Certification Process and Mandated In-Service Requirements - Law Enforcement Officer

Law Enforcement Officers

Administrative Code: Rules Relating to Law Enforcement Officers

  • Three (3) Required Steps for the Initial Certification as a Virginia Law Enforcement Officer

Upon employment, law enforcement officer trainees have 12 months to complete the compulsory minimum training standards.  The law enforcement officer certification is obtained by (1) successfully completing the basic law enforcement academy, (2) the law enforcement state certification exam and (3) completing field training for law enforcement officers within 12 months.  The initial law enforcement officer certification is not valid until all three steps have been completed and the documentation of the required 100 hours minimum of law enforcement field training (DCJS Form FTO-OJT) has been sent to DCJS, and entered into the training records management system.

If the law enforcement officer trainee cannot meet the 12 month requirement for completion of the three steps to certification, the agency may request an extension for additional time to complete the compulsory minimum training standards.  The agency must submit a request to DCJS prior to the initial 12 months expiration date and provide the reason for the extension request. Agencies must contact DCJS Field Services (DCJS staff assigned to your agency) for further assistance.

 

  • In-Service Requirements for Law Enforcement Officers

Every certified law enforcement officer must complete in-service requirements throughout their career holding this function in order to remain certified.  In order to attend and obtain the credit hours needed to recertify as a law enforcement officer, they must be employed at a criminal justice agency in Virginia under DCJS purview and holding the job function as a law enforcement officer.   The below link will assist you on the hours needed, subject requirements and the mandated time requirements.

 

Agencies needing an extension in order to meet the mandated in-service requirements, must submit a request to DCJS prior to the expiration date and provide the reason for the extension request. Agencies must contact DCJS Field Services (DCJS staff assigned to your agency) for further assistance.

 

  • Assistance with Hiring Former Virginia Certified Law Enforcement Officers

If your agency has hired a former law enforcement officer who was previously certified in Virginia and out of such employment less than 24 months, the former law enforcement officer can be reinstated without completing a basic academy, but must be current on in-service training within 120 days of hire.  If the former certified law enforcement officer has been out of such employment for more than 24 months, and you are requesting an exemption from the Virginia Compulsory Minimum Training Standards, the agency must submit an Application for Exemption from the Virginia Compulsory Minimum Training Standards (DCJS Form W-2). Agencies must contact DCJS Field Services (DCJS staff assigned to your agency) for further assistance and submit the DCJS Form W-2.

  • Assistance with Hiring Out-of-State Law Enforcement Officers  

If your agency has hired a former law enforcement officer from another state or from the Federal Government and requesting an exemption from the Virginia Compulsory Minimum Training Standards, the agency must submit an Application for Exemption from Virginia Compulsory Minimum Training Standards. Agencies must contact DCJS Field Services (DCJS staff assigned to your agency) for further assistance and submit the DCJS Form W-2.