

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA Department of Criminal Justice Services PO Box 1300 • Richmond, VA 23218 Phone: (804) 786-4700 • Fax: (804) 786-6344 www.dcjs.virginia.gov

# **INITIAL INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION APPLICATION – \$50.00 plus \$10.00 per category**

## **IMPORTANT INFORMATION**

- This certification application includes one category of service. A \$10.00 non-refundable category fee is required for each additional category of training selected.
- Submit a Criminal History Processing Form with the \$25.00 processing fee and schedule an appointment to have your fingerprints scanned. To schedule an appointment follow the instructions on the Criminal History Processing Form.
- A DCJS instructor development course training must be completed within the three (3) years prior to your application for certification, or submit a partial training exemption application for an instructor development course that meets or exceeds standards established by the DCJS. For additional information, please go online at www.dcjs.virginia.gov.
- Third Party Documentation verifying the types and dates or experience must be attached to this application. To be eligible the experience must be either:
  - Three (3) years managerial/supervisory experience in a private security services business, a federal, military 0 police, state, or local law enforcement agency or in related field

OR

Five (5) years general experience in private security or a related field 0

### OR

One (1) year experience as an instructor or teacher at an accredited educational institution or agency in the 0 subject matter for which certification is requested or in a related field

#### AND

- Have a minimum of two (2) year's previous work experience for those subjects in which certification is requested. 0
- If requesting to become a certified firearms instructor, a range gualification completed with a Virginia Criminal Justice Agency, Academy, Correctional Department, or Certified Private Security School is required. The gualification must be with a semi-automatic handgun, revolver, AND shotgun at 85% or better. If requesting to also provide patrol rifle training, the same criteria must be met and supplied.

Applicant information						
SSN or DCJS ID Number: Last Name:			First N	First Name:		
Mailing Address (Street/Apt.#):			City, S	City, State, Zip:		
Email Address:			Fax: (	Fax: ( )		
Home Phone: ( )		Business Phone: ( )		Cell: ( )		
Employment Information						
School Name:				DCJS School ID Number:		
Training Information						
Has a Partial Training Exemption Application been submitted?						
Has a General Instructor Entry-Level Training Enrollment application been submitted?						

Inst	Instruction Category(s) Requested (check each that apply)				
	Security Officers/Couriers/Alarm respondent (armed and unarmed) to include Arrest Authority. (01, 05)				
	Private Investigators. (02)				
	Locksmiths, Electronic Security Personnel to include Central Station Dispatchers. (25, 30, 35, 38, 39)				
	Armored car Personnel. (03)				
	Personal Protection Specialist. (32)				
	Detector Canine Handlers (4ED), Security Canine Handlers. (4ES)				
	Special Conservators of the Peace pursuant to § 9.1-150 of the Code of Virginia. (06)				
	Bail Bondsmen pursuant to § 9.1-185 of the <i>Code of Virginia</i> . Bail Enforcement Agents pursuant to § 9.1-186 of the <i>Code of Virginia.</i> (40, 44)				
	Firearms. (Check all that apply) Entry Level Handgun (07) Security Officer Handgun (75) Shotgun (08) Advanced Handgun (09) Patrol Rifle (10)				
Affirmation					
I, the undersigned, certify that all information contained on this application is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and I have not omitted any pertinent information. I understand that any misrepresentation, falsification or omission of pertinent information may be cause for denial and may result in criminal charges. I understand that I am responsible for maintaining full compliance with the <i>Code of Virginia</i> and Regulations relating to Private Security Services.					
Signature Required: Date:   mm/dd/yy					

# All fees are non-refundable. Forms received without payment will be returned.

Submit a check or money order payable to the TREASURER OF VIRGINIA, **or** pay by credit card using the Credit Card Authorization form available on our website. This form must be included with your form package when paying by credit card. **We do not accept cash.**