Suicide Facts & Figures: Virginia 2018*

On average, one person dies by suicide every eight hours in the state.

Nearly three times as many people die by suicide in Virginia annually than by homicide.

The total deaths to suicide reflect a total of 23,433 years of potential life lost (YPLL) before age 65.



Suicide cost Virginia a total of **\$1,124,664,000** of combined lifetime medical and work loss cost in 2010, or an average of **\$1,167,876 per suicide death**.

*Based on most recent 2016 data from CDC. Learn more at **afsp.org/statistics**.



2nd leading cause of death for ages 15-34

8th leading cause of death for ages 55-64

4th leading cause of death for ages 35-54

16th leading cause of death for ages 65 & older

Suicide Death Rates

	Number of Deaths by Suicide	Rate per 100,000 Population	State Rank
Virginia	1,166	13.18	36
Nationally	44,965	13.42	



American Foundation for Suicide Prevention

Suicide Facts & Figures: Virginia 2018

Suicide Prevention Programs and Initiatives

- Virginia's Suicide Prevention Program (http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/suicide-prevention/) is currently housed within the Virginia Department of Health, which the legislature designates as the lead agency on youth suicide prevention (§32.1-73.7). The Department of Behavioral Health & Developmental Services is similarly designated as the lead agency for suicide prevention across the lifespan (§37.2-312.1).
- The Suicide Prevention Across the Life Span Plan for the Commonwealth of Virginia, originally released in 2004, was updated in 2016; available online at http://leg2.state. va.us/dls/h&sdocs.nsf/By+Year/SD172004/\$file/SD17_2004.pdf.
- VA law (§22.1-298.1) requires school counselors to complete training in the recognition of mental health disorders and behavioral distress, including depression, trauma, violence, youth suicide, and substance abuse, for initial licensure and license renewal.
- Virginia law (§22.1-272.1) requires that licensed administrative or instructional personnel in Virginia public schools, who have reason to believe that a student is at imminent risk of suicide, contact at least one of such student's parents as soon as practicable; such contact must be made in accordance with guidelines developed by the Board of Education (available at http://www.doe.virginia.gov/boe/guidance/health/suicide_prevention.pdf).
- Virginia law (§23.1-802) requires public colleges and universities to develop and implement suicide prevention, intervention, and postvention policies, to provide for training, and to establish a written MOU with local community mental health services to expand the scope of services available to students seeking treatment. Schools must post available mental health resources online, and require each resident assistant to participate in Mental Health First Aid (or similar) training.

Get Involved

The **AFSP Virginia Chapter** brings together people of all backgrounds in communities throughout the state to fight suicide. We help fund research, offer educational programs, advocate for public policy and support those affected by suicide.

For more information or to volunteer, please contact:

AFSP Virginia virginia@afsp.org

Become an Advocate

AFSP's Virginia advocacy volunteers build relationships with public officials and advocate on behalf of sound suicide prevention policy.

Visit afsp.org/advocate to sign up!



American Foundation for Suicide Prevention