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COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA                                                
Department of Criminal Justice Services 
PO Box 1300  •  Richmond, VA  23218  
Phone: (804) 786-4700 •  Fax: (804) 786-6344 
www.dcjs.virginia.gov 

 

Private Security Services –  
RENEWAL BUSINESS LICENSE APPLICATION 2-YEAR LICENSE – FEE $500.00 

 

IMPORTANT INFORMATION 
 

 This license application includes one category of service. A $50.00 non-refundable category fee is required for each 
additional license category selected. 
 

 All new Principals of the business must submit a Criminal History Processing Form with the $25.00 processing fee 
and schedule an appointment to have their fingerprints scanned. To schedule an appointment follow the instructions 
on the Criminal History Processing Form.  
 

 Proof of liability: A Surety Bond or Certificate of General Liability Insurance (minimum $1,000,000). Please ensure 
the Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS) is listed as a certificate holder. 

 

 Businesses located outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia must complete an Irrevocable Consent for Service form 
and list a physical address in Virginia where records will be maintained. 

 

 Electronic Security Service Businesses must also submit an Electronic Security Personnel or Supervisor Application 
for any Electronic Security Employee or Supervisor as defined in §9.1-138.  

 

 If the current license is expired, you have 60 days from the date expiration to submit a non-refundable reinstatement 
fee of $250 and meet all of the renewal requirements. If 60 days has passed, you are no longer eligible to renew and 
you must meet all of the initial business licensing requirements.  

 

 Applicant Information 
DCJS ID Number: 
11-       

Business Name: 
      

DBA/Trade As Name: 
      
Mailing Address (Street/Apt.#):  
      

City, State, Zip: 
      

Physical Address (if different than mailing address): 
      

City, State, Zip: 
      

Physical Address in Virginia where records are maintained: 
      

City, State, Zip: 
      

Email Address:      Contact Name:       

Business Phone: (   )              Fax: (   )              
 

License Category(s) Requested (check each that apply) 

 Private Investigator                              
 Personal Protection Specialist   
  Security Officers / Couriers 

  Locksmith 
  Electronic Security Services 
 Armored Car Personnel 

 
 Canine Handler Services:      

          Security Canine 
         Detector Canine 

 
 

Type of Ownership (check one) 
 Sole Proprietorship 
 General Partnership 

 

  Corporation* 
  Limited Partnership* 

  Limited  Liability Company* 
 Other       

* Virginia State Corporation Commission Number:                                                       (if applicable) 
Business/trade name must be registered with the Virginia State Corporation Commission (SCC). 
 

 

Want to EXPEDITE your application? 
— SUBMIT ONLINE — 

Online Regulatory Licensing System 
www.dcjs.virginia.gov/online 

https://www.dcjs.virginia.gov/
https://www.dcjs.virginia.gov/online
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Criminal History 
Have you or any owner, officer, director, or employee been convicted or found guilty of a felony or misdemeanor (not 
including minor traffic violations) in Virginia or any other jurisdiction to include military court martial or currently under 
protective orders within the past two years?         Yes *            No 

*If YES, please attach a Private Security Criminal History Supplement form available online at www.dcjs.virginia.gov 
and all requested criminal history documentation. 

 

List all Principals (Owners / Officers / Directors)   attach additional sheet if needed 

Name:       SSN or DCJS ID Number:       

Name:       SSN or DCJS ID Number:       

Name:       SSN or DCJS ID Number:       

Name:       SSN or DCJS ID Number:       
 

Primary Compliance Agent  

Name:       SSN or DCJS ID Number:       

 
Compliance Agent Signature: 

 
Date:       

 

Additional Compliance Agents 

Name:       SSN or DCJS ID Number:       

Name:       SSN or DCJS ID Number:       

Name:       SSN or DCJS ID Number:       
 

Affirmation 

I, the undersigned, certify that all information contained on this application is true and correct to the best of my knowledge 
and I have not omitted any pertinent information. I understand that any misrepresentation, falsification or omission of 
pertinent information may be cause for denial and may result in criminal charges. I understand that I am responsible for 
maintaining full compliance with the Code of Virginia and Regulations relating to Private Security Services. 
 
Signature Required:                                                                                                       Date:                                           c       
                          President/Principal Owner/Compliance Agent                                                          mm/dd/yy 
 
Printed Name:                                                                                                                                                                    
c  

 
All fees are non-refundable. Forms received without payment will be returned. 

 

Submit a check or money order payable to the TREASURER OF VIRGINIA, or pay by credit card using the Credit Card 
Authorization form available on our website. This form must be included with your form package when paying by credit card. 

We do not accept cash. 
 

 

https://www.dcjs.virginia.gov/
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