40 unless provided

otherwise in accordance with subsection D of this section.

B. Every person employed as a Courthouse-and-Courtroom-Security-Officer courthouse and

courtroom security officer in accordance with subdivision 7 of § 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia

shall meet compulsory minimum training standards established in subseections—E—and—F

subsection C of 6VAC20-50-20 and 6VAC20-50-40 unless provided otherwise in accordance

with subsection D of this section.

C. Every person employed as a Deputy-Sheriff-Desighated-to-Serve-Process deputy sheriff

designated to serve process in accordance with § 15.2-1612.1 of the Code of Virginia shall meet

compulsory minimum training standards established in subseetions-G—andH subsection D of

6VAC20-50-20 and 6VAC20-50-40 unless provided otherwise in accordance with subsection D

of this section.

D. The director may grant an exemption or partial exemption of the compulsory minimum

training standards as established herein in_this chapter, in accordance with 8 9.1-116 of the

Code of Virginia.

E. Deputy sheriffs, jail officers, courthouse and courtroom security officers, and deputy

sheriffs designated to serve process who originally complied with all applicable training

requirements and later separated from deputy sheriff, jail officer, courthouse and courtroom

security officer, and deputy sheriff designated to serve process status in excess of 24 months,

upon reentry as a deputy sheriff, jail officer, courthouse and courtroom security officer, or deputy

sheriff designated to serve process will be required to complete all compulsory minimum training

standards in accordance with 6VVAC20-50-20 unless provided otherwise in accordance with

subsection D of this section.




6VAC20-50-40. Time requirement for completion of training.

sepvice—officer Deputy sheriffs, jail officers, courthouse and courtroom security officers, and

deputy sheriffs designated to serve process who is are required to comply with the compulsory

minimum training standards [ ,field training and other requirements ] shall satisfactorily complete

such training within 12 months of the date of appointment or hire as ajailoror-custodial-officer;

courtroom-security-officer-orprocess-service-officer deputy sheriffs, jail officers, courthouse and

courtroom security officers, and deputy sheriffs designated to serve process unless provided

otherwise in accordance with subsection B of this section.

B. The director or director's designee may grant an extension of the time limit for completion

of the compulsory minimum training reguired—upon—presentation—of-evidence—by-the—ageney

the following reasons:

1. Medical condition;




2. Injury;

3. Military service; or

4. Administrative leave involving the determination of worker's compensation or disability

retirement issues or suspension pending investigation or adjudication of a crime.

C. The director or director's designee may review and consider other reasons (e.g., natural

disaster, family medical leave, etc.) for granting an extension. If approval is granted the

extension shall not exceed 90 days.

[ D._ The director or the director’s designee may review and consider requests to renew

training extensions if the reason for the original training extension continues and the request

occurs before the expiration of the original extension. ]

[ Bz E.] The director shall not grant an extension for failing to pass compulsory minimum

training standards within the specified time limits.

[ E=_F. ] Deputy sheriffs, jail officers, courthouse and courtroom security officers, and deputy

sheriffs designated to serve process who do not satisfactorily complete the compulsory

minimum training standards [ , field training ] and [ other ] requirements within 12 months of hire

or appointment as a deputy sheriff, jail officer, courthouse and courtroom security officer, or

deputy sheriff designated to serve process, or who do not receive an extension of the time limit

for completion of the requirements, shall be subject to the provisions of § 9.1-115 of the Code of

Virginia.

F. The department shall notify the agency administrator of individuals not in compliance with

the requirements of this section.




6VAC20-50-50. Hew-compulsory-minimum-training-may-be-attained- (Repealed.)







A. Attendance.

1. Deputy sheriffs, jail officers, courthouse and courtroom security officers, and deputy

sheriffs designated to serve process attending approved training are required to attend

all classes and shall not be placed on duty or on call except in cases of emergency (e.q.,

natural disaster, etc.). In the event of such an emergency, the agency administrator or

designee shall determine if it is appropriate to place officers on duty or on call and shall

advise the academy director within 24 hours.

2. Officers shall be responsible for any material missed during an excused absence.




B. Academy testing.

1. Deputy sheriffs, jail officers, courthouse and courtroom security officers, and deputy

sheriffs designated to serve process shall meet all the training objectives and pass all

criteria for testing related to each performance outcome approved by the COT [ ef-the

board ] .

2. The officer may be tested and retested as-may-be-necessary within the time limits of

6VAC20-50-40 A and each certified [ criminal justice ] training academy's written policy.

An officer shall not be certified as having complied with the compulsory minimum training

standards unless all applicable requirements have been met.

6VAC20-50-80. Failure to comply with rules and regulations.

Any-individaal A. Individuals attending a certified [ criminal justice ] training academy shall

comply with the rules and regulations promulgated by the department. The academy director
shall be responsible for enforcement of all rules and regulations established to govern the

conduct of attendees.

B. Individuals

violating the rules and requlations governing the certified [ criminal justice ] training academy

determined to be detrimental to the welfare of the academy;-the-academy-director-may-expetthe

officerfrom-the—academy or the safety of officers, visitors, or personnel may be expelled.

Notification of such—action—shall an_expulsion will immediately be reported, in writing, to the

agency administrator of the efficerin-acceordance-withrules-and-regulations-within-the-authority
of-thecertified-training-academy individual and the department.




6VAC20-50-90. Administrative requirements.

[ B-_Field training shall be completed in_accordance with the requirements in 6VAC20-50-

40. ] The agency shall complete the appropriate department authorized field training completion

form (Form J-1, Form CS-1, and Form CP-1) documenting the completion of field training for

officers.

[ & B.] The agency administrator shall sign and submit the field training completion form to

the department for each officer [ within-12-months-of hire-orappeintment | .

[ B- C. ] Records and documentation shall be open to audit, inspection, and review by the

department upon request.

[ E-_D.] Training records shall be maintained in _accordance with the provisions of this

chapter and the Virginia Public Records Act (§ 42.1-76 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).

6VAC20-50-120. Certification status and in-service training.

A. Full-time and part-time law-enforcement officers of a police department or sheriff's office

that is part of or administered by the Commonwealth or any political division, law-enforcement

officers as defined in § 9.1-101 of the Code of Virginia, and all jail officers as defined in § 53.1-1

of the Code of Virginia must be certified through the successful completion of training at [ an

approved a certified ] criminal justice training academy in order to remain eligible for

appointment or employment.




B. Deputy sheriffs, jail officers, courthouse and courtroom security officers, and deputy

sheriffs designated to serve process shall comply with in-service training and firearms training

requirements identified in 6VAC20-30.

6VAC20-50-130. Certified training academies.

Every criminal justice agency under the purview of the department shall be a member or a

certified [ criminal justice ] training academy.

FORMS (6VAC20-50)

Field Training: Jail Deputy and Jail Officer, J-1, (5/2018)

Field Training: Court Security Officer, CS-1, (5/2018)

Field Training: Civil Process Officers, CP-1, (5/2018)

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE (6VAC20-50)

Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services Field Training and On the Job Training

Performance Outcomes, published September 2012, Virginia Department of Criminal Justice

Services (Revised January 2018)

6VAC20-60-10. Definitions.

The following words and terms when used in this chapter shall have the following meanings

unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Academy director" means the chief administrative officer of a certified [ criminal justice ]

training academy.
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"Agency administrator" means any chief of police, sheriff, er agency head of a state or local

law-enforcement agency, or non-law-enforcement head of a communications center.
"Board" means the Criminal Justice Services Board.

"Certified [ criminal justice ] training academy" means a training facility [ or_campus] in

compliance with academy certification or recertification standards and operated by the state or

local urit{s) [ unit units ] of government that is owned, leased, rented, or used exclusively for the

purpose of training criminal

justice professionals requlated by department and board.

"Committee on Training" or "COT" means the standing committee of the board that is

charged with reviewing proposed changes to the standards, receiving and reviewing public

comments, and approving changes to the standards as needed.

"Compulsory minimum training standards” means the written performance outcomes

approved by the Committee on Training and minimum [ training] hours approved by the

Criminal Justice Services Board.

"Curriculum Review Committee" means the committee consisting of the following nine
individuals: two members of the committee shall represent regional criminal justice
[ training ] _academies, two members of the committee shall represent independent criminal
justice [training ] academies, one member shall represent the Department of State Police
Training Academy, and four experienced communications personnel shall represent emergency
communication functions. The Committee on Training shall appoint members of the Curriculum

Review Committee.

"Department” means the Department of Criminal Justice Services.

"Director" means the chief administrative officer of the Department—of-CriminalJustice

Senvices department or the director's designee.




"Dispatcher" means any person employed by or in any local or state government agency

either full time or part-time part time whose duties include the dispatching of law-enforcement

personnel.

"Mandated training" means training that satisfies compulsory minimum training requirements

(i.e., basic and in-service training).

"Satellite facility" means a temporary facility located away from the certified academy facility,

which the certified academy uses exclusively to conduct in-service training.

6VAC20-60-20. Compulsory minimum training standards.

A. Pursuant to the provisions of subdivision 10 of § 9.1-102 {406} of the Code of Virginia, the

department _under_the direction of the board establishes the categories of training as listed

below In_subsection B of this section as the compulsory minimum training standards for

dispatchers: whose duties include dispatching for law enforcement.

B. Individuals hired as dispatchers shall meet or exceed the compulsory minimum training

standards in the following categories at a certified [ criminal justice ] training academy:




1. Category-1-—Communications: Communication;

2. Category-2— Dispatcher Judgment: judgment;

3. Category-3— Legal Issues:; and

4. Category-4—- Professionalism.

C. Individuals hired as dispatchers shall meet or exceed the performance outcomes in the

cateqgory of on-the-job training identified in the Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services

Field Training and On the Job Training Performance OQutcomes.

6VAC20-60-25. Approval authority.

A. The GriminalJustice-Services-Board board shall be the approval authority for the training

categories of the compulsory minimum training standards identified in 6VAC20-60-20.
Amendments to training categories shall be made in accordance with the provisions of the

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).

B. The Committee on Training ef-the-Criminal-Justice-ServicesBeard (COT) shall be the
approval authority for the performance outcomes, training objectives, criteria, and lesson plan

guides that support the performance outcomes.

1. Performance outcomes, training objectives, criteria, and lesson plan guides
supporting the compulsory minimum training standards may be added, deleted, or
amended by the Committee-onTraining COT based upen on written recommendation of
a chief of police, sheriff, agency administrator, academy director, non-law-enforcement

head of a communications center, or the Curriculum Review Committee (CRC).



2. Suggestions received related to performance outcomes, training objectives, criteria,

and lesson plan guides shall be reviewed by the CRC. The CRC shall present

recommendations for revisions to the COT.

Prierte C. Before approving changes to the performance outcomes, training objectives,

criteria, or lesson plan guides, the Committee-onTraining COT shall conduct-a-public-hearing

schedule an opportunity for public comment during a meeting of the COT. Sixty A minimum of

60 days prierte before the public-hearing meeting of the COT, the proposed changes shall be

distributed to all affected-parties certified training academies for the opportunity to comment.

Notice of ehange—of changes to the performance outcomes, training objectives, criteria, and

lesson plan guides shall be filed for publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations upen
D. The department Department shall notify each certified [ criminal justice ] training academy
in writing of any nrew—revised—or-deleted-objectives COT approved revisions. Such-adoptions;

Register COT approved revisions reguire_a minimum of 30 days' notice to certified training

academies prior to becoming effective.

6VAC20-60-30. Applicability.

A. All Full-time or part-time dispatchers employed by or in any local or state government

agency whose duties include the dispatching of law-enforcement personnel and who were hired
on or after July 1, 1988, must meet compulsory minimum training standards established-at-the

time-of-theirappointment; and requirements as identified in 6VAC20-60-20 and 6VAC20-60-40

unless provided otherwise in accordance with subsection B of this ehapter section.



B. The director may grant an exemption or partial exemption of the compulsory minimum
training standards established herein in this chapter, in accordance with § 9.1-116 of the Code

of Virginia.

C. Any dispatcher having previously and successfully completed the compulsory minimum

training standards who resigns and is reappointed within 24 months from departure will not be

required to complete the academy training class.

6VAC20-60-40. Time requirement for completion of training.

A. Every-dispatcher-who-is Dispatchers required to comply with the compulsory minimum

training standards must satisfactorily complete the required training set forth in 6VAC20-60-20;
within 24 months of the date of [ hire_or] appointment as a dispatcher, unless provided

otherwise in accordance with subsection B of this section.

B. The director may grant an extension of the time limit for completion of the compulsory

minimum training standards ander and requirements for the following eenditiens: reasons [ = : ]

a. Hress 1. Medical condition;

b 2. Injury;

¢ 3. Military service; or

e- 4. Administrative leave involving the determination of workers' compensation or
disability retirement issues; or suspension pending investigation or adjudication of a

crime;:-or.



and-any C. The director or the director's designee may review and consider other reasons (e.q.,

natural disaster, family medical leave, etc.) for granting an extension. If approval is granted, the

extension shall not exceed 90 days.

[ D. The director or the director’s designee may review and consider requests to renew

training extensions if the reason for the original training extension continues and the request

occurs before the expiration of the original extension. ]

[ B. E.] The director shall not grant an extension for failing to pass compulsory minimum

training standards and requirements within specified time limits.

[[E._F.] The agency administrator may request an_extension from the director or_the

director's designee.

1. The request shall be in writing and include written documentation articulating the

reason the individual is unable to complete the required training within the specified time

limits.

2. The request shall be submitted to the department before the expiration of the

specified time limits.

3. Dispatchers who do not satisfactorily complete compulsory minimum training

standards [ and on-the-job training | _within 24 months of appointment as a dispatcher

and who do not receive an extension of the time limit for completion of the requirements

shall be subject to the provisions of § 9.1-115 of the Code of Virginia.







6VAC20-60-60. Approved-training-schools: (Repealed.)




Committee-onraining-olHthe Criminal Justice-ServicesBoard- Attendance.



1. Dispatchers attending approved training are required to attend all classes and shall

not be placed on duty or on call except in cases of an emergency. If there is an

emergency (e.qg., natural disaster, catastrophic event, etc.) the agency administrator or

designee shall determine if it is appropriate to place dispatchers on duty or on call and

shall advise the academy director within 24 hours.

2. Dispatchers shall be responsible for any material missed during an excused absence.

B. Academy testing.

1. Dispatchers shall comply with the requirements of 6VAC20-60-20.

2. Each dispatcher shall meet all the training objectives and pass each criteria for testing

related to every performance outcome approved by the COT.

3. A dispatcher may be tested and retested as-may-be-nrecessary within the time limits of

6VAC20-60-40 and in accordance with eaeh the certified [ criminal justice] training

academy's written policy.




6VAC20-60-80. Failure to comply with rules and regulations.

A. Any individual attending a certified [ criminal justice ] training academy shall comply with

the rules and regulations promulgated by the department. The academy director shall be
responsible for enforcement of all rules and regulations established to govern the conduct of

attendees.

B. Individuals

violating the rules and requlations governing the certified [ criminal justice ] training academy

determined to be detrimental to the welfare of the certified [ criminal justice ] training academys;

the-academy-directormay-expelthe-individual or the safety of dispatchers, visitors, or personnel

may be expelled from the certified [ criminal justice ] training academy.

C. Notification of such-action-shall an_expulsion will immediately be reported, in writing, to

the agency administrator of the dispatcherand-the-director individual and the department.

6VAC20-60-90. Administrative requirements.

[ B- ] The agency shall complete the department authorized on-the-job training completion

form (Form D-1) documenting the completion of on-the-job training for dispatchers.

[ & B. ] The agency administrator shall, within the time requirement set forth in subsection A
of 6VAC20-60-40, sign _and forward a properly executed on-the-job training form to the

department for each dispatcher.




[ B- C.] Records and documentation shall be open to audit, inspection, and review by the

department upon request.

[ E- D. ] Dispatcher training records shall be maintained in accordance with the provisions of

theseregulations this chapter and the Virginia Public Records Act 88-42-1-67through-42.1-91

(8 42.1-76 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).

6VAC20-60-95. Certified training academies.

Every criminal justice agency under the purview of the department shall be a member of a

certified [ criminal justice ] training academy.

FORMS (6VAC20-60)

On the Job Training Dispatchers, Form D-1 (rev. 5/2018)
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DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE (6VAC20-60)

Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services Field Training and On the Job Training

Performance Outcomes, published September 2012, Virginia Department of Criminal Justice

Services (Revised January 2018)

6VAC20-70-10. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have the following meaning

meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise-:

"Academy director" means the chief administrative officer of a certified [ criminal justice ]

training academy.

"Agency administrator" means any chief of police, sheriff, agency head of a state or local

law-enforcement agency, or the director of the Department of Corrections or his designee.

"Approved training" means training approved by the department to meet minimum training

standards.
"Board" means the Criminal Justice Services Board.

"Certified [ criminal justice ] training academy" means a training facility [ or_campus] in

compliance with academy certification or recertification standards and operated by the state or

local [ gnit units ] of government that is owned, leased, rented, or used exclusively for the

purpose of training criminal justice professionals requlated by department and board.
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"Committee on Training" or "COT" means the standing committee of the board that is

charged with reviewing proposed changes to the standards, receiving and reviewing public

comments, and approving changes to the standards as needed.

[ "Compulsory minimum training standards" means written performance outcomes approved

by the Committee on Training and the minimum training hours approved by the Criminal Justice

Services Board. ]

"Curriculum Review Committee" means the committee consisting of nine individuals

representing the Department of Corrections. Two members of the committee shall represent the

western region, two members shall represent the eastern region, two members shall represent

the central region, and three members shall represent the Department of Corrections

administration.
"Department” means the Department of Criminal Justice Services.

"Director" means the chief administrative officer of the department or the director's designee.

[ "External training location" means a training location approved by the department located

away from the certified criminal justice training academy, which the certified criminal justice

training academy uses to conduct mandated training, using full-time and part-time academy

staff with general instructorships. ]

"Noncustodial employee" includes means those employees [ specifically-designhated-by-the

director | of the Department of Corrections [ whe—by-theirappoirtment—must-carry—-a-weapon

who have been designated to carry a weapon by the Director of the Department of Corrections

pursuant to 853.1-29 of the Code of Virginia ].

"Satellite facility" means a temporary facility located away from the certified academy facility,

which the certified academy uses exclusively to conduct in-service training.




6VAC20-70-20. Compulsory minimum training standards for noncustodial employees.

Heufs

1. General 1

b. Evaluation
2Skills 4

A : I | | ring

3tegatiMatters 3

a—Corrections-and-Related-Law 1

b. Legal Responsibility and Authority of Employees 2

FOTAL 8-plustange

A. Pursuant to the provisions of § 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia, the department under the

direction of the board shall establish the compulsory minimum training standards for the

Department of Corrections, Division of Adult Institutions. Pursuant to § [ §19.2-83-2-and | 53.1-

29 of the Code of Virginia noncustodial employees of the Department of Corrections who

] been

designated to carry a weapon by the Director of the Department of Corrections [ and who have

the authority to detain_an individual per 8§ 19.2-81.2 of the Code of Virginia] shall meet or

exceed the compulsory minimum training standards at a certified [ criminal justice ] training

academy [ ,external training location ] or satellite facility.

B. Noncustodial employees shall comply with the following noncustodial employee training

that includes receiving a minimum of 80 hours of department approved training in the following

categories:

1. Security and supervision;




2. Communication;

3. Safety;

4. Emergency response;

ol

. Conflict and crisis management;

6. Law and legal;

\I

. Duty assignments and responsibilities:

(o]

. Professionalism; and

©

. Firearms training.

6VAC20-70-25. Approval authority.

A. The board shall be the approval authority for the training categories and hours identified

in 6VAC20-70-20 of the compulsory minimum training standards. Amendments to training

cateqgories shall be made in accordance with the provisions of the Administrative Process Act (§

2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).

B. The Committee on Training (COT) shall be the approval authority for the performance

outcomes, training objectives, criteria, and lesson plan quides that support the performance

outcomes. Performance outcomes, training objectives, criteria, and lesson plan guides

supporting the compulsory minimum training standards may be added, deleted, or amended by

the COT based upon written recommendation of the director of the Department of Corrections, a

chief of police, sheriff, agency administrator, academy director, or the Curriculum Review

Committee.

C. Before approving changes to the performance outcomes, training objectives, criteria, or

lesson plan guides, the COT shall schedule an opportunity for public comment during a meeting

of the COT. A minimum of 60 days before to the meeting of the COT, the proposed changes




shall be distributed to all certified training academies for an opportunity to comment. Notice of

changes to the performance outcomes, training objectives, criteria, and lesson plan guides shall

be filed for publication in the Virginia Reqgister of Requlations.

D. The department shall notify each certified [ criminal justice ] training academy in writing of

any COT approved revisions. COT approved revisions require a minimum of 30 days' notice to

certified training academies prior to becoming effective.

6VAC20-70-30. Applicability.

Every A. [ A-person-employed-in-a-honeustodialpesition Noncustodial employees ] who [ by
appoitmentto-thatpesition-has pursuant to 8§ 53.1-29 of the Code of Virginia ] been designated

by the Director of the Department of Corrections to carry a weapon [ and who have the authority

to detain an individual per § 19.2-81.2 of the Code of Virginia ] must shall meet the requirements

and compulsory minimum training standards herein established in 6VAC20-70-20 and 6VAC20-

70-40.

B. Noncustodial employees meeting all of the following conditions shall not be required to

complete the compulsory minimum training standards:

1. The noncustodial employee was previously employed as a corrections officer;

2. The noncustodial employee originally complied with all the compulsory minimum

training requirements of 6VAC20-100 (Rules Relating to compulsory Minimum Training

Standards for Correctional Officers of the Department of Corrections, Division of Adult

Institutions); and

3. At the time of appointment a period of 24 months or less has passed since the

noncustodial employee served in the position of a corrections officer.




6VAC20-70-40. Time required for completion of training.

A. Every No noncustodial employee, so-desighated as defined in this chapter, shall ret carry

a weapon until the compulsory minimum training standards as set forth in 6VAC20-70-20 have

been satisfactorily completed.

B. Every noncustodial employee, se-designated as defined in this chapter, shall satistactorily

complete the compulsory minimum training standards for noncustodial employees within 120

days 12 months of [ assuming—a—position-which-that-is being ] designated as a noncustodial

[ position employee ] .

C. The director may grant an extension of the time limit for completion of the compulsory

minimum training standards and requirements for the following reasons:

1. Medical condition;

2. Injury;

3. Military service; or

4. Administrative leave involving the determination of worker's compensation or disability

retirement issues or suspension pending investigation or adjudication of a crime.

D. The director may review and consider other reasons (e.d., natural disaster, family medical

leave, etc.) for granting an extension. If approval is granted, the extension shall not exceed 90

days.

[ E. The director or the director's designee may review and consider requests to renew

training extensions if the reason for the original training extension continues and the request

occurs before the expiration date of the original extension. ]

[ E-_ E] The director shall not grant an extension for failing to pass compulsory minimum

training standards within the specified time limits.




[ & G. ] _Any noncustodial employee who originally complied with all training requirements

and later separated from noncustodial employee or correctional officer status for a period of 24

months or less, upon reentry as a noncustodial employee, shall be required to complete

compulsory in-service training and complete annual firearms training set forth in 6VAC20-70-

115.

[ &= H.] Any noncustodial employee who originally complied with all training requirements

and later separated from noncustodial employee or corrections officer status for a period greater

than 24 months, upon reentry as a noncustodial employee, shall be required to complete all

compulsory minimum training standards set forth in this chapter.

6VAC20-70-50.

(Repealed.)







6VAC20-70-70. Grading Attendance, requirements, testing, and grading.

A. Attendance.

1. Noncustodial employees attending approved training are required to attend all classes

and shall not be placed on duty or on call except in cases of an emergency (e.g., natural

disaster, riot, etc.). In the event of such an emergency, the agency administrator or

designee shall determine if it is appropriate to place the noncustodial employee on duty

or on call and shall advise the academy director within 24 hours.

2. Noncustodial employees shall be responsible for any material missed during an

excused absence.

B. Academy testing.

1. Noncustodial employees shall meet all the training objectives and pass all criteria for

testing related to each performance outcome approved by the COT.

2. A noncustodial employee may be tested and retested as-may-be-necessary within the

time limits of 6VAC20-70-40 and each certified [ criminal justice ] training academy's

written policy. A noncustodial employee shall not be certified as having complied with the



compulsory minimum training standards unless all applicable requirements have been

met.




6VAC20-70-90. Recertification- (Repealed.)




6VAC20-70-100. Failure to comply with rules and regulations.

A. Nenecustodial-employees Any individual attending ahr—approved-training-school certified

[ criminal justice ] training academy shall comply with the rules and regulations promulgated by

the department and a

board. The academy director ef-the-schoel shall be responsible for enforcement of all rules and

regulations established to govern the conduct of attendees.

H-the-sehool-director—considers—a—violation—of therules—and-regulations B. Any individual

violating the rules and regulations governing the certified [ criminal justice ] training academy

determined to be detrimental to the welfare of the school—the-school-directormay-expel-the
noncustodialemployee certified [ criminal justice | training academy or the safety of the

noncustodial employees, officers, visitors, or personnel may be expelled from the scheol

academy.

administrator or designee and the department.




6VAC20-70-110. Administrative requirements.

A. Records and documentation shall be open to audit, inspection, and review by the

department upon request.

B. Training records shall be maintained in accordance with the provisions of this chapter and

the Virginia Public Records Act (§ 42.1-76 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).

6VAC20-70-115. In-service training and annual firearms training.

A. Every two vears, noncustodial employees as defined in 6VAC20-70-10 shall complete a

total of 40 hours of in-service training as identified in this subsection by December 31 of the

second calendar year after completing approved training at a certified [ criminal justice ] training

academy [, external training location, ] or satellite facility.

1. Cultural diversity training for two hours.

2. Leqgal training for four hours.

3. Career development or elective training for 34 hours. Subjects to be provided are at

the discretion of the academy director.




B. Firearms training. Every noncustodial employee [ required designated ] to carry a firearm

in the performance of duty shall qualify annually using the applicable firearms course approved

by the COT of the board. Annual range gualification shall include a review of issues and policies

relating to weapons safety, nomenclature, maintenance, and use of force. With prior approval of

the director, a reasonable modification of the firearms course may be approved to

accommodate qualification on indoor ranges.

6VAC20-70-120. Effective-date: (Repealed.)

6VAC20-70-130. Adepted-—October12-1979. (Repealed.)

il Jues . | off1/03.

CHAPTER 90

RULES RELATING TO REGIONAL CRIMINAL JUSTICE TRAINING ACADEMIES
6VAC20-90-10. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have the following meaning

meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise::

"Academy director" means the chief administrative officer of a certified [ criminal justice ]

training academy.

"Agency administrator" means any chief of police, sheriff, or agency head of a state or local

law-enforcement agency [ or agency head of a local correctional facility as defined in § 53.1-1 of

the Code of Virginia ] .




"Approved training" means any training approved by the department to meet minimum

training standards.

"Board" means the Criminal Justice Services Board.

"Certified [ criminal justice ] training academy" means a training facility [ or_campus] in

compliance with academy certification or recertification standards operated by the state or

local [ grit units] of government that is owned, leased, rented, or used exclusively for the

purpose of training criminal justice professionals requlated by the department and board.

"Committee on Training" or "COT" means the standing committee of the board that is

charged with reviewing proposed changes to the standards, receiving and reviewing public

comments, and approving changes to the standards as needed.

"Compulsory minimum training standards” means the written performance outcomes

approved by the Committee on Training and the minimum [ training ] hours approved by the

Criminal Justice Services Board.

"Department” means the Department of Criminal Justice Services.

"Director" means the chief administrative officer of the department.

"External [ elassreem training location ] " means a training [+eem location ] approved by the

department located away from the certified [ criminal justice training] academy, which the

certified [ criminal justice training ] academy uses to conduct mandated training, using full-time

[ and part-time ] academy staff with general instructorships.

"Mandated training" means training that satisfies compulsory minimum training requirements

(i.e., basic and in-service training).




1

v- "Regional

Training Academy" means a reqgional criminal justice training academy as defined by 8 15.2-

1747 of the Code of Virginia. ]

"Satellite facility" means a temporary facility located away from the certified academy facility,

which the certified academy uses exclusively to conduct in-service training.

6VAC20-90-20. Designation.

A. The regional academies set forth belew in this subsection are designated as regional

academies and are eligible to receive allocated funds from the department.

Cardinal Criminal Justice Academy

lerVirgini

Central Shenandoah Criminal Justice Training Academy

boro_Virgini

Central Virginia Criminal Justice Academy

hburgVirgini

Crater Criminal Justice Academy

Hampton Roads Regional Academy of Criminal Justice

New River Criminal Justice Training Academy

tford_\Virgini

Northern Virginia Criminal Justice Academy

hburn Virgini



Piedmont Regional Criminal Justice Training Academy
neville_Mirgini
Rappahannock Regional Criminal Justice Academy
icksburg. Virgini
Skyline Regional Criminal Justice Academy

Virgini

Southwest Law-Enfercement Virginia Criminal Justice Academy

istol Virgini

B. Jurisdictions may operate their own certified independent training academies if approved

by the department; however, no state funds will be available for such academies. A jurisdiction,

within or without the Commonwealth, may join a regional academy at—any-time subject to

complying with the pelicies—established-by-the beard requirements of 88 15.2-1300 and 15.2-

1747 of the Code of Virginia, and this chapter.

6VAC20-90-30. Academy governing body.

Each regional academy shall have a charter, which shall be established in accordance with

8§ 88 15.2-1300 and 15.2-1747 of the Code of Virginia. Fhe-chartershall—in-accordance-with




6VAC20-90-40. Funds.

The department will disburse funds to the regional academies designated in 6VAC20-90-20
in accordance with the appropriations made to the department for the purpose of providing
financial support to the regional training academies. Finrancialreports An operating budget and

independent audit by a third-party auditor will be required as-determined-by-the-department to

be submitted to the department annually.

6VAC20-90-60. Academy creation.

A. Conduct training needs assessment. To determine if a need exists for the creation of a

certified [ criminal justice ] training academy, a state or local unit of government must complete

a training needs assessment. The needs assessment will evaluate the following:

1. The inability to obtain adequate training from existing academies.

2. A hardship that renders the use of other existing academies impractical.

3. The number of criminal justice professionals (i.e., students) the certified [ criminal

justice ] training academy would serve.

4. That there are a sufficient number of criminal justice professionals, financial

resources, and academy personnel to support the creation and maintenance of a full-

time reqgional or independent training academy for a minimum of five years.

B. Identify and acknowledge commitments. The state or local unit of government shall in

writing make the following commitments:

1. The provision of a full range of training to include basic training, in-service training,

and instructor certification and recertification training.




2. The assignment of one position with primary responsibility as academy director and

one clerical, financial officer, or support position to support training and training-related

functions.

3. The provision of adjunct instructors to instruct classes and courses.

4. The maintenance of a training facility adequate to conduct training in accordance with

academy certification standards.

5. The commitment of sufficient funding to adequately support the training function.

C. Review and consideration.

1. The state or local governmental unit shall submit a training needs assessment and

written commitments to the Committee on Training (COT) as described in subsections A

and B of this section.

[ 2. The department and the COT shall review and consider assessments after reviewing

the mutual agreement documents signed by the separating agency and the certified

criminal justice training academy. | _

[2 3.] The COT shall review the assessment and make a recommendation to the

department as to whether the creation of an academy is warranted.

[3:-4.] If the COT recommends the creation of the proposed academy, the department

shall make a determination as to whether the creation of an academy is warranted.

a. If the creation of a regional academy is approved by the department, the

governing bodies or political subdivisions of the proposed academy must

successfully complete the academy certification process and be in compliance with

the provisions of § 15.2-1747 of the Code of Virginia.




b. If the creation of an independently operated academy is approved by the

department, the governing body of the proposed academy must successfully

complete the academy certification process and be in compliance with the provisions

of subsection D of § 15.2-1747 of the Code of Virginia.

6VAC20-90-70. Academy certification.

A. An academy shall not conduct mandated training until the academy meets all certification

requirements.

B. Training academies, all places of operation (i.e., satellite facilities, external [ elassreoms

training locations ] , firing range, driving course, etc.), and the records are subject to audit,

inspection, and review by the department. Audits and inspections may be announced or

unannounced.

C. The academy must formally request academy certification status from the department

and meet the following requirements:

1. The department will establish a mutually agreeable date with the academy director

and conduct the on-site assessment for academy certification.

2. The academy shall meet 100% [ of ] the academy certification standards identified in

the DCJS Certified Criminal Justice Training Academy Certification Checklist and Report

in each of the following cateqories:

a. Administration;

b. Personnel;

c. Facility;

d. Instruction; and

e. Satellite facility.




3. Certification is valid for one year from the date of certification.

a. In order to maintain certification status, the academy must successfully complete

the academy recertification process before the expiration of the original certification.

b. The recertification will extend the expiration date to June 30 of the third year

following the date of recertification.

D. If the academy does not meet one or more certification standards identified in the DCJS

Certified Criminal Justice Training Academy Certification Checklist and Report:

1. The academy director will receive written notification of the certification standards that

have not been met and the date when a reassessment will be conducted.

2. The department shall provide the written notification and date of reassessment within

five business days of the last date of assessment.

3. The academy will be given time to correct the [ situation noncompliance] , not to

exceed 60 days.

4. Department staff shall reassess the academy. If the academy does not meet one or

more of the certification standards upon reassessment, the department will provide

written notification of the standards not met during reassessment to the academy

director and agency administrator or board chairman of the academy. The academy will

have a maximum of 30 days to comply with all certification standards.

5. A second reassessment will be conducted no later than 30 days following the first

reassessment. If the academy is still not in compliance with all certification standards at

the time of the second reassessment, the department shall not certify the academy.

6. The academy director may appeal the findings of the academy certification to the

director. The decision of the director is final.




E. Academies failing to meet the certification requirements or losing on appeal shall restart

the academy certification process identified within this section beginning with 6VAC20-90-70 C.

6VAC20-90-80. Academy recertification.

A. A certified [ criminal justice ] training academy shall not conduct mandated training for

courses in which it is not in compliance with reqgulatory and certification requirements.

B. A certified [ criminal justice ] training academy, all places of operation (i.e., satellite

facilities, firing range, driving course, etc.), and the records are subject to audit, inspection, and

review by the department. Audits and inspections may be announced and unannounced.

C. The certified [criminal justice ] training academy must successfully complete the

academy recertification process before June 30 of the third year from the last date of

recertification.

D. The department will establish a mutually agreeable date with the academy director and

conduct the on-site assessment for academy recertification.

1. The certified [ criminal justice ] training academy shall [ meet100%of be assessed for

compliance with ] the academy certification standards identified in the DCJS Certified

Criminal Justice Training Academy Recertification Checklist and Report in each of the

following cateqories:

a. Administration;

b. Personnel;

c. Facility;

d. Instruction; and

e. Satellite facility.




2. If the certified [ criminal justice ] training academy does not meet one or_more

recertification standards identified in the DCJS Certified Criminal Justice Training

Academy Recertification Checklist and Report:

a. The academy director will receive written notification of the recertification

standards that have not been met along with a department drafted corrective action

plan and the date when a reassessment will be conducted within five business days

from the last date of assessment.

b. The certified [ criminal justice ] training academy will be given time to correct

the [ sitdation noncompliance] , not to exceed 60 days.

c. The department staff shall reassess the certified [ criminal justice ] training

academy. If the certified [ criminal justice ] training academy does not meet one or

more of the certification standards upon reassessment, the department will provide

written notification of the standards not met during reassessment to the academy

director and agency administrator, or board chairman of the certified [ criminal

justice ] training academy. The certified [ criminal justice ] training academy will have

a maximum of 30 days to comply with all certification standards.

d. A second reassessment will be conducted no later than 30 days following the first

reassessment. If the certified [ criminal justice ] training academy is [ stilh] not in

compliance with all certification standards [ or has failed to adopt and implement the

department issued corrective action plan ] at the time of the second reassessment,

the director shall suspend the academies certification in accordance with 6VAC20-

90-100 and conduct a hearing within 30 days to determine the status of the

academy's certification.

E. The director shall review all pertinent documents.




1. The academy will have an opportunity to make a verbal presentation.

2. After a review of all pertinent information, the director shall determine the status of the

academy certification.

F. The academy director may seek appeal to the enforcement actions identified in 6VAC20-

90-100 of the academy recertification assessment.

1. The academy director may request a hearing before Executive Committee of the

Criminal Justice Services Board. The request shall be in writing and shall be received by

the department within 15 days of the date of the notice of probation, suspension, or

revocation.

2. The academy will have an opportunity to make a verbal presentation before the

executive committee.

3. After a review of all pertinent information, the executive committee shall determine the

status of the certification.

6VAC20-90-90. Training requirements, approvals, audits, inspections, and reviews.

A. The certified [ criminal justice ] training academy shall conduct mandated (e.qg., basic)

training using the Virginia Criminal Justice Services Training Manual and Compulsory Minimum

Training Standards for:

1. Law enforcement officers in accordance with the requirements of 6VAC20-20-21 B 1.

2. Deputy sheriffs and jail officers in accordance with the requirements of 6VAC20-50-20

B 1.

3. Courthouse and courtroom security officers in accordance with the requirements of

6VAC20-50-20 C 1.




4. Deputy sheriffs designated to serve process in accordance with the requirements of

6VAC20-50-20 D 1.

5. Dispatchers in accordance with the requirements of 6VAC20-60-20 B.

6. Noncustodial employees of the Department of Corrections designated by the Director

of the Department of Corrections to carry a weapon in accordance with the requirements

of 6VAC20-70-20.

7. Correctional officers of the Department of Corrections in accordance with the

requirements of 6VAC20-100-20 B 1.

B. The certified [ criminal justice ] training academy shall submit to the department its

curriculum containing the performance outcomes, instructor names, and the dates and times for

all basic training, including all instructor schools and field training officer schools, and a letter

requesting approval (e.qg., memorandum of transmittal) at least 30 days before the start of the

Course.

C. The department shall review the documents submitted, and if approved, the department

shall notify the certified [ criminal justice ] training academy in writing of course approval.

D. The certified [ criminal justice ] training academy shall approve in-service training in

accordance with the requirements identified in 6VAC20-30.

E. The department shall conduct training audits, inspections, and review.

6VAC20-90-100. Enforcement actions for recertification.

A. The department shall use the enforcement actions provided in this subsection when

identifying noncompliance of this chapter that varies from the intent of this chapter by

academies and certified academies.




1. Probation is a written notification for violations of department rules or regulations

requiring continuous oversight by the department for a specific duration of time.

2. Suspension is a written natification of the removal of authorization to conduct, instruct,

or hold specified courses or schools for violations of this chapter for a specific duration of

time.

3. Revocation is a written notification by the director of the deactivation and removal of

authorization issued under certification to operate as a certified [ criminal justice ]

training academy for violations of this chapter for an indefinite period of time.

B. The enforcement actions and procedures provided in this subsection are not mutually

exclusive. The department may invoke as many enforcement actions as the situation requires.

1. The department may consider probation, suspension, or revocation status for a

certified [ criminal justice ] training academy with documented noncompliance for one or

more _academy recertification _standards when the certified [ criminal justice ] training

academy has failed to correct the noncompliance in accordance with the recertification

process and timeline identified in 6VAC20-90-80.

2. If there is a life, health, or safety issue or felonious criminal activity occurring during

any department or academy approved training, at any location, the director may

unilaterally revoke the academy's certification. The status of the revocation shall be

reviewed at the next scheduled Criminal Justice Services Board meeting.

6VAC20-90-110. Enforcement actions for instruction and training.

A. The department shall use the enforcement actions provided in this subsection when

identifying noncompliance of this chapter by certified training academies.

1. Probation is a written notification for violations of department rules or requlations

requiring continuous oversight by the department for a specific course or class.




2. Suspension is a written notification of the removal of authorization to conduct, instruct,

or hold specified courses or schools for violations of this chapter.

B. The department may conduct training audits inspections and reviews and immediately

suspend a class, course, or training if there is a violation of academy certification or

recertification standard or requirements or if there is a life, health, or safety issue or felonious

criminal activity occurring at an academy or a satellite facility. The suspension shall remain in

place until the noncompliance is corrected.

C. The department may assign probation status to a certified [ criminal justice ] training

academy's course or class. This allows a certified academy to conduct a class with oversight

from the department.

D. Probation and suspension status shall be reviewed by the department upon compliance

with all requirements.

6VAC?20-90-120. Attendance, testing, grading, and recordkeeping.

A. The certified [ criminal justice ] training academy shall establish, maintain, and follow a

policy that requires criminal justice professionals to attend all classes except in_emergency

situations (i.e., natural disaster, catastrophic event, etc.) and notify criminal justice professionals

of their responsibility for any material missed during an excused absence per academy policy.

B. The certified [ criminal justice ] training academy shall utilize testing procedures that

indicate that every criminal justice professional has satisfactorily completed the criteria for every

training objective and performance outcome approved by the Committee on Training of the

Criminal Justice Services Board and located in the Virginia Criminal Justice Services Training

Manual and Compulsory Minimum Training Standards.




C. A criminal justice officer may be tested and retested as may be necessary within the time

limits of 6VAC20-20-40, 6VAC20-50-40, 6VAC20-60-40, 6VAC20-70-40, or 6VAC20-100-40

and in accordance with each certified [ criminal justice ] training academy's written policy.

D. Law-enforcement certification exam.

1. The department shall generate and proctor the law-enforcement certification exam.

2. All certified training academies shall document that each law-enforcement officer has

complied with all minimum training standards in all categories identified in 6VAC20-20-

21 before scheduling the law-enforcement certification exam.

3. Upon documented compliance with the minimum training standards identified in

6VAC20-20-21 officers will be eligible to complete the law-enforcement certification

exam.

E. The academy director shall certify [ each] criminal justice professional [ have has]

complied with the applicable rules relating to the compulsory minimum training standards and

requirements. The academy director shall submit the following information using the

department's electronic training records management system within 60 days of the last day of

completing the compulsory minimum training or in-service training.

1. Name of certified [ criminal justice ] training academy and academy director's name;

N

. Start and end dates of training;

3. Name and type of course;

N

. Social security number of criminal justice professionals;

5. Last name, first name, and middle initial of criminal justice professionals;

6. Name of criminal justice professional's employing agency; and

\‘

. Academy director's signature and date.




F. Certified [ criminal justice ] training academies shall maintain accurate records of all tests,

grades, and testing procedures.

G. The certified [ criminal justice ] training academy director shall maintain a file of all current

lesson plans and supporting material for training objectives and shall provide this information to

the director upon request.

H. The certified [ criminal justice ] training academy shall maintain training records in

accordance with the provisions of this chapter and the Virginia Public Records Act (8 42.1-76 et

seq. of the Code of Virginia).

6VAC20-90-130. Failure to comply with rules and requlations.

A. The academy director shall be responsible for enforcement of all rules and requlations

established to govern the conduct of attendees.

B. Any individual attending a certified [ criminal justice ] training academy shall comply with

the rules and regulations promulgated by the certified [ criminal justice ] training academy and

the department.

C. Individuals violating the rules and requlations governing the certified [ criminal justice ]

training _academy or violating the rules of the certified [ criminal justice ] training academy

determined to be detrimental to the welfare of the academy or the safety of officers, visitors, or

personnel may be expelled.

D. Notification of expulsion will immediately be reported in writing to the agency

administrator of the individual and the department.
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DCJS Certified Criminal Justice Training Academy Certification Checklist and Report, May

2018, Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services
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DCJS Certified Criminal Justice Training Academy Recertification Checklist and Report, May

2018, Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services

Satellite Facility Worksheet, May 2018, Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services

Virginia Criminal Justice Services Training Manual and Compulsory Minimum Training

Standards, published online September 2012, (Revised [ Mareh September ] 2018) available on

the Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services website at

https://www.dcjs.virginia.gov/law-enforcement/manual

6VAC20-100-10. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have the following meaning

meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise::

"Academy director" means the chief administrative officer of a certified [ criminal justice ]

training academy.

"Agency administrator" means any chief of police, sheriff e, agency head of a state; or local

law-enforcement agency, or the director of the Department of Corrections, or his designee.

"Approved training" means training approved by the department to meet minimum training

standards.

"Board" means the Criminal Justice Services Board.



http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=88b9e005427~138.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=88b9e005427~138.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c8e19005427~178.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
https://www.dcjs.virginia.gov/law-enforcement/manual

"Certified [ criminal justice ] training academy" means a training facility [ or_campus] in

compliance with academy certification or recertification standards and operated by the state or

local unit of government that is owned, leased, rented, or used exclusively for the purpose

training criminal justice professionals requlated by department and board.

[ "Compulsory minimum training standards" means the written performance outcomes

approved by the Committee on Training and the minimum training hours approved by the

Criminal Justice Services Board. ]

"Committee on Training" or "COT" means the standing committee of the board that is

charged with reviewing proposed changes to the standards, receiving and reviewing public

comments, and approving changes to the standards as needed.

"Curriculum Review Committee” means the committee consisting of nine individuals

representing the Department of Corrections. Two members of the committee shall represent the

western region, two members shall represent the eastern region, two members shall represent

the central region, and three members shall represent administration.

"Department” means the Department of Criminal Justice Services.

"Director" means the chief administrative officer of the department or the director's designee.

[ "External training location" means a training location approved by the department located

away from the certified criminal justice training academy, which the certified criminal justice

training academy uses to conduct mandated training, using full-time and part-time academy

staff with general instructorships. ]




"Satellite facility” means a temporary facility located away from the certified [ criminal

justice ] training academy facility, which the certified academy uses exclusively to conduct in-

service training.

6VAC20-100-20. Compulsory minimum training standards.

A. Pursuant to the provisions of 8-9-170-7-efthe subdivision 9 of § 9.1-102 of the Code of

Virginia, the department under the direction of the board establishes thefollowing—as the
compulsory minimum training standards for full-time or_part-time correctional officers of the

Department of Corrections-Bivision-of-Adult-tnstitutions.













B. Individuals hired as correctional officers as defined in 8 53.1-1 of the Code of Virginia

shall meet or exceed the compulsory minimum training standards at a certified [ criminal justice ]

training _academy [ ,external training location or satellite facility ] and complete field training

requirements. Correctional officers shall comply with the following:

1. Successfully complete basic correctional officer training at a certified [ criminal

justice ] training academy [ external training location, ] or satellite facility, which includes




receiving a minimum _of 400 hours of department approved training in the following

cateqgories:

a. Security and supervision;

b. Communication;

c. Safety;

d. Emergency response;

e. Conflict and crisis management;

f. Law and legal;

g. Duty assignments and responsibilities;

h. Professionalism;

i. Basic corrections officer firearms training; and

i. Physical fithess training.

2. Successfully complete a minimum of 200 hours of approved training in the category of

field training identified in the Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services Field

Training and On the Job Training Performance Outcomes.

6VAC20-100-25. Approval authority.

A. The board shall be the approval authority for the training categories and hours identified

in 6VAC20-100-20 of the compulsory minimum training standards. Amendments to training

cateqories shall be made in accordance with the provisions of the Administrative Process Act (8

2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).

B. The Committee on Training (COT) shall be the approval authority for the performance

outcomes, training objectives, criteria, and lesson plan quides that support the performance




outcomes. Performance outcomes, training objectives, criteria, and lesson plan guides

supporting the compulsory minimum training standards may be added, deleted, or amended by

the COT based upon written recommendation of the director of the Department of Corrections, a

chief of police, sheriff, agency administrator, academy director, or the Curriculum Review

Committee.

C. Before approving changes to the performance outcomes, training objectives, criteria, or

lesson plan guides, the COT shall schedule an opportunity for public comment during a meeting

of the COT. A minimum of 60 days before to the meeting of the COT, the proposed changes

shall be distributed to all certified training academies for an opportunity to comment. Notice of

changes to the performance outcomes, training objectives, criteria, and lesson plan guides shall

be filed for publication in the Virginia Reqgister of Requlations.

D. The department shall notify each certified [ criminal justice ] training academy in writing of

any COT approved revisions. COT approved revisions require a minimum of 30 days' notice to

certified training academies prior to becoming effective.

6VAC20-100-30. Applicability.

A. Every A person employed as a full-time or part-time correctional officer, and-wheo-has-net

effective-date-of theseregulations; in accordance with subdivision 9 of § 9.1-102 of the Code of

Virginia, shall meet the compulsory minimum training standards hereir and requirements

established in 6VAC20-100-20 and 6VAC20-100-40 unless provided otherwise in accordance

with subsection B of this section.

B. The director may grant an exemption or partial exemption of the compulsory minimum
training standards established herein, in accordance with 8 9-173 § 9.1-116 of the Code of

Virginia.



6VAC20-100-40. Time requirement for completion of training.

A. Every—correctional-officer Correctional officers who is are required to comply with the

compulsory minimum training standards [ ,field training and requirements ]| shall satisfactorily

complete such training within 12 months of the date of appointment unless provided otherwise

in accordance with subsection B of this section.

B. The director may grant an extension of the time limit for completion of the compulsory

minimum training

limit: standards and requirements for the following reasons:

1. Medical condition;

2. Injury;

3. Military service; or

4. Administrative leave involving the determination of worker's compensation or disability

retirement issues or suspension pending investigation or adjudication of a crime.

C. Any-correctional-officer The director may review and consider other reasons (e.g., natural

disaster, family medical leave, etc.) for granting an extension. If approval is granted, the

extension shall not exceed 90 days.

[ D. The director or director’'s designee may review and consider requests to renew training

extensions if the reason for the original training extension continues and the reqguest occurs

before the expiration date of the original extension. ]




[ Bz E.] The director shall not grant an extension for failing to pass compulsory minimum

training standards within the specified time limits.

[ E=_F.] Correctional officers who do not [ satisfactorily complete compulsory minimum

training standards, field training, and other requirements within 12 months of hire or

appointment as a correctional officer, or who do not ] receive an extension of the time limit for

completion of requirements shall be subject to the provisions of § 9.1-115 of the Code of

Virginia.

[E_G.] The department shall notify the agency administrator of individuals not in

compliance with the requirements of this section.

[ &= H. ] Correctional officers who originally complied with all training requirements and later

separated from correctional officer status—mere-than-12-meonths-butless-than for a period of 24
months or less, upon reentry as a correctional officer, will be required to complete al

in-service and firearms

training requirements set forth in 6VAC20-30.

D—Anycorrectional-officer [ H: 1. ] Correctional officers who originally complied with all

training requirements and later separated from correctional officer status, in—exeess—of for a

period greater than 24 months, upon reentry as a correctional officer shall be required to

complete all compulsory minimum training standards unless—provided-otherwise-in-accordance
with-6\VAC20-100-20-A-1 required for correctional officers as set forth in this chapter.

6VAC20-100-50. How-minimum-tratning-may-be-attained: (Repealed.)
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A. Attendance.

1. Correctional officers attending approved training are required to attend all classes and

shall not be placed on duty or on call except in cases of an emergency (e.g., natural

disaster, etc.) In the event of such an emergency, the agency administrator or designee

shall determine if it is appropriate to place officers on duty or on call and shall advise the

academy director within 24 hours.

2. Correctional officers shall be responsible for any material missed during an excused

absence.

B. Academy testing.

[ 1. Correctional officers shall meet all the training objectives and pass all criteria for

testing related to each performance outcome approved by the COT.

2. A correctional officer may be tested and retested as-may-be-necessary within the time

limits of 6VAC20-100-40 and in accordance with each certified [ criminal justice ] training

academy's written policy. An officer shall not be certified as having complied with the

compulsory minimum training standards unless all applicable requirements have been

met. ]

6VAC20-100-80. Failure to comply with rules and regulations.

Any-correctional-officer A. Any individual attending an—approved-training-school a_certified

[ criminal justice ] training academy shall comply with the rules and regulations promulgated by

the department and board a




director. The sehoel academy director shall be responsible for enforcement of all rules and

regulations established to govern the conduct of attendees.

{ftheschool directorconsiders—a—violation—of B. Any individual violating the rules and

regulations governing the certified [ criminal justice ] training academy determined to be

detrimental to the welfare of the-sechool—the-school-director the certified [ criminal justice ]

training academy or the safety of officers, visitors, or personnel may expel-the—officer be

expelled from the sehool academy.

C. Notification of such-action-shall an_expulsion will immediately be reported, in writing, to

the correctionsfacility-director-managerof-theofficerand-the-director agency administrator or

designee and the department.

6VAC20-100-90. Administrative requirements.




[ A. Field training shall be completed in accordance with the requirements in 6VAC20-100-

40. The superintendent or warden shall sign and submit the field training completion form for

each officer to the department. ]

[ A B.] Records and documentation shall be open to audit, inspection, and review by the

department upon request.

[ B-_C.] Training seheel records shall be maintained in accordance with the provisions of

these-rules this chapter and the Virginia Public Records Act ( [ 88 8] 42.1-76 through-42.-1-91 et

seq. of the Code of Virginia).

6VAC20-100-100. Effective-date: (Repealed.)
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