

COMMONWEALTH of VIRGINIA

Department of Criminal Justice Services

Shannon Dion Director

Megan Peterson Chief Deputy Director Washington Building 1100 Bank Street Richmond, Virginia 23219 (804) 786-4000 www.dcjs.virginia.gov

# Criminal Justice Services Board (CJSB) Executive Committee

August 27, 2020 at 11:00 a.m.

NOTE: This meeting was held by electronic means, via ZOOM meeting software, in response to the Governor's Declaration of a State of Emergency due to Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19)

Members Present

*Members Absent* The Hon. Bryan Porter, Vice-Chair

Chief James Williams, Chair Chief Craig Branch Sheriff Vanessa Crawford Mr. David Johnson Jagdish Katyal Colonel Gary Settle Chief Kelvin Wright

## I. Call to Order

Chairman James Williams called the meeting of the Executive Committee of the Criminal Justice Services Board to order at 11:00 a.m. A quorum was present.

## **II. Grant Funding Approval**

Mr. Albert Stokes, Grants Manager of DCJS, gave an overview of the Coronavirus Emergency Supplemental Funding grants to be voted on at this meeting. Mr. Thomas Fitzpatrick, Division Director of Programs and Services of DCJS gave an overview of the RSAT and Drive to Work grants also being considered.

Chief Craig Branch made a motion, seconded by Chief Kelvin Wright, to approve 172 awards totaling \$6,054,850 for the Coronavirus Emergency Supplemental Funding (CESF), two awards totaling \$353,144 for the Residential Substance Abuse Treatment (RSAT) funding, and one award totaling \$75,000 for the Drive to Work Program funding. The motion passed.

## **RECUSALS:**

#### Chairman Williams:

CESF grants for Central Shenandoah Criminal Justice Academy, Middle River Regional Jail, and the City of Staunton.

## Chief Branch:

CESF grants for Caroline County, Culpeper County, Town of Culpeper, Department of State Police, Empowerhouse, City of Fredericksburg, Germanna Community College, J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College, Mountain Empire Community College, Orange County, Rappahannock Regional Jail Juvenile Center Commission, and Thomas Nelson Community College.

## Sheriff Vanessa Crawford:

CESF grants for Crater Criminal Justice Academy, the City of Petersburg, and Riverside Regional Jail, and the Drive to Work grant.

## **Colonel Gary Settle:**

CESF grants for the Department of State Police.

## Chief Wright:

CESF grants for Central Shenandoah Criminal Justice Academy, Middle River Regional Jail, and the City of Staunton.

## **III.**Nominations and Appointments Committee Meeting Update

Ms. Pat Davis gave the update for Mr. Macon who was unable to attend the meeting.

On August 25, 2020, the Nominations and Appointments Subcommittee of the CJSB met to consider candidates regarding vacancies on the Private Security Services Advisory Board (PSSAB). There are **five vacant seats** for consideration (those names that are bolded are being recommended by the Nominations and Appointments Committee).

- 1 Armored Car Personnel Representative We did not receive any candidates for this vacant seat
- 1 Electronic Security Business Representative Jonathan Frye and Frank Kollmansperger are seeking appointment
- 1 Locksmith Business Representative Christopher Mortensen submitted a request for re-appointment
- 1 Personal Protection Specialist Representative Michael Niner is seeking reappointment
- 1 Special Conservator of the Peace Representative Merrill Craig and Ronald Smith are seeking appointment, Charles Law seeking reappointment

Mr. David Johnson made a motion that the Board vote to approve the recommendations of the Nominations and Appointments subcommittee regarding appointments and term limits to the PSSAB. The motion was seconded by Colonel Settle and unanimously approved.

#### **IV. Public Comment**

There was no public comment.

# V. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 11:22 a.m.