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Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services 
Forfeited Asset Sharing Program 
1100 Bank Street, 12th Floor 
Richmond, VA 23219

804-371-0538  •  FAX: 804-786-0053
DCJS-998 Form

Within 21 days of seizure, the seizing agency must file a DCJS Form 998, the Asset Seizure Reporting Form. This form is very important because it lets DCJS know that certain property has been seized. The Form 998 should be completed as follows:

DCJS Seizure No.: This number is assigned when DCJS receives the 998 Form. This number is very important to DCJS and upon receipt of the 998 Form, DCJS will send an acknowledgement letter to the law enforcement agency informing them of the DCJS seizure number. This number is used in all correspondence from DCJS.
1. Seizing Agency and 2.) E-Mail Address: List the full name of the law enforcement agency that seized the property. If the seizure is a task force seizure, list the agency participating in the task force that is responsible for filing the appropriate paperwork. Do not list all the names of task force members in this block.
3. Joint Seizure Participating Agencies: List the names of all agencies who will 
a. be involved in the sharing of the forfeited assets. The members of task force operations should be listed here.
4. Seizing Agency Case No.: List the law enforcement agency’s case number. This tracks the seizure within the law enforcement agency and serves as a cross-reference for verification at DCJS.
5. Date of Seizure: List the date the property was seized. Remember that all seizures must be reported to DCJS within 21 days of the seizure.
6. Seizure Location: List the location where the property was seized. This could 
a. be a street address, an intersection, or other locale.

7. Legal Grounds for Seizure: This is already filled in with § 19.2-386.22. This 

a. code site gives law enforcement agencies the authority to seize any property that has a substantial connection to the manufacture, sale or distribution of an illegal narcotic. Only items seized under § 19.2-386.22 should be reported to DCJS.

8. Detailed Description of Property: List, in detail, all items that have been
a. seized. Supplemental sheets, on agency letterhead, may be necessary. 
b. Identification numbers and serial numbers must be listed if available.

9. Seized from: List the names and addresses of the individuals from whom the 


a. property was seized.

10. Lien/Mortgage holder(s): List any known lien and/or mortgage holders that have an interest in the seized property.
11. Property stored at: List the storage location(s) of the seized property. This is important because property may need to be stored at various locations and it helps the law enforcement agency keep track of any costs incurred for the seizure and forfeiture action. Common entries here would be the police property/evidence room or a private storage lot.
12. Contact Officer: List the name, title and phone number of the law enforcement agency’s contact officer. The officer must then sign the form. This information is important because it give DCJS a person to contact if there is a question about the property or the 998 Form.
13. Chief/Sheriff/Superintendent: List the name, title and phone number of the Chief/ Sheriff/Superintendent of the law enforcement agency. He or she must also sign the 998 Form.
The bottom of the 998 Form lists how the Form is to be distributed. The original should be forwarded to:

Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services

Forfeited Asset Sharing Program

1100 Bank Street, 12th Floor

Richmond, VA 23219
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