# Criminal Justice Services Board Grant Committee June 1, 2015

# ATTENDANCE

### **Board Members**

Chief Jeffrey Brown Sheriff Vanessa Crawford The Honorable Michael Doucette Mr. David Johnson Mr. Edward Macon The Honorable Michelle Mosby Colonel Bobby Russell Ms. Cookie Scott Ms. Debbie Smith Mr. Richard Vorhis Chief James Williams Lt. Scott Williams

# Department of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS) Staff

Janice Waddy Butch Johnston Laurel Marks Ed Holmes Kassandra Bullock Albert Stokes Bill Dodd Heather Smolka Stephanie Arnold Rebecca McNees Julia Fuller-Wilson Shelia Anderson Bruce Cruser Paula Harpster Ken Rose Kristina Vadas

# INTRODUCTION

Fran Ecker, Director of DCJS thanked everyone for their attendance and appreciated them attending. Ms. Ecker stated that this consolidated committee meeting would reduce the number of smaller grant committee meetings attended in a year. Ms. Ecker stated that several DCJS staff were in attendance to give guidance and technical support to members.

John Colligan then welcomed everyone, thanked them for their attendance and asked that everyone introduce themselves. Mr. Colligan also stated that minutes would be taken of the meeting. Mr. Colligan suggested that the first order of business be the election of a chair for the committee. He asked for a volunteer from the committee. Lt. Scott Williams was nominated for Committee Chairman, which was unanimously approved by the committee. Lt Williams accepted the position. A suggestion was then made to have a Vice-Chair for the committee. Ms. Cookie Scott was nominated to be Vice-Chair of the committee, which was unanimously approved by the committee. Ms. Scott accepted the position.

# DCJS GRANT OVERVIEW

Mr. Colligan gave a brief overview of the Agency Grant process, stating also that the agency goal is to make the process more standardized across all of the programs.

### **REVIEW & RECOMMENDATION OF GRANTS**

 Byrne/Justice Assistance Grant (Byrne/JAG) – 38 Grants were presented by several DCJS staff members and approved unanimously by the committee as recommended in the amount of \$2,724,082.

### Recusals:

Lt. Scott Williams – City of Newport News Chief James Williams – City of Staunton

• **Community Corrections and Pre-Trial Programs (CCCA/PTS)** – 37 Community Corrections Grants and 2 Pre-trial grants were presented by several DCJS staff members and approved unanimously by the committee as recommended. CCCA grants recommended amounted to \$23,818,898 and the PTS grants amounted to \$900,000.

#### **Recusals:**

Sheriff Vanessa Crawford – City of Petersburg Honorable Michael Doucette – City of Lynchburg Honorable Michelle Mosby – City of Richmond Chief James Williams – City of Staunton Mr. Richard Vorhis – Office of the Attorney General

 Pre and Post Incarceration Services Programs Continuation Grants (PAPIS) – 9 Grants were presented by DCJS staff member Rebecca McNees and approved unanimously by the committee as recommended in the amount of \$2,247,546.

#### Recusals

Honorable Michelle Mosby – City of Richmond Colonel Bobby Russell – Regional Jails

 School Resource Officer/School Security Officers (SRO/SSO) – 52 Grants were presented by DCJS staff member Janice Waddy and approved unanimously by the committee as recommended in the amount of \$2,613,986.

#### Recusals:

Honorable Michael Doucette – City of Lynchburg

 Sexual Assault Grant Program (SAGP) – 36 Grants were presented by DCJS staff member Kristina Vadas and approved unanimously by the committee as recommended in the amount of \$3,396,222.

#### Recusals

Sheriff Vanessa Crawford – Programs in the City of Petersburg Honorable Michael Doucette – Programs in the City of Lynchburg Lt. Scott Williams – Programs in the City of Newport News  Domestic Violence Victims Program Continuation (VDVVF) – 65 Grants were presented by DCJS staff member Julia Fuller-Wilson and approved unanimously by the committee as recommended in the amount of \$2,628,991.

# Recusals

Sheriff Vanessa Crawford – Programs in the City of Petersburg Honorable Michael Doucette – City of Lynchburg Chief James Williams – Programs in the City of Staunton Lt. Scott Williams – City of Newport News

• **VAWA** – 1 Grant was presented by DCJS staff and approved unanimously by the committee as recommended in the amount of \$17,110.

# Recusal

Honorable Michael Doucette - City of Lynchburg

- Court Appointed Special Advocate (CASA) DCJS staff member Laurel Marks presented an overview of the CASA program. In the past, these grants have not been presented to the CJSB for approval since the allocations are formula driven. However, going forward these grants will go before the CJSB.
- Internet Crimes Against Children (ICAC) The ICAC program was discussed by DCJS staff members Laurel Marks and Mary Wilson. \$1.2 million each in state special funds is allocated for the SOVA ICAC task force operated by the Bedford County Sheriff's Office and the NOVA ICAC task force operated by the Virginia State Police. SOVA ICAC receives the funds as a pass through from DCJS. NOVA ICAC receives a direct state allocation. Also, an additional \$950,000 in ICAC grant funding administered by DCJS is split between the two ICAC task forces to be used to bring ICAC resources and support to un-served and underserved localities across the state. There are no match funds required. Since these are not competitive grants no formal vote of the Committee was required. However, the agency wants to keep the Committee informed about the programs DCJS administers.
- After all the grants were presented the committee decided that Lt. Williams, in his role as Chair of the committee, would make the committee's presentation to the full CJSB on June 11, 2015.

# ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made to adjourn at approximately 12:00pm and was agreed to unanimously.

Respectfully submitted Loretta R. Lynch