Tow Truck Drivers

DCJS only accepts the most recent versions of the applications provided on our website. DCJS is not responsible for processing delays associated with forms that do not conform to this requirement.

The Department of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS) provides statutory oversight of individuals that engage in driving a tow truck in the Commonwealth of Virginia, and staff is responsible for providing technical assistance to our constituents.

Customer Service:Phone: 804-367-0714
Fax: 804-786-6344
To mail applications and correspondence:

Department of Criminal Justice Services
ATTN: Tow Truck Drivers
P. O. Box 1300
Richmond VA 23218

To conduct business at our office:1100 Bank Street, Ninth Floor
Richmond VA 23219
E-mail:Click here

 

DCJS is responsible for the registration of Tow Truck Drivers only. 

Tow truck driver applicants must submit a completed Tow Truck Driver Registration Application that includes a fingerprint card for a Federal criminal history check (FD-258) signed and dated within 90 days of application by a law enforcement agency, and a non-refundable application fee of $137 that can be paid by check or money order payable to the Treasurer of Virginia, or credit card.  We are unable to accept cash.

Tow truck drivers are required to have their tow truck driver registration document in their possession when driving a tow truck.   Submission of an application does not grant authority to drive a tow truck. 

Tow truck driver applicants must submit a completed Tow Truck Driver Registration application that includes a current original fingerprint card for a Federal criminal history check (Card No. FD-258) signed and dated by a law enforcement agency, and a non-refundable application fee of $137 that can be paid by check or money order payable to the Treasurer of Virginia, or credit card.  We are unable to accept cash. 

Submission of an application does not grant authority to drive a tow truck.  Tow truck drivers are required to have their tow truck driver registration document in their possession when driving a tow truck.  

It may take up to 60 days to process a completed application.  Once DCJS is in receipt of a completed application, we have to await the results of the Federal criminal history check before we move the registration application forward.

If your registration has expired, you may submit an Initial Application for a Tow Truck Driver Registration to obtain another Tow Truck Driver Registration

Yes.  For checks, please indicate in the memo line the tow truck drivers whose registration fees will be paid with that payment.  For credit cards, please place a note with the application with the names of individuals whose application fees will be paid.  The bulk processing of payments for multiple applicants can be processed in a more efficient manner. 

After fingerprint cards are scanned and the results are obtained from the FBI and reviewed, DCJS shreds the fingerprint card in compliance with state and federal guidelines.  Since DCJS does not retain the fingerprint card, a new fingerprint card (dated within 90 days of application) is required for both initial and renewal applicants.

Applications may be submitted to DCJS using one of the following options:

  • In-person at the Washington Building, 1100 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219 (you may use the secure drop box located inside the main entrance).
  • Regular mail to this address: Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services, P.O. Box 1300, Richmond, VA 23218.

A delay in processing may result from submitting an incomplete application or an incomplete fingerprint card. In addition, a fingerprint card may be rejected because of the poor quality of the prints. If your fingerprint card is rejected, DCJS will send you a letter requesting that you send us a new one within 20 days to avoid additional costs. 

Persons that have been convicted of a felony are not automatically denied a Tow Truck Driver registration.  To review the criminal history background check requirements, please visit Section 17.1-805.C. of the Code of Virginia utilizing this link.   http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/17.1-805/

Please submit and complete the Address Change or a Request for a Duplicate Registration Form available under the Tow Truck Driver section of DCJS’s web site.  A change of address should be submitted within ten days of your change of address.  This assists us in our communications with applicants and registrants.

No.  All registration and form fees are nonrefundable. 

Tow Truck Driver Address Change Form PDF DOC
Tow Truck Driver Registration Application PDF DOC