
In cases of rape and sexual assault: expenses covered by SAFE vs. VVF

EXPENSE 
TYPE

crime-related expenses covered by
VIRGINIA VICTIMS FUND 

(VVF)

covered for evidence by
SEXUAL ASSAULT FORENSIC EXAM 

(SAFE)

Physician Any physician fees that arise from 
necessary treatment

Emergency room physician fee only

Hospital
Expenses for crime-related treatment 
such as radiology, psychological treatment, 
surgical expenses, and other crime-related 
hospital services

• Emergency or forensic level fee

• Testing and prophylactic medication for  
    sexually transmitted infections (STI) and  
    pregnancy

• Complete blood count and metabolic 
    panel if patient receives HIV preventative 
    medication

• Medication for nausea or vomiting

• One dose of sedative, tranquilizer, or 
    anti-anxiety medication

• Alcohol and drug testing when part of the 
  criminal investigation

Transportation

Ambulance transport from crime scene, 
home, or other area following the crime.  
Air transport, mileage to/from appointments 
related to the crime including investigative 
and prosecution appointments

Ambulance transfer from a facility unable
to complete the medical forensic examination 
to a facility that can complete the examination

Prescription
Any prescriptions received for treatment of 
physical and/or emotional injuries due to 
the crime

Up to a 28-day supply of HIV preventative
medication and anti-nausea medication

Follow-Up Care

Any follow-up medical and/or psychological
care for the treatment of physical and/or 
emotional injuries, as well as follow-up 
testing for sexually transmitted infections 
(STI) and pregnancy testing due to the crime

• Follow-up forensic exam

• Limited medical care while the patient is
   taking HIV preventative medication to 
   include physical examination by a physician 
   and lab testing to monitor patient’s health

Other
VVF may also assist with reimbursement for time missed from work, temporary housing and 
moving expenses up to $2,000, certain home security expenses, replacement of clothing or 
bedding seized as evidence, crime scene clean-up, and replacement of eyeglasses, hearing 
aids, or other medically necessary aids damaged or destroyed during the crime
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SAFE Payment Program and Virginia Victims Fund Comparison Sheet

This chart highlights the main differences between the 
SAFE (Sexual Assault Forensic Exam) Payment Program and the VVF (Virginia Victims Fund)  

See details of both policies at www.virginiavictimsfund.org

What is the purpose of the 
program?

Pay expenses for gathering evidence 
through a medical forensic examination for 
victims of sexual assault. 

How is a claim initiated? Medical providers submit the Request for 
Payment Form to SAFE.

Who is responsible for 
providing required 
information?

Medical providers. Required documents: 
Request for Payment Form, itemized detailed 
bill, and an explanation of insurance benefits 
paid/denied (when applicable).

Is the victim required to 
report the crime and 
cooperate with 
investigation and 
prosecution efforts?

No, with an exception.  Victims are not 
required to report the crime nor participate
with the criminal justice process. However, 
forensic examinations for non-acute sexual 
assault cases do require prosecutor or law 
enforcement authorization.

What is the time allowance 
for filing a claim? Within 1 year from the date of service.

What expenses are 
eligible for 
reimbursement?

Expenses directly related to the collection 
of evidence through a medical forensic 
exam.  See second page for complete list 
of eligible expenses.

What is the maximum 
amount of reimbursement?

No maximum, but subject to the 
Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) on 
file with provider.

When should an expense 
be submitted through 
insurance?

The claim must be submitted through 
federally funded insurance before claim 
can be reimbursed by SAFE.  The victim 
may choose whether to bill private 
insurance.

Who receives payment? Payments are made to the medical 
provider. 

Can providers pursue
collection action against 
the victim while claims 
are pending?

No.  Providers are prohibited by law from 
putting a patient into collections after a 
claim has been filed, until a decision has 
been made. 

When can payment be 
expected?

Within 30 days after approval of payment.  
Payment is issued by the Virginia Department 
of the Treasury.  For requests of status, 
email safe@virginiavictimsfund.org.

What happens if a claim 
is denied?

If a medical provider disagrees with a 
decision, they may submit a request for 
reconsideration.

Pay crime-related expenses for victims who have 
suffered physical or emotional injury due to a violent 
crime.
The victim or their claimant submits a VVF claim 
form.

VVF will obtain the complete police report and court 
case information.  The victim is responsible for providing 
expense-related information.

Yes.  Victims must report the crime within 120 hours, 
or show good cause, and must also cooperate with all 
investigation and prosecution efforts.

Within 1 year from the date of crime, or show good 
cause.

Expenses associated with death or physical or 
emotional injury as a direct result of a crime (such 
as homicide, robbery, sexual assault, physical assault, 
etc.), including but not limited to treatment of injuries 
and follow-up care, mental health counseling, wage 
loss, funeral expenses, moving expenses, etc.
Maximum total award is $25,000, subject to the 
Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) on file with 
provider.
All collateral resources including federally funded 
insurances, private health insurance, and hospital 
charity care must be utilized before the claim can be 
reimbursed.  In some cases, claimants must submit 
expenses to homeowners, renters, automobile, life, or 
other insurances.
Expenses are paid to whom the money is owed.  
If a provider is unpaid, payment will be made to the 
provider.  If a claimant paid out-of-pocket for expenses, 
payment will be made to the claimant.  VVF does not 
pre-pay for any services.

No.  Providers are prohibited by law from putting a 
patient into collections after a claim has been filed, 
until a decision has been made. 

VVF makes a decision within 180 days from the 
application filing date.  Payment is issued by the 
Virginia Department of the Treasury.  For requests of 
status, email status@virginiavictimsfund.org.

A claimant must submit a request for reconsideration 
within 45 days of the denial date.
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