2019 Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (JJDP) Alternative Interventions for Status Offenders

The Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS) is making federal funds available to localities for planning or implementation of alternative interventions for status offenders. The Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Act (JJDPA) provides that youth charged with status offenses may not be placed in secure detention or locked confinement. Status offenders are juveniles charged with or adjudicated for behavior that would not be a crime if committed by an adult, for example, truancy, running away, violating curfew laws, or possessing tobacco. In 1984, the JJDPA was amended to include an exception which allows judges to issue detention orders when a juvenile adjudicated for a status offense violates a valid court order (VCO) or a direct order from a court. Virginia law allows status offenders to be detained for up to 10 days on a violation of a valid court order after notice and an opportunity for a hearing. Recently the JJDPA was reauthorized and this exception was limited to allow a maximum of 7 days in detention for a violation of a valid court order.

2019 JJDP Grant Solicitation Webinar