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COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA                                                
Department of Criminal Justice Services 
PO Box 1300  •  Richmond, VA  23218  
Phone: (804) 786-4700 •  Fax: (804) 786-6344 
www.dcjs.virginia.gov 

 

RENEWAL TRAINING SCHOOL CERTIFICATION – 2 Years 
FEE $500.00 plus $50.00 per category 

IMPORTANT INFORMATION 
 This license application includes one category of service. A $50.00 non-refundable category fee is required for each 

additional category of training selected. 
 

 All new Principles of the school must submit a Criminal History Processing Form with the $25.00 processing fee and 
schedule an appointment to have their fingerprints scanned. To schedule an appointment follow the instructions on 
the Criminal History Processing Form. 
 
 
 
 

 For new categories of training, enclose the following documents with application: (1) Curriculum outlines for each 
category selected, (2) Copy of school regulations, (3) Copy of training certificates issued to students, (4) Copy of 
range safety rules (if applicable). 

 Attach proof of liability, either $100,000 Surety Bond or General Liability $100,000/$300,000 Certificate of Insurance. 
 If the current certification is expired, you may reinstate your certification providing all renewal requirements are met; 

and an additional, non-refundable reinstatement fee of $250.00 is submitted to the department within 60 days 
following the expiration date of your certification. If 60 days has elapsed, this application cannot be processed and all 
initial certification requirements will need to be met. For additional information, please access the DCJS website. 

 

Applicant Information 
DCJS School ID Number: 
88-       

School Name: 
      

Trading As: 
      

Mailing Address (Street/Apt.#):  
      
 

City, State, Zip: 
      
 

Physical Address (if different that mailing address):  
      

City, State, Zip: 
      

Physical Address Where Records are Maintained:  
      

City, State, Zip: 
      

Range for Firearms Training:       Phone: (     )           

Email Address:      Contact Name:       

Business Phone: (     )               Fax: (     )              
 

Type of Ownership (check one) 

 Sole Proprietorship  
 General Partnership 
 Other                                                

 Corporation*      
 Limited Liability Company*                      
 Limited Partnership* 

* Virginia State Corporation Commission Number:                               
Business/trade name must be registered with the Virginia State Corporation Commission (SCC).  

 

 

Criminal History 

Have you, your Principles or our instructors been convicted or found guilty of a felony or misdemeanor (not including 
minor traffic violations) in Virginia or any other jurisdiction to include military court martial or currently under protective 
orders within the past two years 

 Yes *                                   No 
* If Yes, please attach a Private Security Criminal History Supplement Form and all requested criminal history documentation for each 
individual. 

 

Want to EXPEDITE your application? 
— SUBMIT ONLINE — 

Online Regulatory Licensing System 
www.dcjs.virginia.gov/online 

https://www.dcjs.virginia.gov/
https://www.dcjs.virginia.gov/online


05/2018                                                                                                                                                                                       Page 2 of 2                          

 

List all NEW Principals (Owners/Officers/Directors)  
Name:       SSN or DCJS ID Number: 99-      

Name:       SSN or DCJS ID Number: 99-      
 

NEW Training Administration  
Training Director:       SSN or DCJS ID Number:       

Signature Required: Date:       

 Assistant Director:       SSN or DCJS ID Number:       

Signature Required: Date:       
 

List all NEW Instructors eligible to instruct for Training School not listed as Director or Asst. 
Instructor:       SSN or DCJS ID Number:       

Instructor:       SSN or DCJS ID Number:       
 

Category of training to be provided (check all that apply)  
Includes Entry-Level Training, In-Service Training and Firearms Re-Training 
 

   Security Officers/Couriers/Alarm Respondent (armed and unarmed) to include Arrest Authority.  (01, 05) 
 

   Private Investigators.  (02) 
 

   Locksmiths, Electronic Security Personnel to include Central Station Dispatchers.  (25, 30, 35, 38, 39) 
 

   Armored Car Personnel.  (03) 
 

   Personal Protection Specialist.   (32) 
 

   Detector Canine Handlers (4ED), Security Canine Handlers.  (4ES) 
 

   Special Conservators of the Peace pursuant to § 9.1-150 of the Code of Virginia.  (06) 
 

   Bail Bondsmen and Bail Enforcement Agents.   (40, 44) 
 

   Firearms.  (Check all that apply) 
             Entry Level Handgun (07)   
             Security Officer Handgun (75) 
             Shotgun (08) 
             Advanced Handgun  (09) 
             Patrol Rifle (10)  
 
 

Affirmation 
 
I, the undersigned, certify that all information contained on this application is true and correct to the best of my knowledge 
and I have not omitted any pertinent information. I understand that any misrepresentation, falsification or omission of 
pertinent information may be cause for denial and may result in criminal charges. I understand that I am responsible for 
maintaining full compliance with the Code of Virginia and Regulations relating to Private Security Services. 
 
Signature Required:                                                                                                       Date:                                           c       
                                         President/Principal Owner                                                                             mm/dd/yy 
 
Printed Name:                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 

 
All fees are non-refundable. Forms received without payment will be returned. 

 

Submit a check or money order payable to the TREASURER OF VIRGINIA, or pay by credit card using the Credit Card 
Authorization form available on our website. This form must be included with your form package when paying by credit card. 

We do not accept cash 
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