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COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA

Department of Criminal Justice Services

P.O. Box 1300  •  Richmond, VA  23218
Phone: (804) 786-4700 •  Fax: (804) 786-6344  www.dcjs.virginia.gov/pss


	INITIAL INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION APPLICATION – $50.00 plus $10.00 per category

	IMPORTANT INFORMATION
· A Fingerprint Application, Fingerprint Card, and $50.00 non-refundable fee is required for registration pursuant to 
§ 9.1-145.A of the Code of Virginia. Please ensure that an Instructor Application is submitted within 120 days of submitting the fingerprint application. Note: a criminal history records check may take up to 45 days to process.

· A DCJS instructor development course training must be completed within the 3 years prior to your application for certification, or submit a partial training exemption application for an instructor development course that meets or exceeds standards established by the DCJS. For additional information, please go online at www.dcjs.virginia/pss. 

· Third Party Documentation verifying the types and dates or experience must be attached to this application. To be eligible the experience must be either:
Three (3) years managerial/supervisory experience in a private security services business, a federal, 
military police, state, or local law enforcement agency or in related field

                                                           OR

Five (5) years general experience in private security or a related field

                                                           OR

One (1) year experience as an instructor or teacher at an accredited educational institution or agency in the subject matter for which certification is requested or in a related field

                                           AND

Have a minimum of2 years previous work experience for those subjects in which certification is requested.

· If requesting to become a certified firearms instructor, a range qualification completed with a Virginia Criminal Justice Agency, Academy, Correctional Department or Certified Private Security School is required. The qualification must be with a semi-automatic handgun, revolver, AND shotgun at 85% or better. 
If requesting to provide patrol rifle training, a range qualification completed with a Virginia Criminal Justice Agency, Academy, Correctional Department or Certified Private Security School is required. The qualification must be at 85% or better.
· The initial instructor certification fee includes one category of training. A separate fee of $10.00 will be charged for each additional category of training as identified in 6VAC20-171-100. B. 4. of the Regulations Relating to Private Security Services.

	

	Applicant Information

	SSN or DCJS ID Number:
     
	Last Name:

     
	First Name:

     
	MI: 

 

	Mailing Address (Street/Apt.#): 

     

	City, State, Zip:

     

	Email Address:      
	Fax: (   )          

	Home Phone: (   )          
	Business Phone: (   )          
	Cell: (   )          

	

	Employment Information

	School Name:
      
	DCJS School ID Number: 
     


	

	Training Information 

	Has a Partial Training Exemption Application been submitted?   FORMCHECKBOX 
 Yes        FORMCHECKBOX 
 No

	Has a General Instructor Entry-Level Training Enrollment application been submitted?   FORMCHECKBOX 
 Yes        FORMCHECKBOX 
 No

	

	Instruction Category(s) Requested  (check each that apply)

	 FORMCHECKBOX 
   Security Officers/Couriers/Alarm respondent (armed and unarmed) to include Arrest Authority.  (01, 05)

 FORMCHECKBOX 
   Private Investigators.  (02)

 FORMCHECKBOX 
   Locksmiths, Electronic Security Personnel to include Central Station Dispatchers.  (25, 30, 35, 38, 39)

 FORMCHECKBOX 
   Armored car Personnel.  (03)

 FORMCHECKBOX 
   Personal Protection Specialist.   (32)

 FORMCHECKBOX 
   Detector Canine Handlers (4ED), Security Canine Handlers.  (4ES)

 FORMCHECKBOX 
   Special Conservators of the Peace pursuant to § 9.1-150 of the Code of Virginia.  (06)

 FORMCHECKBOX 
   Bail Bondsmen pursuant to § 9.1-185 of the Code of Virginia.  Bail Enforcement Agents pursuant to § 9.1-186 of the         Code of Virginia.   (40, 44)

 FORMCHECKBOX 
   Firearms.  (Check all that apply)

                         FORMCHECKBOX 
Entry Level Handgun (07)  

                         FORMCHECKBOX 
Security Officer Handgun (75)

                         FORMCHECKBOX 
Shotgun (08)

                         FORMCHECKBOX 
Advanced Handgun  (09)

                         FORMCHECKBOX 
Patrol Rifle (10) 


	

	Affirmation

	I, the undersigned, certify that all information contained on this application is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and I have not omitted any pertinent information. I understand that any misrepresentation, falsification or omission of pertinent information may be cause for denial and may result in criminal charges. I understand that I am responsible for maintaining full compliance with Virginia Code Sections 9.1-138 through 9.1-150 and the Regulations Relating to Private Security Services 6 VAC 20-171. 
Signature Required:                                                                                                      Date:
                                                                                                                                                       mm/dd/yy


Applications are valid for 12 months from the date of submittal.

All fees are non-refundable. Applications received without payment will be returned.
Submit a check or money order payable to the TREASURER OF VIRGINIA, 
or pay by credit card using the Credit Card form available at www.dcjs.virginia.gov/forms/privatesecurity/pss_cc.pdf 
— this form must be included with your application package when paying by credit card.



Status Hotline


(804) 786-1132


1-877-9STATUS








09/2013                                                                                                                                                                                        Page 2 of 2
                                                                                

