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COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA

Department of Criminal Justice Services

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 1300, Richmond, VA 23218

Physical Address: 1100 Bank Street, 9th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219

Phone: (804) 786-4700  •  Fax: (804) 786-6344    www.dcjs.virginia.gov



	Special Conservator of the Peace – REGISTRATION APPLICATION – FEE $60.00

	IMPORTANT INFORMATION
· Submit a Criminal History Processing Form with the $25.00 processing fee and schedule an appointment to have your fingerprints scanned. To schedule an appointment, follow the instructions on the Criminal History Processing Form.
· Submit legal presence documentation. See the Acceptable Documents list for verifying legal presence.
· Proof of liability: Certificate of Professional Law Enforcement Liability Insurance (minimum $500,000.00). The description must include verbiage that the policy covers duties performed under the Special Conservator of the Peace Program. Please ensure the Department (DCJS) is listed as a certificate holder.
· For Initial Applicants: 
· Drug and Alcohol Testing:

· Contact First Source Solutions at 1-800-732-3784. When contacting First Source Solutions, notify the receptionist that you are with the Special Conservator of the Peace program. The cost for testing is $44.00. 

· Background investigation completed by a police department, sheriff's office, or the Virginia State Police.

· Application to Courts:

Note: A temporary registration will be issued after all of the above eligibility criteria have been met. This letter should be taken to the circuit court to petition for a SCOP appointment by the employing agency. This temporary registration does not guarantee appointment and does not authorize you to engage in providing SCOP services without a court appointment order. 
· All applications and orders for appointment are required to be submitted on forms developed by the Office of the Executive Secretary of the Supreme Court of Virginia.  

· The application for appointment can be accessed at the Virginia’s Judicial System website: www.courts.state.va.us/forms/circuit/civil.html
· Once the circuit court signs the order, you must return copies of both the (#1) Application and 
(#2) Appointment Order to DCJS in order to receive your registration document. 
· For those seeking a New Appointment or Reappointment:
· Background investigation completed by a police department, sheriff's office or the Virginia State Police.

· Application to Courts:

· All applications and orders for appointment are required to be submitted on forms developed by the Office of the Executive Secretary of the Supreme Court of Virginia.  

· The application for appointment can be accessed at the Virginia’s Judicial System website: www.courts.state.va.us/forms/circuit/civil.html
· Once the circuit court signs the order, you must return copies of both the (#1) Application and 
(#2) Appointment Order to DCJS in order to receive your registration document. 
· For Renewals Only: If the current registration is expired, you have 60 days from the date expiration to submit a non-refundable reinstatement fee of $30.00 and meet all of the renewal requirements. If the 60 day reinstatement period has passed, you cannot use this form, as you are no longer eligible for renewal and you must complete the initial registration process. You cannot work during a reinstatement period.

	

	

	Special Conservator of the Peace – REGISTRATION APPLICATION – FEE $60.00

	Type of Application (Select One)

	 Initial Application
	 Renewal Application

	

	Employer Information 

	  SHERIFF OF: 
 

	  CHIEF OF POLICE OF: 
 

	  REPRESENTATIVE OF: (Name and Address of Corporation Authorized to do Business In Commonwealth) 
 

	  REPRESENTATIVE OF: (Name and Address of Museum Owned and Managed by Commonwealth) 
 

	  OWNER, PROPRIETOR OR AUTHORIZED CUSTODIAN OF: (Name and Address of Owner, Proprietor or Authorized Custodian
       of  Any Place Within the Commonwealth) 
 

	

	 Applicant Information

	SSN or DCJS ID:

      
	Last Name:

     
	First Name:

     
	MI:

     

	Mailing Address (Street/Apt.#): 

     
	City, State, Zip:

     

	Email Address:      

	Home Phone: (     )             
	Business Phone: (     )             
	Fax: (     )             

	

	Registration Category Requested (Check all that apply)

	 Unarmed Special Conservator of the Peace
	 Armed Special Conservator of the Peace 
                             Shotgun                                                                                                                                            Handgun      

	

	*Eligibility Determination 

	If you answer YES to any question, attach a brief explanation of your answer along with any supporting documentation. If you have a conviction and your firearms eligibility has been restored, provide supporting documentation. For additional information pertaining to firearms eligibility please review Virginia Code §18.2-309 et seq. and 
18 U.S.C. § 922 of the Federal Gun Control Act.

	1. Have you ever been convicted of a Felony offense? (Include Felony convictions of driving under the influence and/or any offense for which you were convicted as a juvenile, which would be a felony if committed by an adult.)                                                                                                                                         
	   NO  YES     

	2. Have you ever been convicted of an offense as a Juvenile that would prohibit you from possessing or carrying a firearm?
	   NO  YES     

	3. Have you been convicted of a Misdemeanor offense within the five-year period immediately preceding this application pertaining to possession of a controlled substance or marijuana?        
	   NO  YES     

	4. Have you ever been convicted in any court of a Misdemeanor crime of domestic violence or assault and battery of a family member?                                                                                                      
	   NO  YES     

	
	

	5. Have you ever been adjudicated mentally defective (which includes a determination by a court, board, commission, or other lawful authority that you are a danger to yourself or to others or are incompetent to manage your own affairs) OR have you ever been committed to a mental institution?            
	   NO  YES     

	6. Have you ever been acquitted by reason of insanity, adjudicated legally incompetent, mentally incapacitated or adjudicated an incapacitated person by a court of Virginia or any other court?                     
	   NO  YES     

	7. Have you ever been involuntarily admitted to a facility or ordered to mandatory outpatient treatment by any court, board, commission, or other lawful authority?                                                                  
	   NO  YES     

	8. Are you the subject of, or named as respondent in a Restraining Order or a Protective Order? 
	   NO  YES     

	9. Are you an alien NOT lawfully admitted for permanent residence in the United States? 
	   NO  YES     

	10. Have you ever been discharged from the Armed Forces of the United States under “Dishonorable Conditions”?                                                                                                                                
	   NO  YES     

	11. Are you a fugitive from justice? 
	   NO  YES     

	

	Affirmation

	I, the undersigned, certify that all information contained on this application is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and I have not omitted any pertinent information. I understand that any misrepresentation, falsification or omission of pertinent information may be cause for denial of my application or criminal prosecution, including but not limited to feloniously forging and uttering a public document in violation of Va. Code § 18.2-168. I understand that I am responsible for maintaining full compliance with the Code of Virginia and Regulations relating to Special Conservators of the Peace. 
Signature Required:                                                                                                            Date:                                 
                                                                                                                                                                   mm/dd/yy



All fees are non-refundable. Forms received without payment will be returned.
Submit a check or money order payable to the TREASURER OF VIRGINIA, or pay by credit card using the Credit Card Authorization form available on our website. This form must be included with your form package when paying by credit card.

We do not accept cash.
05/2018 
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