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What is CICF?

e Created in 1977 by the Virginia Compensating
Victims of Crime Act § 19.2-368.1.

® We are Virginia’s victim compensation
program, every state has one

® Access to file is guaranteed in Virginia’s Crime
Victim and Witness Rights Act

¢ Funded by fines and fees levied on convicted

felons and federal grants under the Victims of
Crime Act (VOCA)*****NO TAX DOLLARS!!!

What can we cover?

¢ Medical expenses ¢ Loss of support

* Funeral expenses e Offender

* Lost Wages * Homicide

* Prescriptions * Mileage

e Crime Scene Clean-up ¢ to medical appointments

e to court for child victims
¢ Counseling

¢ Direct victims

e Children who witness DV

e Grief counseling

* Moving
® Temporary Housing
e Replacement of prosthetics

* Other “reasonable and necessary” expenses

Who can apply?

A person who has suffered a physical injury as the result of any crime
OR
an emotional injury as the result of a violent felony

and meets all the following criteria:
> Innocent (not engaged in criminal activity that leads to their injury)
> Crime occurred in Virginia (or to Virginia resident somewhere without a
victim’s compensation program)
> Reported to law enforcement within 5 days (unless good cause)
o Cooperates with law enforcement and Commonwealth’s Attorney
> Files with CICF within 1 year of the incident (unless good cause)
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How do we make a decision?

e Eligibility (police reports & correspondence)

® Document financial losses (bills)

o Affirm that care/losses are related to the crime
(medical and other records)

¢ Examine collateral resources to determine
victim/claimant responsibility (hospital financial
assistance/ insurance documents)

¢ Claimants are required by law to exhaust applicable
collateral resources.
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How is payment rendered?

e Directly to the provider, unless paid out of pocket
© We cannot pre-pay for services

© We can award in installments if treatment is ongoing

© The claim never dies, as long as there are new crime
related expenses

® Our maximum award is $25,000

o We will negotiate bills to try to avoid maxing out a
claim.

How does a victim apply?

e Submit a Claim Form, make sure it’s notarized!!!
© Adults file on their own behalf

e Parents/guardians file on behalf of minors

* Anyone paying for a funeral can file

e Obtain a Claim Form by:

¢ Contacting your local Victim/Witness Assistance Office
¢ Contacting us to mail one

¢ Downloading and printing from our website




Protections for the Claimant

* No collection activity while a claim is open
e Payment from CICF is payment in full

* Ensures victim’s expenses are covered
without continued contact with the offender
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The SAFE Payment Program

® “SAFE” stands for Sexual Assault Forensic Exam
* Pays for the collection of forensic evidence
e Different eligibility requirements than CICF

* Documentation submitted directly by the provider, usually
a Forensic Nurse Examiner

® The Violence Against Women Act (VAWA) says victims
shall not pay for their forensic exam, and they can have a
physical evidence recovery kit (PERK) collected without
reporting to or cooperating with law enforcement

Yes, this means a sexual assault victim has two claims.

Forensic Medical Exams
Supreme Court of Virginia The SAFE Payment Program

- Suspect PERKs* e Sexual Assault VICTIM
= = Forensic medical Exams
. Ct})nld/ Elder ]pl:ysmal (SAFE)
abuse/assault o Acute (exam done within
+ Domestic assault* 72-96 hours of crime;
+ Gun shot wounds* PERK completed)
+ Any other forensic exam for o non-acute (exam done
any other purpose* more than 96 hours after
crime)*

*Require authorization by law enforcement or prosecutor.
NOTE: CPS, physicians, parents/guardians not allowed by
law to authorize an exam that will be paid by the state.
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We would love to hear from you!

If you would like further training, contact me!

* 804-482-7051

e brienna.stammer@cicf.virginia.gov

For help with filing or claim status
¢ 1-800-552-4007

o cicfmail@cicf.virginia.gov
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WHAT 1s THE CRIMINAL INJURIES COMPENSATION FUND?

If you or a loved one has been an innocent victim of a crime, the Criminal Injuries Compensation Fund (CICF) can
provide financial reimbursement for crime-related expenses to ease some of the financial burdens you may face.

No one thinks crime will happen to them, but when it does it can be life-changing. You may not be able to work
because of an injury, you may have medical bills piling up, or you may be scared to be in your own home.

WHAT May BE COVERED? You SHouLDp APPLY IF...

® WagelLoss ® You had a physical or emotional injury due

. to aviolent crime
® Domestic Loss of Support
e  Funeral/Burial Expenses ® You were the payer of funeral expenses due

to aviolent crime

® |nstallation of Security Systems, Doors ) o
or Locks ® The crime occurred in Virginia

® Temporary Lodging ® The crime occurred outside of the United

L States, but you are a Virginia resident
® Prescriptions

® Prosthetic Devices (such as eyeglasses ® The crime was reported to police

or dentures) ® You have been cooperative with the police
® Counseling investigation and criminal court case
¢ Dental/Medical Expenses ® You were not participating in illegal activity
e Moving during the time of the crime
® Crime Scene Clean-up ® You did not provoke or willingly participate

in the crime
The Fund does not reimburse for property
or stolen money. There is no income guideline to be eligible.

THE PROCESS FOR COMPENSATION

1. Get an application by doing one of the following:

- Contact your local Victim Witness Program- they can help you through much of the process
- Print the application from our website at www.CICF.stateva.us
- Have an application mailed to you by calling 1.800.552.4007

2. Fill out the application, have it notarized, and return to CICF by mail or in person.

3. You will receive a letter from CICF asking for any additional information, if needed. Once all necessary documents
are collected, you will receive a decision letter on your claim. Please be aware it could take up to 6 months.

4. Any reimbursement owed to you will arrive via check within 30 days of the award letter. If the money is owed to the
provider, CICF will pay them directly.
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¢Qué es el Fondo de Indemnizacion por Lesiones Causadas por un Crimen?

Si usted o algln ser querido ha sido victima inocente de un delito grave o crimen, el Fondo de Indemnizacién por
Lesiones Causadas por un Crimen (CICF) puede reembolsar dinero para gastos incurridos debido a un crimen vy asi aliviarle
algunas de las dificultades econdmicas a las que podria enfrentarse.

Nadie piensa que podria ser afectado por un crimen pero cuando sucede, esto puede cambiarle la vida. Es posible
gue no pueda trabajar debido a una lesién, que tenga cuentas médicas acumuldandose o podria incluso tener miedo a
estar en su propia casa.

iQué Puede Cubrir el Fondo? Usted Debe Hacer la Solicitud si...

e Sufridé una lesidn fisica o emocional debido a
un crimen violento

e Pagd los gastos de funerales de un fallecido
a consecuencia de un crimen violento

e El crimen ocurrid en Virginia

e Elcrimen ocurrid fuera de los Estados Unidos
pero usted es un residente de Virginia

e Elcrimen fue informado a la policia

e Ha cooperado con la investigacion policial y
el caso en el tribunal criminalista

Pérdida de salario

Pérdida de apoyo en el hogar

Gastos de funerales/entierro
Instalacion de sistemas de seguridad,
puertas y llavines

Alojamiento temporal

e Recetas

Dispositivos prostéticos (como lentes o
dentaduras postizas)

e Terapias E N
e Gastos dentales/médicos ° L.Jsted no estaba part|C|pand.o en alguna actividad
e Mudanza ilegal en el momfen'fo del' c.rmlqen

e Limpieza del lugar del crimen Usted no provocd ni participd adrede en el

delito

El Fondo no reembolsa por propiedades ni

dinero robado. No hay pautas de ingreso para cumplir con los

requisitos y recibir este servicio.

El Proceso de Indemnizacion

1. Obtenga la solicitud a través de una de las siguientes formas:
— Comuniquese con el Programa de Testigos de Victimas (Victim Witness Program) de su localidad. Ellos
pueden ayudarle durante la mayor parte del proceso.
— Imprima la solicitud que esta en nuestro sitio web: www.CICF.state.va.us
— Llame al 1.800.552.4007 y solicite que se le envie una solicitud por correo.
2. Llene la solicitud, haga que un notario publico la notarice y enviela por correo o llévela personalmente al CICF.
3. Recibird una carta del CICF solicitando mds informacidn, si fuera necesario. Una vez que se hayan obtenido todos
los documentos necesarios, recibira una carta con la decision tomada en su reclamacién. Tenga presente que
este proceso podria tomar hasta seis meses.
4. Cualquier reembolso que se le deba llegara por medio de un cheque dentro de un plazo de 30 dias a partir de la
fecha de la carta de adjudicacion. Si el dinero se le debe al proveedor, el CICF |le pagara directamente al mismo.

Para obtener mas informacion, visite el sitio www.CICF.state.va.us o llame al 1.800.552.4007




Web: www.virginiavictimsfund.org

1. Provider(s)

N

name,

address, and

\AABC Hospital, LLC

VIRGINIA VICTIMS FUND

OFFICIALLY CRIMINAL INJURIES COMPENSATION FUND

- Mail: P.O. Box 26927, Richmond, Virginia 23261

W. Jackson Ritchie

- Phone: 1.800.552.4007

Director

A Division of the Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission

- Fox: 804.823.6905

ltemized Statement/Bill Description

1234 Your Street
Anywhere, VA 23223

5. Usual and
Customary Charge for
each service provided

Patient Responsibility $151.00

o/

phone (123) 456-7890 Phone number
(789) 345-6780 Fax number
number
Patient Name:
Jane Doe
2. Patient Account number:
123
Name/Account 6. Total Charges
Number adjusted/paid by
insurance
\ Date of Service Description/Code Amount
3. Date(s) of \
NP7/01/2011 Initial Hospital Care-High Comp $525.00
Service
(actual dates 07/01/2011 Doppler Echo Exam, Heart $72.00
services 07/01/2011 Transthoracic Echocardiography $247.00
were 07/01/2011 Anesthesiology, Surgery of Femur $2070.00
provided) 07/01/2011 X-Ray Exam of Thigh $37.00
—>
07/14/2011 Insurance Payment $2000.00
Description
07/15/2011 Insurance Payment $800.00
of the
service 7. Charges Due after
insurance if
provided Total Charges adjusted/paid by insurance $2951.0 applicable
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VIRGINIA VICTIMS FUND The Claims Process

Helping Innocent Victims of Crima

A Division of the Virginia Warkers’ Compensation Commission

Web: www.virginiavictimsfund.org + Mail: P.O. Box 26927, Richmond, Virginia 23261 + Phene: 1.800.552.4007 - Fax: 804.823.6905
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restitution ordered and Monitors fund
time served onitors fun

performance
Collects restitution

Ombudsman

4 )
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training, presents public feedback to Director
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The Sexual Assault Forensic Exam (SAFE)
VIRGINIA VICTIMS FUND Payment Program

Helping Innocent Victims of Crime

OFFICIALLY CRIMINAL INJURIES COMPENSATION FUND

A Division of the Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission

Web: www.virginiavictimsfund.org - Mail: P.O. Box 26927, Richmond, Virginia 23261 - Phone: 1.800.552.4007 - Fax: 804.823.6905

In Virginia, if you have been raped or sexually assaulted:

You have the right to seek evidence collection at no cost to you;
and,

You have the right to have evidence collected through a Physical Evidence Recovery Kit (PERK) without
participating in the criminal justice system or cooperating with law enforcement or prosecution efforts.?

The SAFE Payment Program will pay for:
e Emergency Room Physician fees
e Hospital and forensic examiner fees
e Testing for sexually transmitted infections (STI) and pregnancy
e Medications to prevent STls and pregnancy
e Ambulance ride to a hospital for evidence collection?
e  Full course of HIV preventative medication if warranted
e Follow-up medical care while taking HIV preventative medication
e Follow-up medical forensic examinations

Your healthcare provider should submit all required information, including a detailed billing

statement directly to the SAFE Payment Program. You should only receive a bill if:

e You decided not to have evidence collected
e You hadinjuries or existing medical conditions that required treatment
e You have any follow-up care, other than what is listed above

If you have any questions or receive a bill, you can contact the SAFE Payment Program at 1.800.552.4007.

Testing and Storage of Evidence

If you choose not to report the crime, your Physical
Evidence Recovery Kit (PERK) will not be tested and
will be stored for a minimum of two years.

If and when you choose to report the crime, the
police will take custody of your PERK and send it to
the forensic lab for testing within 60 days of the
request. You have the right to check the status and
know the results of the testing.

Make sure your contact information is current with
the investigator and/or the Commonwealth’s
Attorney assigned to your case.

Additional Resources:

The Virginia Victims Fund may be able to help you
with the following costs as well:

Moving or home security expenses,

Lost wages,

Counseling expenses,

Replacement of clothing and/or bedding seized as
evidence,

Replacement of glasses or other prosthetics, and
more.

To obtain a claim application or for more information,
please visit virginiavictimsfund.org or call 1.800.552.4007

e The Family Violence and Sexual Assault Hotline —1.800.838.8238
e Department of Criminal Justice INFO-LINE — 1.888.887.3418

Evidence collection or medical forensic examinations completed more than 3-5 days after the crime require authorization by law
enforcement or a prosecutor. Generally, PERKs are completed within 3-5 days of the crime.
2From a hospital or facility that is unable to provide evidence collection services.



SAFE (Sexual Assault Forensic Exam) Payment Program vs. Criminal Injuries Compensation Fund (CICF)
The SAFE Payment Program process is distinctly different from CICF, with a different governing policy. Both policies can be accessed at
www.cicf.virginia.state.us. The chart below highlights the differences.

How is a claim initiated?

Who is responsible for
providing required
information?

Is the victim required to report
the crime and cooperate with
all investigation and
prosecution efforts?

What is the time allowance for

filing a claim?

What expenses are eligible for
reimbursement?

Who receives payment for
eligible expenses?

What if the patient has been
put into collections?

Submitted directly by providers.

Providers are responsible for submitting required
documentation in order to perfect the claim. Required
documents include the completed 2-page Request for Payment
Form, itemized detailed bill and explanation of insurance
benefits paid/denied (when applicable).

Victims are not required to report the crime, nor participate or
cooperate with the criminal justice process to have a forensic
exam or for that exam to be paid for. However, chronic child
sexual abuse cases do require prosecutor or law enforcement
authorization.

Providers must submit all required claim documentation within
one (1) year from the date of service.

Applies only to services related to the collection of forensic
evidence through a medical exam on a victim of sexual assault.
Generally this includes: hospital/nurse/physician fees;
ambulance fees to transport a patient to a facility with the
capacity to perform the forensic exam; and STD/pregnancy
testing and prophylactic treatment.

Since providers should direct-bill the SAFE Payment Program,
the payment will be made to the provider.

Providers are prohibited by law from putting a patient into
collections once a claim has been filed until a decision has been
made. Since this is a direct-bill process, victims should not
receive billing statements nor be placed into collections;
however, in the event it does happen please contact the SAFE
Payment Program.

Victim must complete CICF claim application. Notary signature
required.

While CICF exhausts every attempt to obtain required
documentation, the claimant is ultimately responsible. Required
documents vary depending on the expenses but at a minimum
include police reports and Police/Sheriff Report Form.

Victims must report the crime within 120 hours or show good
cause. Victims must cooperate with all investigation and
prosecution efforts.

Victims must apply within one (1) year from the date of crime or
otherwise show good cause.

Applies to costs associated with death or physical or emotional
injury as a direct result of a crime (such as homicide, robbery,
sexual assault, physical assault, etc.) including but not limited to:
treatment of injuries and follow-up care, mental health
counseling, loss of wages, funeral expenses, moving expenses,
etc.

Expenses are paid to the entity that is owed the amounts due. If
a provider is unpaid, payment will be made to the provider. If a
claimant has paid out-of-pocket for an expense, payment will be
made to the claimant.

Providers are prohibited by law from putting a patient into
collections once a claim has been filed until a decision has been
made. CICF’s Medical Provider Liaison can assist with stopping
collection action.





