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Asset Forfeiture Background

The Forfeited Asset Sharing Program allows local and state law enforcement 
agencies to utilize state forfeiture laws to seize and forfeit property connected 
to illegal drug activity, then receive a percentage of the forfeited funds for use.

In 1991, citizens of Virginia voted to amend the Constitution 
of Virginia to permit laws allowing law enforcement agencies 
to benefit from seizures connected with the illegal distribution 
of narcotics.

In 1991, the General Assembly passed forfeiture law under Code § 19.2-386.22. 
Prior to the forfeiture law, forfeited funds from seized items were contributed 
to the State Literary Fund.
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• Today, law enforcement agencies may retain any proceeds from forfeitures 
pertaining to the distribution, sale, or manufacture of a controlled substance or 
marijuana including prescription drugs and controlled synthetics. 
Real property: drug violation must carry a minimum five year sentence
Seizure may be done up to three years after offense date

• Proceeds may include money and property used in “substantial connection” with 
drug activities above as well as anything of value exchanged for controlled 
substances. Examples: cash, real property, vehicles, cell phones, electronics, 
weapons, jewelry, etc.

Benefits:

• Criminal deterrent
• Increased cooperation between federal, state, and local law enforcement 

agencies
• Strengthens law enforcement through use of proceeds obtained through 

forfeiture
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386 Agencies Participate 

• 231 Police/Sheriff 
• 118 Commonwealth’s Attorneys and VCJF 
• 31 VSP Task Forces 
• USPIS and OAG

Active online users: 409

Total disbursements for FY2021: $4.2 million
• Affected by COVID19 and requirement for criminal conviction
• 1534 seizures valued at $8,961,634.93
• 1088 assets forfeited

o 136 agencies = $0
o 43 agencies  < $1000
o 120 agencies = $1000 to $10,000
o 79 agencies = $10,001 to $100,000
o 6 agencies = over $100,000
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Vocabulary
• Asset: Property of all kinds; real and personal, tangible and 

intangible (cash, real-estate, gold, silver, tools).

• Seizure: The physical taking of property based on law 
enforcement’s belief that the property is associated with a 
crime.

• Forfeiture: Permanent loss of an owner’s rights to property 
which can be a penalty for some illegal act. In Virginia, only a 
Circuit Court judge can forfeit property.

• “In-Kind Property”: Actual property other than cash which has 
been seized, forfeited and returned to the seizing agency for 
law-enforcement purposes. 
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• Proceeds: Actual cash forfeited and the cash value returned 
from the sale of forfeited property, including property that may 
have been returned “in-kind” and sold.

• Seizing Agency: The agency which initiated the seizure or that 
retains possession of the seized property. The seizing agency 
may be chosen by mutual decision of the participating agencies.

• Participating Agency: Any agency involved in a seizure that will 
receive a portion of the proceeds.

• Substantial Connection: The “substantial connection” test 
requires that the property subject to forfeiture must have more 
than an incidental connection to the criminal activity. It is a 
common sense interpretation of the facts on a case by case 
basis. Lee, et al v. Commonwealth, 253 Va. 222 (1997) is a good 
definition for substantial connection.
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What May Be Seized and Forfeited 
Under the Forfeited Asset Sharing Program

• Authority to seize stems from § 19.2-386.22 Seizure of property used in 
connection with or derived from illegal drug transactions. Referred to in this 
code are three bases for forfeitures:

§ 18.2-248 Manufacturing, selling, giving, distributing, or possessing with 
intent to manufacture, sell, give, or distribute a controlled substance or 
an imitation controlled substance prohibited; penalties

§ 18.2-248.1 Penalties for sale, gift, distribution or possession with intent 
to sell, give or distribute marijuana.

§ 18.2-474.1 Delivery of drugs, firearms, explosives, etc., to prisoners or 
committed persons.

Any property used in substantial connection with the illegal distribution or 
sale or manufacture of narcotics (not possession alone).
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Assets are forfeited to the Commonwealth of Virginia and (paid) turned over 
to the Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS).

All of the above needs to be referred to in all court ordered forfeitures 
processed through DCJS. 

Other Relevant Forfeiture Code Sections:

§ 19.2-386.14: Sharing of Forfeited Assets.

§ 19.2-386.10: Forfeiture; default judgment; remission; trial.

§ 19.2-386.12: Sale of forfeited property.
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Non-Drug Seizures 

• There are numerous types of non-drug seizures; the proceeds from these 
forfeitures go to the State Literary Fund, which is used to fund public schools.  

• The DCJS Forfeited Asset Sharing Program includes assets seized and 
forfeited under an applicable drug charge only. These charges do NOT 
include possession.

• Seizures resulting from cigarette trafficking, money laundering, gambling or 
counterfeit clothing are significant, but are not part of the DCJS Forfeited 
Asset Sharing Program. Do not report these to DCJS.

9



Non-Drug Seizures

Criminal offenses which can lead to civil forfeiture actions are specified by the 
General Assembly and include:
• Illegal manufacture of alcoholic beverages
• Acts of terrorism
• Transportation of stolen property
• Abductions
• Prostitution
• Child pornography
• Computer crimes
• Manufacture, possession or sale of illegal electronic communication 

devises
• Money laundering
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• Cigarette trafficking and counterfeit cigarettes
• Gambling
• Any weapon unlawfully possessed or used in a felony
• Soliciting a child for sexual activity using a communications system
• Extortion
• Illegal wage withholding
• Felony DUI

 Different crimes allow for different types of forfeitures, and may involve 
different procedures

 All require convictions under changes to asset forfeiture law effective 
July 1, 2020-there are exceptions

 All proceeds from these non-drug forfeitures go to the State Literary Fund. 
Constitution of Virginia, Article VIII, Section 8 The Literary Fund.
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Asset Forfeiture Cases

1. Law enforcement agencies must always have probable cause to seize 
assets-Fourth Amendment.

2. Case is against the property, not the defendant, so build a case for both.

3. § 19.2-53 Search warrants may lead to seizures for asset forfeiture when 
the assets stem from the fruit of a crime, or any object or thing 
constituting evidence of the commission of crime.

4. § 19.2-386.2 Seizure warrant authorizes the immediate seizure of a 
property subject to seizure.

5. Count and recount money: may be kept in suspension account, evidence 
room, treasurer, but make sure amounts are correct and submitted to DCJS 
and the Commonwealth’s Attorney’s Office correctly!!
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Probable Cause for Property 
May Come From the Following:

Numerous IDs and/or false IDs
Drug dog alerts
Hidden compartments in vehicles
Criminal background
Financial Documents such as

• W-2’s 
• Pay stubs
• Bank statements (personal and business)
• Receipts (personal and business)
• Tax info (personal and business)
• Money transfers/wires
• Vehicle information (title, purchase contracts, loans)
• Calendars
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Follow the Money
• Investigation does not end with seizure

‒ You may discover other individuals are involved
‒ You may be able to negate innocent owner defense
‒ Get the big picture

• Get complete statements from all people present

• Ask questions about property
‒ How was the property purchased? Cash, Paypal, Venmo
‒ Where was the money for purchase obtained?

• Ask questions about any money found
‒ How was the money obtained?
‒ Where is the money going?
‒ How often is the money received or paid out?
‒ Where is everyone employed and what is their pay?
‒ Get ATM receipts, deposit tickets, etc.
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Other Things to Look For During Investigation
• Attempts to keep transactions secret

• Mingling legitimately earned funds with illegal funds

• Transfers between accounts or large deposits of cash

• False registration of vehicles or other personal property in a third-party’s 
name

• Having a third party make a purchase or perform other financial transactions

Questions:

• Was the car used to sell drugs?

• Was the car used to transport drugs?

• Is the car titled in third party’s name? (The use of a third party to purchase 
goods for another person usually constitutes sufficient proof of an attempt 
to conceal.)
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Venue lies where:

• The property is located, 

• the property is seized, or

• an owner of the property or the person whom the property is 
seized from commits the illegal activity alleged to cause the 
seizure

Respondents are:

• The owner

• The person(s) who had custody when the property was seized
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Vehicle Seizures
• Vehicles need to be maintained to retain value; don’t let them remain on the 

impound lot any longer than necessary. 

• Double-check VIN on 998, court papers, etc.

• Maintain accurate records of vehicles and other assets awaiting forfeiture.

• Completely inventory a vehicle after seizure.

 Check for hidden compartments.

 Give items not being held as evidence or seeking forfeiture back to the owner. 

 Tow and store in a predetermined, safe place.

 Note any damage.

 Roll up the windows so the car isn’t damaged in your agency’s care.

 Follow your department’s minimum equity guidelines.

 Vehicles are to be sold at a public auction (on-line permitted ex: auction 
company, GovDeals, Ebay)
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File a DMV Form VSA62 –
Report of Levied and Seized Vehicle

 Seizing officer or C/A may file.
 Puts a HOLD on the vehicle.
 Prevents ownership change with DMV after it is seized.
 Remember to take it off Hold if it does not end in forfeiture 

or when sold.
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Miscellaneous Property Seizures

• Miscellaneous property can be used in-kind, but a law enforcement 
use must be shown.

• Property sold in lots should be reported to DCJS even if individual 
items are less than $500. Ex: jewelry, furniture, etc.

• Recordkeeping and organization are key! Don’t “lose” small items. 

• Firearms § 19.2-386.29
 Must destroy, sell to licensed firearm dealer or be used by law 

enforcement agency
 May trade to a licensed firearm dealer for another weapon for 

law enforcement use
 Report on 998 for your protection
 Check serial numbers with Virginia State Police
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Currency Seizures
• Ensure chain of custody procedures are maintained at all times. 

• If seized cash is deposited it should be placed in an account designated as an 
asset forfeiture suspension account. This account should not include funds 
already forfeited or federal money.

• If retained in the evidence room, clearly mark as drug forfeiture cash with 
identifying case numbers. After forfeiture, cash can be converted to a cashier 
check, deposit, etc.

• Do not place all money seized in one pile.

• Count and recount!

• Consult your C/A for their requirements.

21



Real Property Seizures

These seizures are complicated and costly procedures and the locality will 
handle all aspects between the law enforcement agency and Commonwealth’s 
Attorney’s Office. Tasks include:
• Titling property to the locality
• Title search
• Paying maintenance costs
• Paying back taxes
• Finding and paying existing liens
• Hiring a real estate agent to market property
• Request in-kind status from DCJS if the law enforcement agency will use 

(costs to maintain, etc. may come from forfeiture funds)

Real estate can only be seized if the drug violation carries 
a minimum 5 year prison sentence. A notice of lis pendens 

shall be filed with the Circuit Court clerk by the C/A.
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In-Kind Requests
Law enforcement agencies may request property be returned to the agency 
for use upon forfeiture. 

• This is called in-kind use, and must be for law enforcement purposes only. 

• There must be a “clear and reasonable law enforcement need”. 

• If the need is not apparent, submit information telling why in-kind use is 
requested or DCJS staff will investigate to determine if in-kind use is 
appropriate.

• Request in-kind status on a vehicle or other property on a 999.

• Indicate on the 999 which agency will receive the property. Participating 
agencies on the case must agree.

• FASP staff will mail the receiving agency a letter to the chief and one for DMV 
(vehicles only) granting in-kind use if approved.
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In-Kind Use

 The asset will remain “pending” on the agency’s DCJS case list until a final 
disposition is submitted. 

 The asset will appear under the Open Cases heading on the home page as 
well as the Open Cases with In-Kind Assets heading.

 If an agency wants to exchange seized vehicles, it must be agreed by all 
agency heads on the task force or all participating agencies: 
o Agree who will pay insurance and what will happen if vehicle is wrecked 

or stolen. 
o DCJS must be notified through a 999 submission to change the agency.
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§ 19.2-386.12.  Sale of forfeited property.

A. Any sale of forfeited property shall be made for cash, after due advertisement. The 
sale shall be by public sale or other commercially feasible means authorized by the 
court in the order of forfeiture and shall vest in the purchaser a clear and absolute 
title to the property sold subject to the rights of any lien holder whose interest is not 
forfeited. The proceeds of sale, and whatever may be realized on any bond given 
under § 19.2-386.6, and any money forfeited shall be paid over to the state treasury 
into a special fund of the Department of Criminal Justice Services in accordance with 
§ 19.2-386.14.

‒ No trade-ins except for another weapon to be used by law enforcement

‒ Vehicles may not be used as trade-ins, but asset forfeiture funds may be 
used to purchase vehicles for law enforcement use

‒ When property is used in-kind and sold, proceeds are still considered 
state asset forfeiture funds
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Sharing Agreements
Sharing agreements are between the law enforcement agency and the 
Commonwealth’s Attorney’s Office. Agreements are in effect until a new one is 
in place or old one is negated by agency heads. 

Task forces have memorandums of understanding (MOUs) that govern their 
sharing. 

VSP has separate sharing agreements with the Commonwealth’s Attorney’s 
Office.

• Kept on file at DCJS

• New signed agreements should be sent to DCJS. Agreements may be 
modified at any time.

• Deviations from sharing agreements need documentation of approval by 
C/A or task force coordinators.
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Sharing Agreements (continued)

• Disbursements on 999s require the percentages to add to 100%. 

• If the sharing agreement indicates percentages are after DCJS’ 10%, it may be 
easier to modify the agreement, because the percentages can be confusing. 
If modification is not possible, the asset forfeiture coordinator will need to 
determine actual percentages:

• SHARING AGREEMENT EXAMPLE WORDING: “Of the monies returned by the 
Department of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS) following the deduction of the 
DCJS statutory share, it is agreed that ____% will be returned to the Police 
Department and ____% will be returned to the Commonwealth’s Attorney’s 
Office.”
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If your agreement reads like this example:
 Take the PD% and C/A %s from the 90% remaining after the DCJS 10% is deducted
 PD=70%   C/A=30%
 Convert the percentage to a decimal and multiply by 90
 PD = 90 x .70 = 63%
 C/A = 90 x .30 = 27%

Or modify the agreement:

“The parties agree that of all assets seized and forfeited of $500 or more, DCJS shall 
receive 10% as a statutory share, and it is agreed that 70% will be returned to the 
Police Department and 20% will be returned to the Commonwealth’s Attorney’s Office.”

Changes to sharing agreements have to be signed by the law enforcement agency head 
and the Commonwealth’s Attorney.



Civil Forfeiture Process
1. After seizure, the seizing agency sends a written notification to the C/A—

may use DCJS Form 998

2. LEA submits Form 998 to DCJS online within 21 days

3. C/A files a Notice of Seizure with Circuit Court Clerk within 21 days 
(not jurisdictional and will not prevent the forfeiture Commonwealth v. 
Wilks 2000)

4. C/A files a Notice of Information with Circuit Court within 90 days of 
seizure. Owners and lien holders notified.
‒ If not filed, property returned to owner (Commonwealth v. Bronson 

1994)
‒ Defendant should receive Notice of Information within 30 days
‒ Defendant and/or lien holder can respond. If forfeiture is opposed, civil 

trial date is set.
‒ If no response, defendant is in default

5. Court Ruling-Commonwealth must meet burden of proof of “clear and 
convincing evidence”
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Changes July 1, 2020

• On this date, the asset forfeiture code was changed to require a criminal 
conviction for all forfeitures. Most judges are interpreting the law to apply to 
seizures (or filings) after July 1, 2020. There is an automatic stay to all civil 
forfeiture cases.

• Primarily alters § 19.2-386.1

• Exceptions to the conviction requirement are:
‒ Plea agreements
‒ Agreed order of forfeitures
‒ No written notice of demand received in 

21 days and forfeited civilly
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Forfeiture Action is Stayed
There is an automatic stay of the civil case until the owner or person the asset 
was seized from is found guilty of the offense giving rise to the forfeiture.

• For the Forfeited Asset Sharing Program governed by § 19.2-386.22, the 
offenses are below. The conviction must be one of these code sections:
– § 18.2-248 Manufacturing, selling, giving, distributing, or possessing 

with intent to manufacture, sell, give, or distribute a controlled 
substance or an imitation controlled substance prohibited

– § 18.2-248.1 Penalties for sale, gift, distribution or possession with 
intent to sell, give or distribute marijuana

– § 18.2-474.1 Delivery of drugs, firearms, explosives, etc., to prisoners or 
committed persons

Upon a finding of guilt, the stay is lifted, 
and the civil case is allowed to proceed.
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When Does Civil Trial Proceed?

• A party respondent must appear at the first calling, and 
• The stay is then put into effect (regardless of whether an answer 

is filed), and
• The party respondent comes to all subsequent proceedings, and
• The criminal matter is concluded, and
• The stay is lifted (regardless of whether there is a finding of 

guilt), 
THEN…

34



35



Frequently Asked Questions Answered!

• The criminal and civil trial must be independent of one another.

• If there is no finding of guilt and a written demand for return is received by 
law enforcement, the asset must be released.

• No finding of guilt, but plea agreement or agreed order – can be forfeiture

• No finding of guilt but no written demand to the seizing law enforcement 
agency in 21 days, civil process may proceed after Commonwealth sends 
notice for default

• The LEA or C/A is not required to notify the defendant that a written demand 
is required. They are notified on initial notice and information.
̶ Respondent appears and files answer – normal proceedings continue
̶ Respondent fails to appear and held in default
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More FAQs Answered
• All defendants do not have to be found guilty for assets to be forfeited. 

However, a defendant not found guilty could make a claim to the property 
during the forfeiture action.

• The asset cannot be forfeited under a deferred disposition unless there is a 
plea agreement, agreed order of forfeiture, or a subsequent finding of guilt. 
Asset is held until the end of the deferral period.

• Per §19.2-386.1, the written demand goes to the seizing law enforcement 
agency. Localities should have an internal policy to ensure all personnel are 
aware of this requirement and that any written demand is forwarded to the 
appropriate law enforcement personnel as well as the Commonwealth’s 
Attorney’s Office. Any form of writing must be accepted 
(email, fax, note, etc.)
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FASP Online System

All seizures are submitted electronically. To gain access to the 
online system, a FASP registration form signed by the  agency 
head must be on file at DCJS. 

There are two approval choices granted by an agency head:

1. Program Administrator–the user can enter and edit 998s and/or 999s in 
the system, run reports, and make corrections requested by DCJS staff.

2. Program View–the user can view the 998s and 999s and run reports, but 
cannot enter or make changes.
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Agency personnel registers in the online system at https://fasp.dcjs.virginia.gov/
and an email is sent to FASP staff to approve the registration.

If the agency head has granted approval to personnel to gain access to the online 
system, FASP staff will approve the registration. If not, staff will email a 
Registration Approval Form to be completed and signed. 

Please notify FASP staff when personnel is no longer with agency or leaves asset 
forfeiture.
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Online Submission

https://fasp.dcjs.virginia.gov

• The DCJS Form 998 opens a case by reporting a seizure. 

• The DCJS Form 999 reports disposition on an asset.

• Allows for collection of data on the basis of the seizure and the criminal 
charge information as required by amended Code § 19.2-386.14.

• All users must have their own registration using their own email and 
password. Do not share sign-in information. 
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998 Features
1. The basis of the seizure must be indicated on the 998 per Code § 19.2-386.14. 

The 998 also questions if criminal charges have been brought and if they are 
drug-related.

2. Non drug-related seizures are not to be reported to DCJS on a 998. If forfeited, 
proceeds from these cases are sent to the State Literary Fund.

3. Only assets with an estimated value of $500 or more must be submitted on 
the 998. Assets valued under $500 may be submitted with another asset 
valued at $500 or more.

4. Vehicles should always be reported on the 998. DCJS suggests always 
reporting weapons.

5. Misc. Property valued at $500 or more should be reported. Valuation basis 
must be from a valid source like a professional appraisal, NADA, etc.
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Submitting a 998 to DCJS
• When the 998 is submitted, FASP staff checks that all agencies are included.

• DCJS staff will review and approve or reject the 998.

• If rejected, the reason is emailed to the submitting contact person.

Common errors in submission:

o Commonwealth’s Attorneys are not included in sharing.

o Missing an agency or C/A on a task force. 

o No asset included or description of asset is blank.

o Incorrect jurisdiction applied.
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Form 999 Reports 
Disposition on an Asset

• The DCJS 999 is the closing document. It is completed after the civil 
forfeiture is complete or the case is resolved in another way. For seizures 
after July 1, 2020, the criminal case must be complete before the civil case 
is heard unless it is an agreed order of forfeiture.

• The percentage each agency will receive is on the 999. The total must equal 
100% if there is a disbursement. An agency can receive 0%; DCJS is always 
10%.

• Sharing agreements between law enforcement agencies and the 
Commonwealth’s Attorney’s Office must be honored.  
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999 Features
• All criminal charges related to the case, including non-drug charges, must 

be included on the 999 along with the status of each charge at the time of 
forfeiture per § 19.2-386.14. www.courts.state.va.us

• Defendant and criminal charge information entered on in an online form 
attached to a DCJS case number will update that information on all 998s 
and 999s connected to that case.

• Multiple 999s may be submitted for an asset if entered as in-kind or sale 
pending, or if a new court order has been issued and funds recalled.

• DCJS staff can immediately view the electronic 999 when submitted. At this 
time, a printed form with signatures is still required. Electronic approval by 
agency heads is in the future.
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• Multiple assets may be reported on one 999. However, agencies may 
consider entering separate 998s for items they will be requesting to use 
in-kind as those cases will remain open.

• Assets valued at less than $500 will be the seizing agency’s responsibility. 
 The seizing agency must distribute the funds per the sharing 

agreement or MOU. 
 These amounts are reported by both the seizing agency making the 

disbursement and the receiving agency on the FASP Annual 
Certification Report

 Final dispositions of these assets still must be reported to DCJS if a 
998 was submitted.

• The 999 can be printed or downloaded into various formats.
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999 Submission
Documents to mail to DCJS:

1. Original signed 999: Once the 999 is completed and printed, it must be signed by the 
appropriate personnel. If signing for the chief/sheriff/superintendent, DCJS needs a 
letter on agency letterhead signed by the agency head granting permission.

Signing statement:

I certify the above information is true and accurate, that the property transferred 
will be used for the law enforcement purpose stated, and that all monies received 
pursuant to this request will be deposited and accounted for consistent with 
applicable state laws, regulations, and court orders.

2. A court order of forfeiture from circuit court. If there is more than one owner, there 
must be an order of forfeiture for each one.

3. A check payable to the Treasurer of Virginia for the same amount as the court order 
minus any adjustments. This amount should also match the 999 disbursement 
amount.
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4. Supporting documentation for any expenses or additions (GAL, interest income, 
towing, returned to owner, etc.) and auction documentation for any sales that 
include:

• The date of sale 

• The sale price 

• The expenses for the sale and documentation such as invoices, list of sales on 
company letterhead, etc.

 Proceeds from the sale of an asset >1 year after the forfeiture date or whose 
forfeited funds are under $500 are not disbursed through DCJS. However, a 
signed 999 is still submitted with the bill of sale and a court order to close the 
case. The amounts from these cases are submitted on the FASP Annual 
Report.

5. Sharing agreements if not already on file.
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Disbursements:

1. DCJS will disburse the funds to the Treasurer’s Office of the locality or the 
Finance Division for the Department of Virginia State Police.

2. If the Commonwealth’s Attorney has requested a portion of their proceeds 
(10%) be donated to the Virginia Criminal Justice Foundation, agencies will 
notice these payments on the electronic 999s. 

3. All agencies receiving proceeds will receive an email with distribution 
information for their locality noting the amounts distributed to that 
locality’s Police Department, Sheriff’s Office, and/or Commonwealth’s 
Attorney. Disbursement amounts to other agencies on the 999 may be 
viewed online.

4. Please notify DCJS staff when contacts change.
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Online System Home Page
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Agency Disbursements: 
Report on DCJS disbursements to your agency by date range

County Disbursements: 
Report on DCJS disbursements by payments to your locality by date 
range-includes agency and C/A

Disbursal Amounts: 
Yearly report format of disbursements from DCJS

Case History-Seizing Agency: 
List of all cases where your agency was the seizing agency. Designed to 
download into an Excel spreadsheet.

Online System
Reports
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Case History-Participating Agency: 
List of all cases your agency has participated in. Designed to download 
into an Excel spreadsheet.

Criminal Charge Details:
Report showing all criminal charges and their status for each defendant 
related to assets forfeited within a particular date range. Also used on 
Report to the Governor and General Assembly.

Criminal Charge Summary:
Report showing the number of forfeited assets within a date range that 
had related criminal charges. Also used on Report to the Governor and 
General Assembly.

Pending Asset Report:
Lists all assets seized by an agency with no final disposition or 
used in- kind
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Pending Asset Report

• Requested in February, due April 1

• Lists all assets seized by an agency without a final disposition or used in-kind 

• Can be run anytime by personnel with access to the online system

• Requests updates on vehicles and property-does agency still possess item? 
Is there a forfeiture order? Etc.

• 999s should be completed and returned with report for forfeited assets or 
assets that have a final disposition (sold, destroyed, returned to owner, 
dismissal, etc.)

• Provides accountability for law enforcement agency and to the public
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Online System Search
Allows user to search all 

cases by status, case 
numbers, defendant first 

and last, property. 

FASP staff can search 
statewide.
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Disputed Distributions 
• If there is a dispute between agencies on the distribution of forfeiture 

proceeds, by statute agencies may petition the Criminal Justice Services 
Board for a share of the proceeds. The Forfeited Assets Distribution 
Committee holds a hearing to determine settlement.

• Disputes must be filed at DCJS within twenty-one (21) days of the entry of 
the court’s forfeiture order.

• Only one (1) such case in more than twenty (20) years.

• Participating agencies should try to determine percentages amongst 
themselves.

• See FASP Manual for more information.
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Forfeiture Program Best Practices

1. Keep forfeited funds separate from seized funds.

2. Keep federal and state asset forfeiture funds separated; either in separate 
accounts or coded in separate line items. There must be a clear distinction. 

3. Communicate with the Treasurer/Finance Director and reconcile forfeiture 
account quarterly.

4. Maintain a copy of all disbursements received from other agencies (under 
$500) and sale of assets not reportable to DCJS. Organize this information on 
a spreadsheet and keep updated for use on the Annual Report.

5. Maintain copies of all invoices for purchases paid from the State Asset 
Forfeiture Fund. You must follow your locality’s procurement policy on these 
purchases.
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6. Maintain and update a spreadsheet of criminal charges related to federal 
asset forfeiture throughout the year.

7. Maintain copies of bank statements of forfeiture account (suspension 
and/or forfeited fund) and reconcile monthly.

8. Keep copies of previous Annual Certification reports and supporting 
documentation. (Minimum retention: three (3) years plus current year 
on file.)

9. Implement filing system and record keeping to ensure continuity when 
other coordinators take over.

10. If you have a civilian asset forfeiture coordinator, they may need training 
on criminal charge info, assistance from an officer, or a form submitted 
with criminal charges from the Commonwealth’s Attorney.

www.courts.state.va.us
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10. Follow local policies of your law enforcement agency, the 
Commonwealth’s Attorney’s Office, and the local government. 
How will seizure information be given to the AFC?

What information does the C/A need? When?

Does your treasurer allow for a separate suspension checking account?

Do you have a separate fund set up with the Treasurer for forfeiture 
proceeds?

Who will decide what purchases will be made with forfeiture money 
and who will make the purchases?

What is your locality’s procurement policy? 

Consider a minimum equity guideline

Upon sale of an item purchased with forfeiture funds, the proceeds are to be 
returned to the forfeiture account. They do not go back into the general 
fund. Restitution proceeds will generally go back to the general fund.
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Uses of Forfeiture Proceeds

Must support law enforcement

Supplement not Supplant Budget

• Law-enforcement training

• Equipment and operations

• Drug investigations including “buy” money

• Detention facilities

• Law-enforcement facilities

• Drug education/awareness programs

• Pro rata funding (costs to support multi-agency items)

• Joint law-enforcement and public safety operations
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• Asset accounting and tracking

• Contributions to community-based non-profits whose stated missions are 
supportive of and consistent with a law-enforcement effort, policy, and/or 
initiative

• Law-enforcement travel and per diem payments

• Purchase of food and beverages during training, for officers during 
undercover operations, or while involved in local emergency operations. 
Payments for food during staff meetings, etc. is not allowed.

• Law-enforcement awards and memorials-no cash or gift cards

• Matching grants--Costs for an agency’s matching contribution or share in 
a state or federal grant program for items other than salaries are allowed. 



Salaries (not benefits) in limited circumstances: 

 First year only of new law enforcement officer’s employment that 
supplements the agency

 Overtime
 Non-traditional law enforcement positions in approved specialized 

programs
 Sworn officers hired to replace those assigned to a federal task force (up to 

six months after TF disbands)

Contracts for Services — Payment for a contracted service that supports law 
enforcement is permitted. Examples include: expert witnesses, translation 
and language assistance services, auditor of state asset forfeiture funds, grant 
writer, etc. Payment on these contracts based on a percentage of the 
forfeitures is not allowed. Contracts for law-enforcement functions are not
allowed, such as hiring an investigator, attorney, or other civilian personnel to 
perform tasks typically or previously performed by agency or jurisdiction 
personnel. 
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Impermissible Uses of Forfeiture Proceeds
• Payments for non-law enforcement expenses

• Use of forfeited tangible assets by non-law enforcement personnel 

• Non law-enforcement purposes

• Uses contrary to laws of the state or local jurisdiction

• Non official government use of assets or proceeds (political or personal 
purposes)

• Creation of endowments or scholarships

• Costs related to lawsuits

These lists are not all inclusive. It is the agency/task force’s responsibility to 
spend these funds appropriately!! Consult the FASP Manual for further 
information or contact DCJS with questions.
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FASP Annual Reports and asset seizure information, including a 
locality’s expenditures, are subject to FOIA. 
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Examples of Impermissible Uses

• Commonwealth’s Attorney uses proceeds to purchase water bottles with a 
wrap advertising re-election points.

• Sheriff uses asset forfeiture funds to pay for a teacher appreciation luncheon 
for all teachers at Anytown Elementary School. 

• Police department donates $2500 to sponsor a table at a luncheon honoring 
women leaders in their community.
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Important to Remember
• Don’t budget for forfeiture proceeds or spend them before received.  

• You cannot be certain when a forfeiture will be complete. With new criminal 
conviction requirement, forfeitures will take longer.

• The amount received is not determined until the forfeiture is complete. Some 
proceeds may be returned to owner or another individual, paid to a guardian 
ad litem, or used for expenses.

• Net proceeds are not determined until sale of forfeited asset and payment of 
expenses.
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Annual Certification Reports 
1. An annual report is required from all participating agencies to remain in 

the program whether or not the agency received disbursements in that 
year. The Annual Report is due on September 30th.

2. DCJS’ Report to the Governor is due December 31. Agencies not in 
compliance will be indicated on the report. This report contains:
‒ The amount DCJS distributed to your agency during the fiscal year.
‒ The total of funds sent by your agency to the State Literary Fund and the 

total of federal funds your agency received from the Federal Equitable 
Sharing program (agency reports these amounts).

‒ Criminal charge information related to asset forfeitures for each agency 
by summary and detail.

‒ Federal criminal charge information for forfeitures submitted by each 
agency on a spreadsheet with details. Keep a spreadsheet throughout 
the year.
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3. The certification report is a key audit component. DCJS may request 
additional documentation or ask for items to be removed from 
expenses.

4. Keep all records of the use and handling of the proceeds, property, 
income, or interest. This includes invoices, contracts and procurement 
information for three prior fiscal years plus the current year.

5. Include funds received from cases under $500 and property sold more 
than a year after the forfeiture date. This is entered as a total, but an 
itemized list must be attached.

6. Proceeds, income, or interest shall be used for law enforcement 
purposes only.

7. Task forces must submit an annual report if they have an asset 
forfeiture checking account.
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8. The report must be signed by the Chief/Sheriff, County Administrator/City 
Manager, and Treasurer. An additional signature line is available for the 
Finance Director or other official involved. 
• Electronic signatures and emailed reports are accepted. 
• Signature indicates agreement to sharing statement:

“The undersigned certifies that the information on this report is an 
accurate account of funds received and spent by the law enforcement 
agency during this reporting period. The undersigned certifies that all 
monies received have been deposited and accounted for consistent 
with applicable state laws, FASP regulations, and court orders, and 
that all property transferred and all proceeds have been used to 
promote law enforcement and have not supplanted existing funds.”

9. The annual report form may be downloaded at 
https://www.dcjs.virginia.gov/forfeited-asset-sharing-program/forms.  
Electronic submission of the report may be available in the future.
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Annual Certification Report 
and Sharing Agreement
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Certification
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Legislation
• Asset Forfeiture is scrutinized by many outside agencies and subject to FOIA.

• Recent bills proposed by the General Assembly:

“Preponderance of the evidence” changed to “clear and convincing 
evidence”– enacted into law

Funding opioid treatment centers with a percentage of forfeiture monies

Requiring a criminal finding of guilt for a forfeiture – enacted into law

Requiring criminal charge and status information – enacted into law

Requiring state asset forfeiture for seized assets under $100,000 –
no federal option
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FASP System 
Additional Information

An online system user guide, training documents 
and Forfeited Asset Sharing Program Manual 

are available online at: 

https://www.dcjs.virginia.gov/forfeited-asset-sharing-program.

In person and online training is periodically offered.

80



Resources
DCJS Forfeited Sharing Program Manual –

www.dcjs.virginia.gov/sites/dcjs.virginia.gov/files/publications/dcjs/forfeited
-asset-sharing-program-manual.pdf

Federal Guide to Equitable Sharing July, 2018 –

https://www.justice.gov/criminal-afmls/file/794696/download

Virginia Dept. of the Treasury, Unclaimed Property Division –

https://www.vamoneysearch.org/Report/Forms

State Literary Fund – Tracey Edwards, Trust Accounting Manager

www.trs.virginia.gov/contact.aspx
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FASP Contacts
Beth Dandridge

FASP Coordinator

Mon, Tues, Wed, Fri, 6:30 AM to 4 PM

Thursday 6:30 to 10:30 AM

elizabeth.dandridge@dcjs.virginia.gov

(804) 371-0538

Bobbie Morris

FASP Specialist

Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, 7:15 AM to 3:15 PM

bobbie.morris@dcjs.virginia.gov

(804) 786-4249
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