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COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 
Department of Criminal Justice Services  
Attention: TOW TRUCK DRIVER REGISTRATION 
P.O. Box 1300, Richmond, VA 23218  •  Phone: (804) 367-0714  •  Fax: (804) 367-0718 
www.dcjs.virginia.gov/pss/towing 
 

 

Tow Truck Driver – REGISTRATION APPLICATION – FEE $137.00 

 Check here for INITIAL APPLICATION  Check here for RENEWAL APPLICATION 

Important Information for INITIAL APPLICANTS 

Use this application to apply for an initial tow truck driver 
authorization document registration.  If you were 
previously registered to drive a tow truck and the 
registration expired, you must apply as an initial 
applicant.  

Processing Time - Approximately 60 days to process a 
completed application.  

Please do not fold or bend the fingerprint card, and 
ensure that the card has not been hole punched. 

Important Information for RENEWAL APPLICANTS 

Use this application when renewing a current valid tow 
truck driver authorization document registration.  

Processing Time - Submit this form and required 
documents 60 days in advance of the current registration 
expiration, and no sooner than 90 days prior to the 
expiration date. A tow truck registration that has expired 
cannot be renewed.   

Please do not fold or bend the fingerprint card, and 
ensure that the card has not been hole punched. 

a. Complete this application in its entirety, including attaching a completed fingerprint card (FD-258) for a Federal 
criminal history check, and attaching any required documents.  The fingerprint card must be an original (no copies) 
and must be dated by the law enforcement officer that conducted the printing within 90 days of application.  DO NOT 
LEAVE ANY BLANKS. Processing will be delayed for incomplete application and/or missing fingerprint card.  
Please do not fold or bend the fingerprint card, and ensure that the card has not been hole punched.. 

b.   Fingerprinting must be conducted by a law enforcement official at either your local law enforcement agency, the 
Virginia State Police, or local correctional facility (if they provide this service) on Fingerprint Card No. FD-258.  

c. Legibly print or type all answers, do not use pencil, make sure application is signed and dated, and retain a copy for 
your records.  

d. Additional information may be requested after receipt of and review of the application and any attachments.  Ensure 
that you provide a contact phone number where you can be easily reached. 

e. All fees are nonrefundable. Enclose a check or money order made payable to the “Treasurer of Virginia” in the 
amount of $137.00. You may also pay by credit card as provided in this application. 

f.    Mail the completed application, fingerprint card for a Federal criminal background check (FD-258), and $137 payment 
to the Department of Criminal Justice Services, ATTN: Tow Truck Driver Registration, Post Office Box 1300, 
Richmond, VA 23218.  For other carriers, our physical address is 1100 Bank Street, 9th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219. 

 

APPLICANT INFORMATION 

Driver's Authorization Document (DAD) Number, if Renewing: 
DAD-      

Expiration Date, If Renewing: 
      

Full Legal Name (No Initials): 

     (First Name)                                          (Middle Name)                               (Last Name)               (Suffix) 

(Date of Birth)                                                                               (Social Security Number)  

1. If renewing, has the name as listed on your DAD changed, or need to be changed? 
 If yes, attach documentation supporting the name change including the date of the change. 

  Yes     No   

2. Current Mailing Address (Street/Apt.#/PO Box): 
       

City:       State:       Zip Code:       

3. Current email address:       
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4. Home Phone: (     )             Cellular Phone: (     )             Fax: (     )             

5. Do you have a current valid unrestricted driver’s license?  Yes     No 

What state issued the current valid driver’s license? State:       

If approved and your valid driver’s license is restricted, suspended or revoked, you must notify DCJS in writing 
immediately.  If you have a restricted driver’s license, please provide a copy of the court documents reflecting the 
restrictions that you are under and documentation that you required by law to carry on your person while driving a 
motor vehicle. 

6. For renewals, Since issuance of your last DAD, have you been found guilty of or 
convicted of any misdemeanor or felony criminal offense in any state or jurisdiction?   Yes     No  

If YES, attach a certified copy of the applicable warrant(s) or sentencing order(s). 

NOTE: If you have been convicted or found guilty of any misdemeanor or felony after issuance of your registration, you must notify 
DCJS in writing within ten business days of being convicted or found guilty of any criminal offense, including any offense for which 
you are required to register as a sex offender under any state, federal or local law, or the law of any foreign country. 

7. Do you acknowledge and understand the requirement to report any convictions in any  
court or jurisdiction to DCJS in writing after issuance of your registration, and to report  
the restriction, suspension or revocation of a valid driver’s license?   Yes     No  

NOTE: If NO is selected for Question 7, then this application cannot be processed. 

8.    Please complete the following for your current employer, and update DCJS within ten business days in writing of any
       change in your employment. 
 
        Name of Employer  _________________________________________________________ 
        Physical Address of Employer:  (street address, city, state, zip code) ________________________________________ 
:       Contact Person:  ________________________________ 
        Office Telephone Number:  ________________________   Facsimile __________________:           
 
        If not currently employed, please notify DCJS in writing when you gain employment that includes your full name and the 
        above referenced employment information, and for any change in employers. 
 
_ 

CERTIFICATION BY APPLICANT 

I, the undersigned, certify that all information contained on this application and attachments is true, correct, and complete to 
the best of my knowledge and I have not omitted any pertinent information. I understand that any misrepresentation, 
falsification or omission of pertinent or material information may be cause for denial or revocation and may result in civil or 
criminal penalties. I understand that I am responsible for maintaining full compliance with the Code of Virginia, and 
specifically, Code Section 46.2-116, et seq.. I certify that I am not currently on any state or federal list as a sex offender, 
and am not required to register as a sex offender under any state, federal, or local law, or the law of any foreign country. 

Print Full Name:       

Signature Required: 
Date:       
             mm/dd/yy 

 

APPLICATION FEES DUE 

Total Application Fee Due  $100.00 

Total Criminal Background Check Fee Due  
A completed fingerprint card for a Federal Criminal Background Check (Card No. FD-258) must be 
attached. The fingerprint card must be an original (no copies) and must be dated by the law 
enforcement officer that conducted the printing within 90 days of application.  

        $  37.00 
 

TOTAL NONREFUNDABLE APPLICATION AND BACKGROUND CHECK FEES DUE     $137.00 
 

PAYMENT OPTIONS 

1. Nonrefundable fee by check or money order payable to the “Treasurer of Virginia” in the amount of  $137.00 
Mail to:  Department of Criminal Justice Services, Attention: Tow Truck Driver Registration,  

P.O. Box 1300, Richmond, VA 23218 

 
PAYMENT OPTIONS CONTINUED ON NEXT PAGE 
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2. Credit Card: This section is to be used for CREDIT CARD PAYMENTS ONLY. If you elect this form of payment, fill out 
all of the information required. Your application will be returned to you if you fail to complete this section in its entirety. 
If the fee is not calculated properly, the cardholder authorizes DCJS to adjust the total fee due (including overages and 
shortages). Fees are nonrefundable. 

Credit Card Type:  MasterCard  Visa  American Express  Discover 

Credit Card Number:       

Payment Amount: $137.00 Card Expiration Date (month and year):        

Card Verification Code:        
(Last three numbers on the back of a Master Card/Visa/Discovery or four numbers found on front of American Express) 

Cardholder Name (Print):       

Cardholder Address: 
 

(As shown on credit card statement including Street or PO Box number) 

 
(As shown on credit card statement including City, State, and Zip Code)

Cardholder Signature:  

[Add telephone contact number for Cardholder which may be different than the applicant.] 
 
 
 
 

CHECKLIST OF ITEMS TO INCLUDE 

  Check or money order payable to the “Treasurer of Virginia” in the amount of $137.00  
($100 Application Fee and $37 Background Check Fee) 

  A contact phone number where you can be easily reached. 

  Answer all questions and make sure that you have signed and dated this application.   

  Attach a completed fingerprint card for a Federal criminal background check (Card No. FD-258). Ensure that your 
name, address, signature, date of birth, sex, race, height, weight, eye color, hair color, and place of birth have been 
completed. Incomplete fingerprint cards cannot be processed, and will be returned to the applicant for 
completion. Make sure that the law enforcement officer who fingerprints you (the applicant) has dated and signed the 
fingerprint card within 90 days of your application submission.  Submit an original fingerprint card as photocopies 
cannot be processed.  Please do not fold or bend the fingerprint card. 

 
  Mail to:  Department of Criminal Justice Services 

Attention: Tow Truck Driver Registration 
P.O. Box 1300, Richmond, VA 23218 

NOTICE 

 
It takes approximately 60 days to process a completed application.  Renewal applications should be submitted 60 days in advance 
of the expiration date of the current registration, but no sooner than 90 days before the registration expires. 
 
Section 46.2-116.D. of the Code of Virginia provides that any tow truck driver failing to register with the Department is guilty of a 
Class 3 misdemeanor.  It further provides that such registration shall be in his possession of the tow truck driver whenever driving 
a tow truck.    
 
Submission of an application does not provide authority to drive a tow truck. 
 
If your address changes after approval and issuance of your registration, you are required to complete the Tow Truck Driver 
Change of Address Form and submit that to the DCJS within 30 days of the address change. 


