

Instructor Re-Certification Application

In order to conform to Virginia State Regulation 6 VAC 20-240-80, renewal instructor applications shall be received by the Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS) at least 30 days before expiration. It is the responsibility of the instructor to ensure renewal requirements are filed with the DCJS.

Each person applying for renewal instructor approval shall meet the minimum requirements for eligibility as follows:

- 1. successfully complete the eight-hour instructor in-service training as required by the department within the12 months immediately preceding the expiration date of the current approval;
- 2. be in good standing in the school division or with DCJS.
 - DCJS may renew instructor approval for a period not to exceed 24 months.
 - DCJS may renew instructor approval when the department receives a properly completed renewal application provided by DCJS.
 - Any renewal instructor application received by DCJS shall meet all renewal.

SSO Name (First, MI, Last):	
SSO Email Address:	
SSO Driver's License No. :	
School Division:	Assigned School:
Date of Certification Expiration:	

The School Security Officer indicated above has completed 8 hours of campus security related training, including legal update, within the 2-year period following date of certification/re-certification. Course content of said training has met with the approval of the Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services. **Copies of the necessary PIC forms/documentation to show proof of participation are attached.** By submission of this documentation, I, the designated School Security Officer contact person, do hereby certify that all entries are true and complete. I understand that all information on this application is subject to verification.

Regulation 6 VAC 20-270 requires School Security Officers to receive a legal update as part of the training requirement toward re-certification.

(Please initial)	Yes, the officer has received a campus safety/security legal update
	as indicated on the attached credit assignment documentation.

SSO Point of Contact Name:	
SSO Point of Contact Driver's License No.:	State of License:

SSO Point of Contact Driver's License No.: ____

Date: _____

Please submit the completed form with documentation to DCJS

Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services, Division of Law Enforcement, 1100 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219 Fax: 804-786-0410 or Email: <u>schoolsecurity@dcjs.virginia.gov</u>