State accreditation is the best measure of an agency’s compliance with professional law enforcement standards, as determined by the Virginia Law Enforcement Professional Standards Commission. The Commission consists of Virginia sheriffs and police chiefs selected for their expertise and knowledge. Adherence to an acknowledged body of professional standards may help protect an agency against a variety of potential liability problems.

The only costs for the Virginia Law Enforcement Professional Standards Commission (VLEPSC) program are those incurred for room and board for the assessment team at the time of the on-site assessment, and a $250.00 application fee upon receipt and acceptance of the Agency Participation Agreement. Agencies that are insured by the Virginia Risk Sharing Association (VRSA) do not have to pay the application fee or annual fees as those costs are covered by VRSA.

To become a CSO, you must be hired by a campus or university and meet these requirements: (or hold a private security specialist certification or work part-time under 120 hrs annually)

  • be a US citizen or legal resident,
  • undergo a background check,
  • possess a high-school diploma, GED, or equivalent, and
  • be at least 18 years of age.

Once hired, based on the requirements above, a CSO applicant must complete the following within 180 days:

  • first aid training, as determined by the employing institution,
  • Introduction to the Incident Command System (IS-100.C) by FEMA, and
  • compulsory minimum entry-level training (Curriculum below) and pass all portions with a 70% or higher.
After all requirements are met, the CSO's point of contact must submit a signed CSO application form to DCJS for review and certification. Certification is valid for 2 years.

A CSO may submit an Educational Requirement Waiver Application to forgo compulsory minimum training if the candidate has a minimum of 5 years experience as a CSO, and can pass each module exam with at least a 70%.

If for some reason, training cannot be met in the provided 180 days, a Certification Program - Permission for Extension request may be submitted to DCJS. The CSO point of contact must sign off on the form and indicate the reason for the extension request. Extensions may be granted in the instance of illness, military service, etc.

CSO certification is valid for 2 years. Within those 2 years, CSOs are required to receive 16 hours of campus security related training and have their point of contact submit an Application for Re-Certification and accompanying documentation to DCJS. Extensions may be granted for certain circumstances (see above). As a CSO, you will only be certified if you are employed by an institution. If you are not employed, you will be labeled as "suspended" until you are employed by another institution. CSOs can also be "decertified" by DCJS after receiving notification from the employing institution of the CSOs:

  • conviction, guilty plea, or no contest to a felony, or
  • failure to comply with training or recertification standards, or
  • refusal or failure of a drug test, or
  • failure to tell the truth, or
  • termination for cause.

A decertified CSO may appeal to DCJS, if written notice is received by the Director of DCJS within 30 days of decertification.

To become a CSO instructor, the applicant must submit an Instructor Application to DCJS and meet the following criteria:

  • possess a high-school diploma, GED, or equivalent,
  • possess 2 years management or supervisory experience as a CSO or LEO or 3 years general experience as a CSO or LEO 
  • possess 1 year of experience as an instructor in an accredited institution.
A CSO instructor applicant may submit a Request for Waiver of Instructor Approval Qualifications with supporting documentation, if they do not meet 1 or more of the requirements above.
 
Certified CSO instructors may hold compulsory training classes by submitting a Training Class Request within 30 days of the class and must notify DCJS of any changes to the training. The instructor must test each student on each module and return the tests and rosters within 5 days to DCJS for processing. CSO instructors may also hold recertification classes and may submit a Partial In-Service Credit (PIC) Course Approval Form DCJS for approval.

To become a SSO, you must be hired by a school board and meet these requirements:

  • undergo a background check to include fingerprint-based criminal history record inquiry of both the CCRE and FBI, within 30 days of hire
  • possess a high-school diploma, GED, or equivalent,
  • be at least 21 years of age, and
  • possess a valid driver’s license, if required by the job.

Once hired, based on the requirements above, a SSO applicant must complete the following within 60 days:

  • First aid training, as determined by the employing institution, and
  • Compulsory minimum entry-level training (Curriculum below) and pass all portions with a 80% or higher.

After all requirements are met, the SSO’s point of contact must submit a signed SSO application form to DCJS for review and certification.Certification is valid for 2 years.

There is no waiver for SSO certification.

If for some reason, training cannot be met in the provided 60 days, an extension request may be submitted to DCJS. The SSO point of contact must sign off on the form and indicate the reason for the extension request. Extensions may be granted in the instance of illness, military service, etc.

SSO certification is valid for 2 years. Within those 2 years, SSO’s are required to receive 16 hours of school security related training and have their point of contact submit a recertification application and accompanying documentation to DCJS. Extensions may be granted for certain circumstances (see above).

As a SSO, you will only be certified if you are employed by a school division. SSO’s can also be “decertified” byDCJS after receiving notification from the employing institution of the SSO’s:

  • conviction, guilty plea, or no contest to a felony, or
  • failure to comply with training or recertification standards, or
  • refusal or failure of a drug test, or
  • violation of any standard of conduct found in 6 VAC 20-240-40,
  • violation of any other school board policy, or
  • termination for cause.

A decertified SSO may appeal to DCJS, if written notice is received by the Director of DCJS within 30 days of decertification.

A. The department may approve instructors to deliver school security officer training and may revoke such approval for just cause.

B. Each person applying for instructor approval shall:

1. Be currently certified as a school security officer, employed by the department, or acting as a consultant for the department;

2. Have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED) or have passed the National External Diploma Program;

3. Have a minimum of:

a. Three years management or supervisory experience as a school security officer or with any federal, military police, state, county or municipal law-enforcement agency in a related field; or

b. Five years general experience as a school security officer, or with a federal, state or local law-enforcement agency in a related field;

4. Have completed:

a. A school security officer instructor course approved by the department; or

b. Have a minimum of one-year experience as an instructor or teacher in an accredited educational institution or law-enforcement agency.

C. Each person applying for instructor approval shall file with the department:

1. A properly completed application provided by the department;

2. Documentation verifying that the applicant meets the minimum eligibility requirements pursuant to this section;

3. Documentation verifying previous instructor experience, training, work experience and education for those subjects in which certification is requested.

D. The department will evaluate qualifications based upon the justification provided.

E. Upon completion of the instructor application requirements, the department may approve the instructor for a period not to exceed 24 months.

F. Each instructor shall conduct himself in a professional manner and the department may revoke instructor approval for just cause.

G. Applicants for instructor approval may submit a waiver application form for review by the department outlining previous instructor training or related experience. The department reserves the right to review each waiver application and evaluate qualifications and experience on an individual basis.


A SSO instructor applicant may submit a waiver request with supporting documentation, if they do not meet 1 or more of the requirements above.

SSO instructor certification is valid for 2 years. Within that time period, the instructor must complete 8 hours of training and submit documentation of training along with an application for instructor recertification

Certified SSO instructors may hold compulsory training classes by submitting a request form waiver request within 30 days of the class and must notify DCJS of any changes to the training. The instructor must test each student on each module and return the tests and rosters within 5 days to DCJS for processing. SSO instructors may also hold recertification classes and may submit a PIC request form to DCJS for approval.

Virginia Code Section § 22.1-279.8 requires each local school board to require all schools under its supervisory control to annually conduct school safety audits as defined in Code and according to lists established by the Virginia Center for School and Campus Safety § 9.1-184. To see a list of items required in this year’s audit, visit the Virginia School Safety Audit Program homepage.

The VCSCS uses the school safety survey to collect information for the annual Virginia School Safety Survey Report which is made available to school safety practitioners, school division personnel, and legislators throughout the Commonwealth. The information is also used to assist the Virginia Center for School and Campus Safety (VCSCS) and the Department of Education in developing training and recommending policy to address emerging areas of school safety concern.

A school, for purposes of the school safety survey, is any separate physical structure that houses and instructs public school students during the school day. Regional, alternative, governor’s schools, head start, and preschool facilities that are not physically part of another public school building are therefore considered a “school” and must complete a school safety survey, regardless of where the enrollment of its students is housed.

The school survey should be completed by the principal of the school; however, if completion of the survey is delegated to other staff, the principal/superintendent will be held responsible for the reliability of the content submitted.

Completed surveys are viewed only by the school's division superintendent and by VCSCS staff. However, interested persons can submit a Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) request and ask to view the information. As an extra safeguard, principals can designate the security-related section of their survey as “exempt from FOIA requests” should an outside party request access to a school’s survey responses.

No, unless your superintendent specifically requires you to do so. The web-based survey system allows each superintendent to access surveys submitted by schools in their division. The superintendent will be able to view/modify their schools’ survey responses and print copies of these surveys for their files.

Surveys not completed by the deadline will not be included in the annual Virginia school safety report. Superintendents of schools not completing the survey on time will be notified of non- compliant schools. A list of non-compliant schools may be published in the annual report.

Responses to questions dealing specifically with the security of a school can be designated as protected information and exempted from FOIA requests. While completing the survey, you will see a section titled “School Security and Surveillance”.  Questions in this section are exempt from FOIA requests and the school division and the VCSCS will protect that information from release.  

Yes. The School Guidance Document and Division Guidance Document provide the opportunity to collect all necessary data prior to completing the online survey.  It is strongly recommended that all persons taking the survey utilize these guidance documents prior to beginning the actual survey.

Keep in mind, you won’t necessarily be asked all of the questions you see listed. Depending on how you respond to a certain question, you may or may not be prompted to respond to a follow-up question.

To take this survey your browser must accept “cookies” from our server.  If you continue to have trouble email us. 

If you have completed the survey and reached the message that says “Thank you for taking the School Safety Survey,” your survey questions were submitted to our database and you can no longer change your responses. However, send us an email with any edits needed and we will happily make those corrections.

If you are still logged into the survey and have NOT reached the message that says “Thank you for taking the School Safety Survey,” then your survey questions have not yet been submitted. To change a previous response, use the “back” button on the survey page until you reach the question for which you would like to change your response. 

For questions about the School Safety Survey or technical problems regarding the survey, please contact us at:

safetyaudit@dcjs.virginia.gov

Nikki Wilcox (804) 786-3923

James Christian (804) 357-0967

Yes. At the bottom of each page, you will see a “Save and continue” button. This button will save your responses as you go.  Simply return to the survey later to complete it. 

Completing the school survey typically takes 20 - 30 minutes. You can reduce error and minimize the time it takes to complete the survey by utilizing the School Guidance Document or Division Guidance Document before starting the actual survey.

Completing the school survey typically takes from 20 - 30 minutes. You can reduce error and minimize the time it takes to complete the survey by utilizing the guidance documents (School and Division) before starting the actual survey.

If you need additional assistance, please contact safetyaudit@dcjs.virginia.gov.

Information about how to print your survey responses is provided at the end of the survey. 

If you have already submitted and were unable to print/save your response summary, please email us to obtain a copy. 

If you have completed the survey and reached the message that says “Thank you for taking the Virginia School Safety Survey,” your survey questions were successfully submitted to VCSCS.

Additionally, superintendents will have access to all completed school surveys within their division via the VCSCS secure website.  Please contact your division superintendent’s office if you need to confirm the successful submission of your survey responses.

There are two primary Virginia Code cites that discuss school safety audit requirements. These are: § 22.1-279.8 School safety audits and school crisis and emergency management plans required; and § 9.1-184. Virginia Center for School and Campus Safety created; duties.

All school principals are required to complete the mandatory components of the school safety audit legislation as designated by the Virginia Center for School and Campus Safety. The requirements include:

  • Completion of the  School Safety Audit review for their school (template available). 
  • Completion of the  School Safety Survey for their school. 
  • Completion of the School Safety Inspection Checklist for their school (every three years). 
  • Update the Crisis and Emergency Management Plan for their school. 
  • Completion of the Virginia School Survey of Climate and Working Conditions

All school superintendents are required to complete mandatory components of the school safety audit legislation as designated by the Virginia Center for School and Campus Safety. These requirements include (By August 31)

  • Completion of the Division Safety Survey.
  • Ensuring the division’s school listed within the Survey Manager are up to date and complete.
  • Review of schools’ survey submissions, updated with any necessary modifications/corrections, and certification of accuracy of all completed surveys.
  • Certification that every school's crisis and emergency response plan has been reviewed and updated by the locality’s school board (annually), that the division-wide audit committee has reviewed all school safety audits and made recommendations to the School Board as needed (annually), and that all schools in the division have completed the school safety inspection checklist (every three years).

The legislation concerning school safety audits changed in July 2005 giving total responsibility for the content and analysis of the school safety audit process to the Virginia Center for School and Campus Safety. The Virginia Department of Education no longer has legislative oversight of this process. The School Safety Protocol Checklists published by VDOE in 1997 are no longer necessary and you do not have to send certification to VDOE on their completion.

Yes.  The 2013 General Assembly passed legislation (HB 2346) mandating the Virginia Center for School and Campus Safety to develop a school safety and vulnerability checklist for schools to use and mandated schools to conduct an annual walk through inspection using these checklists.  This tool is available here. The checklists will be required to be completed on a triennial basis with the first due date of August 31, 2014. View the Guidance for use of the School Safety Inspection Checklist here.

Your superintendent may designate other specific tasks to be completed in addition to the School Safety Survey.

The school safety audit definition is explained in Virginia Code § 22.1-279.8:

"School safety audit" means a written assessment of the safety conditions in each public school to (i) identify and, if necessary, develop solutions for physical safety concerns, including building security issues and (ii) identify and evaluate any patterns of student safety concerns occurring on school property or at school-sponsored events. Solutions and responses shall include recommendations for structural adjustments, changes in school safety procedures, and revisions to the school board's standards for student conduct.

The Virginia Center for School and Campus Safety is legislatively tasked with developing a standardized report format for submission of this information.  See Virginia Code Section § 9.1-184:

The Virginia Center for School and Campus Safety shall develop a list of items to be reviewed and evaluated in the school safety audits required by this section. Such items shall include those incidents reported to school authorities pursuant to § 22.1-279.3:1.

The Virginia Center for School and Campus Safety shall prescribe a standardized report format for school safety audits, additional reporting criteria, and procedures for report submission, which may include instructions for electronic submission.

At the present time, the standardized format for submission of safety audit data as prescribed by the Virginia Center for School and Campus Safety is the Virginia School Safety Survey.  Any other “audit” processes that the division superintendent deem necessary can be collected and analyzed at the local level but need not be submitted to the Virginia Center for School and Campus Safety.

It depends. A central station dispatcher, electronic security sales representative, electronic security technician, electronic security technician's assistant, unarmed alarm respondent, locksmith and unarmed security officer can work for 90 consecutive days while completing the compulsory minimum training requirements, provided their fingerprints were submitted on or before their date of hire and their employer provides them with a 90 day authorization document.  This document along with a photo ID must be carried on duty while performing regulated services until a temporary or permanent registration is issued.

Armed Security Officers, Armed Alarm Respondent, Private Investigators, Personal Protection Specialist, Security and Detector Canine Handlers, and Armored Car Personnel must have a current registration in order to work in a registered category.

It depends. A central station dispatcher, electronic security sales representative, electronic security technician, electronic security technician's assistant, unarmed alarm respondent, locksmith and unarmed security officer can work for 90 consecutive days while completing the compulsory minimum training requirements, provided their fingerprints were submitted on or before their date of hire and their employer provides them with a 90 day authorization document.  This document along with a photo ID must be carried on duty while performing regulated services until a temporary or permanent registration is issued.

Armed Security Officers, Armed Alarm Respondent, Private Investigators, Personal Protection Specialist, Security and Detector Canine Handlers, and Armored Car Personnel must have completed all required training and have a current registration in order to work in a registered category.

 

No. DCJS cannot accept faxed applications. In order for applications to be processed, they must be filled out completely and correctly and submitted with proper payment and official documentation, if applicable. 

You are not required to submit an application for registration just because you change employment. The registration is issued to the individual and not the employer. 

No, you must complete your training within that first 90 consecutive days. Once you reach that 90th consecutive day, you must cease working in a regulated capacity until your training has been completed.

An individual who fails to complete the required training with a previous employer may be allowed another 90 consecutive days provided the individual did not fail to "timely" complete the required training with other previous employers. The decision as to whether the individual may have another 90 days should be made after consulting with DCJS. 

Yes, provided a renewal application is received and in-service training is completed, if applicable, within 60 days after expiration along with a reinstatement fee that is 50% above and beyond the renewal fee. After 60 days, the applicant must meet all initial requirements: to include submission of fingerprints, initial applications and completion of entry-level training. 

  • An individual with a criminal history involving a conviction for a felony or certain misdemeanors may be denied licensure, registration or certification.
  • Any person convicted of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude (lying, stealing, cheating); assault and battery; damage to real or personal property; controlled substances (drugs) or imitation controlled substances; prohibited sexual behavior; or firearms offenses or any felony may have their application denied.
  • Additionally, renewal applications may be denied if all renewal requirements are not met by the final reinstatement date.
  • Failure to meet registration/licensure/certification requirements as outlined in the regulations.

No. Timely renewal of applications for licenses, registrations, and certifications are the responsibility of the individual businesses, training schools, instructors, compliance agents, and individual personnel. DCJS normally sends out a reminder as a courtesy to the last known mailing address or email address, but due to current technical difficulties the Department is unable to send individual reminders. The Department is working to address this issue. 

To ensure that you renew timely, remember the expiration date is listed directly on your credential, and it is your responsibility to submit for renewal 30 days in advance of the expiration.  Should you fail to renew prior to the expiration, you may apply for reinstatement during the immediate 60 days after your expiration date with the exception of firearm endorsement expirations which must be renewed by the expiration.  There are limited reasons in which an individual may request an extension, for more information on extensions, see the Extension FAQ.

The individual must complete all initial application requirements including applicable training requirements and a criminal history check.  This includes submittal of a new registration application, entry-level training requirements and a fingerprint processing application and fingerprint card. 

Registrations are valid for 24 months for all registered categories except Special Conservator of the Peace. A Special Conservator of the Peace registration is valid for 12 months. 

Renewals should be received at least 30 days prior to expiration. 

In-service training should be completed within the 24 month period of the active registration credential.  Training must be completed prior to the expiration date. For individuals with armed registrations, the firearm endorsement requalification requirements must be completed within 90 days of the expiration of the firearm endorsement expiration, this is an annual requirement.

For training to be credited, an application must be submitted within 12 months of the completion date. 

You may apply for registration in as many categories as you wish provided you have completed the necessary training for each category. Your application cannot be processed until all training requirements for each category checked have been completed. 

Yes. You must submit the Additional Registration Category Application on-line at http://www.dcjs.virginia.gov/online, pay the appropriate fee, and complete all required training. This will NOT change the expiration date of your current registration. For example: if your registration expires in four months and you recently completed training for a new category and submit the application, your new category will expire on the same day as your current registration card, or four months from now.

There is no additional charge for adding or dropping categories on your renewal application at time of renewal. 

Some private security credentials require the submittal of official documentation for the purpose of eligibility.  This refers to personnel records; DD214; copies of business licenses indicating ownership; law enforcement transcripts; certificates of training completion; a signed letter provided directly by a current/previous employer detailing dates of employment and job duties; college transcripts; letters of commendation; private security services registrations; certifications, and/or licenses from other states; and/or other employment, training, or experience verification documents. A resume is not considered official documentation.

Visit our website  for a searchable database of training schools.

Visit our website  for a searchable database of current licensed businesses.

Exclusively owned or private. For example: Kings Dominion Amusement Park employs personnel for their security needs. Kings Dominion is a proprietary business and their security employees are "in-house" proprietary security personnel. Additionally, "loss prevention" or "assets protection" for stores such as Kmart or Target are individuals employed by the company and therefore are not required to be registered with DCJS. 

Written notification of any physical/mailing address change, email address or phone number shall be in writing and received by DCJS no later than 10 days after the effective date of the change. To ensure proper documentation, complete an Individual Address Form and submit the the Department.

That is up to an individual company's policy and is not regulated by DCJS. However, most employers prohibit such actions citing conflict of interest. You should check with your employer's policy. 

If your denial was based upon a criminal conviction, you will be provided additional information in regard to reapplication options.  Depending on the criminal conviction and time of occurrence, individuals may qualify for a waiver if 5 years has passed with no additional criminal convictions for misdemeanors.  Certain felony convictions may qualify for a waiver if a minimum of 10 to 20 years has passed since the last date of conviction.  This information will be provided in your denial notification. 

It depends on several factors. If all training requirements have been satisfied and the fingerprints submitted are deemed classifiable, a temporary letter may be issued while awaiting the results of a state and national criminal history search. 

The training school will submit the roster to us. Remember that entry-level training is good for 12 months and and initial application must be submitted within that 12 month period for you to receive credit. In-service training must be completed within the 24 months of the active registration in receive training credit for renewal. Firearms requalification must be completed within the previous 90 days of the expiration of the firearms endorsement.  The school will also provide you with a training completion form.  This form is for your records and should not be sent to the Department.  The Department will only accept training submitted by the training school on an official roster. 

Although it will arrive at our offices more quickly, it will still be processed in the usual fashion. The advantage may be that it is received faster than through the regular postal service. 

No. Expiration dates are based on the date of initial issuance of the credential. You can complete training at any time within 24 months prior to expiration, this training once reported by the school will remain on file with the Department and upon receipt of a renewal application, the registration will be renewed for 2 years from your current expiration date . We encourage you to take training early so your renewal will proceed without delays.

Yes for certain registration categories.  Armed security officers and Armored Car Personnel are required to have a firearm endorsement on their registration.  Private Investigators, Personal Protection Specialists, Security/Detector Canine Handlers, Alarm Respondents must have a firearm endorsement only if they will have access to a firearm in the performance of their duties. 

In order to be armed, you must submit the firearms endorsement application with fee, complete required firearms training, fulfill all other requirements and be eligible to carry a firearm. Certain criminal convictions and other barriers such as individuals currently under protective orders could make an applicant ineligible for a firearm endorsement.

A natural person who responds to the signal of an alarm for the purpose of detecting an intrusion of the home, business, or property of the end user.

You must possess a valid registration in this category and a firearms endorsement if you are to be armed. 

For information on how to apply and renew, please visit the Alarm Respondent page.

No. If you are unarmed, you can work for 90 consecutive days while completing the compulsory minimum training requirements, provided your fingerprints were submitted on or before their date of hire and your employer provides you with a 90 day authorization document.  This document along with a photo ID must be carried on duty while performing regulated services until a temporary or permanent registration is issued.

No. If you are unarmed, you can work for 90 consecutive days while completing the compulsory minimum training requirements, provided your fingerprints were submitted on or before your date of hire. 

01E security officer core subjects - 18 hours 

01I security officer in-service - 4 hours 

A person employed to safeguard and protect persons and property or deter theft, loss, concealment of any tangible or intangible personal property on the premises he is contracted to protect, and who carries or has access to a firearm in the performance of his duties. 

A private security registrant who carries or has immediate access to a firearm in the performance of his duties.

Any armed person who transports or offers to transport from one place to another documents or other papers, negotiable or nonnegotiable instruments, or other small items of value that require expeditious service. 

You must possess a valid registration in this category and a firearms endorsement. 

Yes. You must have a current registration in order to work in this registered category. 

Yes. You must have completed all required training and have a current registration in order to work in this registered category. 

50 hours -- 01E security officer core subjects (18 hours) + 05E armed security officer arrest authority (8 hours) + 75Esecurity officer handgun training (24 hours) + 08E shotgun training if applicable (3 hours)

8-11 hours -- 01I security officer core subjects in-service (4 hours) + 07R handgun retraining (4 hours) + 08R shotgun retraining, if applicable (3 hours)

Yes, Title 9.1-146 of the Code of Virginia limits the power of arrest for an offense occurring in his presence on such premises or in the presence of a merchant, agent, or employee of the merchant the private security business has contracted to protect, if the merchant, agent, or employee had probable cause to believe that the person arrested had shoplifted or committed willful concealment of goods. 

Yes, if it is required by your employer. The uniform must not contain the word "police" or any other word suggesting a law-enforcement officer; be worn while on duty; and include at least 1 insignia clearly identifying the name of the licensed firm, and a name plate or tape bearing, as a minimum, your last name, as described under 6 VAC 20-171-320.17 of the state regulations. 

A person who transports or offers to transport under armed security from one place to another money, negotiable instruments or other valuables in a specially equipped motor vehicle with a high degree of security and certainty of delivery. 

You must possess a valid registration in this category and a firearms endorsement. 

For information on how to apply, please visit the Armored Car Personnel page.

Yes. You must have a current registration in order to work in this registered category. 

Yes. You must have completed all required training and have a current registration in order to work in this registered category. 

28 - 31 hours -- 03E armored car personnel (12 hours) + 07E handgun (16 hours) + 08E shotgun if applicable (3 hours)

6 - 11 hours -- 03I armored car personnel (4 hours) + 07R handgun (4 hours) + 08R shotgun if applicable (3 hours)

A person who monitors burglar alarm signal devices, burglar alarms or any other electrical, mechanical or electronic device used to prevent or detect burglary, theft, shoplifting, pilferage or similar losses; used to prevent or detect intrusion; or used primarily to summon aid for other emergencies. 

Yes, if there is no regulatory authority in the state where you are physically located. You are considered an out-of-state central station dispatcher. 

You must possess a valid registration in this category. 

No. A central station dispatcher can work for 90 consecutive days while completing the compulsory minimum training requirements, provided their fingerprints were submitted on or before their date of hire and their employer provides them with a 90 day authorization document.  This document along with a photo ID must be carried on duty while performing regulated services until a temporary or permanent registration is issued.

No. A central station dispatcher can work for 90 consecutive days while completing the compulsory minimum training requirements, provided your fingerprints were submitted on or before your date of hire. 

8 hours -- 30E electronic security subjects (4 hours) + 38E central station dispatcher subjects (4 hours) 

4 hours -- 30I Electronic Security Service Subjects (4 hours). Registrations must be renewed every two years.

A person who is physically located outside the Commonwealth of Virginia that monitors burglar alarm signal devices, burglar alarms or any other electrical, mechanical or electronic device used to prevent or detect burglary, theft, shoplifting, pilferage or similar losses; used to prevent or detect intrusion; or used primarily to summon aid for other emergencies. 

Yes, if there is no regulatory authority in the state where you are physically located. You are considered an out-of-state central station dispatcher. 

You must possess a valid registration in this category.

No. A central station dispatcher can work for 90 consecutive days while completing the compulsory minimum training requirements, provided your fingerprints were submitted on or before their date of hire and your employer provides you with a 90 day authorization document.  This document along with a photo ID must be carried on duty while performing regulated services until a temporary or permanent registration is issued.

No. A central station dispatcher can work for 90 consecutive days while completing the compulsory minimum training requirements, provided their fingerprints were submitted on or before their date of hire. 

8 hours -- 30E electronic security subjects (4 hours) + 38E central station dispatcher subjects (4 hours) 

4 hours -- 30I electronic security services subjects (4 hours). Registrations must be renewed every two years.

A person who sells electronic security equipment on behalf of an electronic security business to the end user. 

Electronic or mechanical alarm signaling devices, including burglar alarms or holdup alarms or cameras used to detect intrusion, concealment or theft to safeguard and protect persons and property. This shall not include tags, labels, and other devices that are attached or affixed to items offered for sale, library books, and other protected articles as part of an electronic article surveillance and theft detection and deterrence system. 

You must possess a valid registration in this category. 

An electronic security sales representative can work for 90 consecutive days while completing the compulsory minimum training requirements, provided your fingerprints were submitted on or before their date of hire and your employer provides you with a 90 day authorization document.  This document along with a photo ID must be carried on duty while performing regulated services until a temporary or permanent registration is issued.

No. An electronic security sales representative can work for 90 consecutive days while completing the compulsory minimum training requirements, provided your fingerprints were submitted on or before your date of hire.

8 hours -- 30E electronic security subjects (4 hours) + 39E electronic security sales representative subjects (4 hours) 

4 hours -- 30I electronic security services subjects (4 hours)

A person who installs, services, maintains or repairs electronic security equipment. 

Electronic or mechanical alarm signaling devices, including burglar alarms, holdup alarms or cameras used to detect intrusion, concealment or theft to safeguard and protect persons and property. This shall not include tags, labels, and other devices that are attached or affixed to items offered for sale, library books, and other protected articles as part of an electronic article surveillance and theft detection and deterrence system. 

You must possess a valid registration in this category. 

No. An electronic security technician you can work for 90 consecutive days while completing the compulsory minimum training requirements, provided your fingerprints were submitted on or before their date of hire and your employer provides you with a 90 day authorization document.  This document along with a photo ID must be carried on duty while performing regulated services until a temporary or permanent registration is issued.

No. An electronic security technician can work for 90 consecutive days while completing the compulsory minimum training requirements, provided their fingerprints were submitted on or before their date of hire. 

14 hours -- 30E electronic security subjects (4 hours) + 35E electronic security technician subjects (10 hours) 

4 hours -- 30I electronic security services subjects (4hours)

An individual who works as a laborer under the supervision of the electronic security technician in the course of his normal duties, but who may not make connections to any electronic security equipment. 

Electronic or mechanical alarm signaling devices, including burglar alarms or holdup alarms or cameras used to detect intrusion, concealment or theft to safeguard and protect persons and property. This shall not include tags, labels, and other devices that are attached or affixed to items offered for sale, library books, and other protected articles as part of an electronic article surveillance and theft detection and deterrence system. 

You must possess a valid registration in this category. 

No. An electronic security technician's assistant can work for 90 consecutive days while completing the compulsory minimum training requirements, provided your fingerprints were submitted on or before their date of hire and your employer provides you with a 90 day authorization document.  This document along with a photo ID must be carried on duty while performing regulated services until a temporary or permanent registration is issued.

No. An electronic security technician's assistant can work for 90 consecutive days while completing the compulsory minimum training requirements, provided their fingerprints were submitted on or before their date of hire. 

4 hours -- 30E electronic security subjects (4 hours) 

4 hours -- 30I electronic security services subjects in-service (4 hours)

A person who is employed by an electronic security business in any capacity which may give him access to information concerning the design, extent, status, password, contact list, or location of an end user's electronic security equipment. 

No. The individual only needs to submit the initial fingerprint application, fingerprint card, and fee. 

“Locksmith” means any individual that performs locksmith services, or advertises or represents to the general public that the individual is a locksmith even if the specific term locksmith is substituted with any other term by which a reasonable person could construe that the individual possesses special skills relating to locks or locking devices, including use of the words lock technician, lockman, safe technician, safeman, boxman, unlocking technician, lock installer, lock opener, physical security technician or similar descriptions. 

"Locksmith services" mean selling; servicing; rebuilding; repairing; rekeying; repining; changing the combination to an electronic or mechanical locking device; programming either keys to a device or the device to accept electronic controlled keys; originating keys for locks or copying keys; adjusting or installing locks or deadbolts, mechanical or electronic locking devices, egress control devices, safes, and vaults; or opening, defeating or bypassing locks or latching mechanisms in a manner other than intended by the manufacturer with or without compensation for the general public or on property not his own nor under his own control or authority.

No. A locksmith can work for 90 consecutive days while completing the compulsory minimum training requirements, provided your fingerprints were submitted on or before their date of hire and your employer provides you with a 90 day authorization document.  This document along with a photo ID must be carried on duty while performing regulated services until a temporary or permanent registration is issued.

No. A locksmith may work for up to 90 consecutive days while completing the compulsory minimum training requirements, provided their fingerprints were submitted on or before their date of hire and they are employed by a Private Security Services company licensed by DCJS to provide locksmith services. 

18 hours -- 25E Locksmith entry level training (18 hours) 

4 hours - 25I Locksmith In-Service (4 hours)

A person who engages in the duties of providing close protection from bodily harm to any person. 

You must possess a valid registration in this category and a firearms endorsement if working in an armed capacity.

Yes. You must have a current registration in order to work in this registered category. 

Yes. You must have completed all required training and have a current registration in order to work in this registered category. 

60 - 90 hours -- 32E Personal protection specialist (60 hours) + (if armed) 07E entry-level handgun (16 hours) + 09Eadvanced handgun (14 hours)

8 hours -- 32I Personal protection specialist (8 hours) + 09 advanced handgun (8 hours) if applicable 

No. Persons who carry or have access to a firearm while on duty must have a firearm endorsement as described under 6 VAC 20-171-365 of the state regulations. If carrying a concealed handgun, the person must also have a valid concealed handgun permit, and the written permission of his employer pursuant to 18.2-308 of the Code of Virginia. 

A person who engages in the business of or accepts employment to make investigations to obtain information on (i) crimes or civil wrongs; (ii) the location, disposition, or recovery of stolen property; (iii) the cause of accidents, fires, damages, or injuries to persons or to property; or (iv) evidence to be used before any court, board, officer, or investigative committee. 

You must possess a valid registration in this category. 

For information on how to apply, please visit the Private Investigator page.

Yes. You must have a current registration in order to work in this registered category. 

Yes. You must have completed all required training and have a current registration in order to work in this registered category. 

60 hours -- 02E private investigator (60 hours) 

8 hours -- 02I private investigator (8 hours) 

Yes, provided that the investigation originates in their state of licensure or registration when the other state offers similar reciprocity to private investigators licensed and registered by the Commonwealth. View the current Limited Reciprocity Agreements for Private Investigations that the Commonwealth of Virginia has entered into with other states. 

Only if they are also registered as a personal protection specialist. 

No. Persons who carry or have access to a firearm while on duty must have a firearm endorsement as described under 6 VAC 20-171-365 of the state regulations. If carrying a concealed handgun, the person must also have a valid concealed handgun permit, and the written permission of his employer pursuant to 18.2-308 of the Code of Virginia. 

A person registered to utilize a security canine in the performance of private security duties. 

A dog that has attended, completed, and been certified as a security canine by a certified security canine handler instructor in accordance with approved department procedures and certification guidelines. "Security canine" shall not include detector dogs. 

The registered security canine handler and his security canine performing private security duties. 

You must possess a valid registration in this category. 

For information on how to apply, please visit the Security Canine Handler page.

Yes. You must have a current registration in order to work in this registered category. 

Yes. You must have completed all required training and have a current registration in order to work in this registered category. 

30 hours -- 04ES security canine handler (12 hours) + 01E security officer core subjects (18 hours)

4 hours -- 04IS security canine handler (4 hours)

Any individuals who have been appointed by a Circuit Court to perform only those powers, functions, duties and responsibilities authorized within such geographic limitations as the court may deem appropriate.

As of July 1, 2015, if you are seeking a new appointment or a reappointment with a circuit court, the law requires you to submit the standardized application, created by the Supreme Court of Virginia, Office of the Executive Secretary.

The forms may be accessed at the Supreme Court of Virginia website: www.courts.state.va.us/forms/circuit/civil.html

As of July 1, 2015, all individuals appointed or seeking appointment as a SCOP, must be registered with the department. No exemptions from registration exist under Virginia law.

Yes. The PSSAB shall have one member who is a Special Conservator of the Peace.

You must be a minimum of 18 years of age; a United States citizen or legal resident alien of the United States; and successfully complete all application requirements for registration as a special conservator of the peace, to include a background investigation, which must be completed by a law enforcement agency within the Commonwealth of Virginia. The background investigation is separate and distinct from the criminal history check, which only shows your arrest and conviction history.

A temporary registration letter will be given to the individual when they have completed all the registration requirements. The letter will state that they are now eligible to seek appointment with the Circuit Court as a Special Conservator of the Peace. If the individual’s order of appointment is granted, the individual is required to file a copy of their appointment order with the department and the law enforcement agency in which they have been granted authority. The Circuit Court maintains all discretion of granting appointments. The temporary registration letter only allows an individual to become eligible to seek appointment. Once the individual files their appointment order, DCJS will issue a registration card.

DCJS may grant training exemptions based upon prior law enforcement experience or prior experience as a Special Conservator of the Peace. Individuals must submit the partial training exemption application (PSS_WA), fee and documentation of training/experience in order to be considered for a waiver. 

No person with a criminal conviction for a misdemeanor involving (a) moral turpitude, (b) assault and battery, (c) damage to real or personal property, (d) controlled substances or imitation controlled substances as defined in Article 1 (§ 18.2-247 et seq.) of Chapter 7 of Title 18.2, (e) prohibited sexual behavior as described in Article 7 (§ 18.2-61 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of Title 18.2, (f) firearms, or (g) any felony, shall be registered as a special conservator of the peace.  In addition to existing barrier crimes, anyone who is required to register with the Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registrations is not eligible for registration with DCJS. 

No. Being registered only makes you eligible to seek appointment as a Special Conservator of the Peace. The courts have the final authority in granting appointments. 

If your training is within 12 months of application for a Special Conservator of the Peace registration, you will not be required to retake firearms training.

Each person applying for registration shall file with the department:

  • A properly completed registration application provided by the department;
  • A properly completed fingerprint form provided by the department and one completed fingerprint card (Card No. FD-258);
  • Drug and Alcohol Test conducted by First Lab;
  • Documentation verifying completion of training with a certified Virginia law enforcement agency (PIC form), certified Virginia private security services training school or waiver application for prior training;
  • A background investigation, which must be completed by a law enforcement agency within the Commonwealth of Virginia. The background investigation is separate from the criminal history check ;
  • A certificate of insurance, showing a policy of comprehensive general liability insurance with a minimum coverage of $10,000 issued by an insurance company authorized to do business in Virginia. Cash and surety bonds are not accepted.

You must contact FirstSource Solutions at 1-800-732-3784.

Each week First Lab provides the results of the drug test to DCJS.

Yes, you may appeal with a request for an Informal Fact Finding Conference through the Administrative Process Act.

You can obtain insurance from an insurance company authorized to do business in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Yes. Appointments are limited up to 4 years.

They are valid for 12 months. Registrations must be renewed every year to include completion of in-service training.

Yes. All individuals must take some training to become registered. However, you may qualify for a partial exemption. The partial exemption application (PSS_WA), fee and documentation must be submitted before a partial exemption will be granted. The amount of training waived depends on your training and/or experience. 

The compulsory minimum entry-level training hour requirement by category, excluding examinations, practical exercises and range qualification, shall be:

  • Unarmed special conservator of the peace - 24 hours
  • Armed special conservator of the peace - 40 hours


The compulsory minimum in-service training hour requirement by category, excluding examinations, practical exercises and range qualification, for a Special Conservator of the Peace shall be 8 hours.

  • Unarmed special conservator of the peace - 8 hours
  • Armed special conservator of the peace - 10-12 hours

Jurisdictions are decided by the Circuit Court where you are petitioning.

No. You can begin the registration process and take training without previously being a SCOP, however you must be employed by an authorized applicant pursuant to 19.2-13 (A). 

You seek appointment in the jurisdiction where you will be providing Special Conservator of the Peace Services.

First, you will need to register with DCJS. Once DCJS sends you a temporary registration letter making you eligible to seek appointment, you must then petition the Circuit Court for appointment.   The temporary registration letter only allows an individual to become eligible to seek appointment.  Once the individual files their appointment order with the department, the department will send a final registration letter and a photo identification card will be issued.

No. The courts decide the jurisdiction and scope of powers they grant to each individual.

Yes, but you must petition each Circuit Court in each jurisdiction requesting Special Conservator of the Peace authority separately.

A person who performs the function of observation, detection, reporting, or notification of appropriate authorities or designated agents regarding persons or property on the premises he is contracted to protect, and who does not carry or have access to a firearm in the performance of his duties. 

You must possess a valid registration in this category. 

For information on how to apply, please visit the  Unarmed Security Officer page.

No. An unarmed security officer can work for 90 consecutive days while completing the compulsory minimum training requirements, provided your fingerprints were submitted on or before their date of hire and your employer provides you with a 90 day authorization document.  This document along with a photo ID must be carried on duty while performing regulated services until a temporary or permanent registration is issued.

No. An unarmed security officer can work for 90 consecutive days while completing the compulsory minimum training requirements, provided their fingerprints were submitted on or before their date of hire. 

18 hours -- 01E security officer core subjects (18 hours) 

4 hours -- 01I security officer core subjects (4 hours) 

A bail bondsman is any person who is licensed by DCJS who engages in the business of bail bonding and is thereby authorized to conduct business in all courts of the Commonwealth.

Yes. You may carry more than one licensing category, but you must meet all the eligibility criteria for both categories before a license will be issued or renewed. 

Property, Surety, and Agent bail bondsmen must be licensed. 

This law shall not apply to a person who does not receive profit or consideration for his services. 

The main requirements for both surety and property are as follows, please review the additional requirements listed under the surety or property questions. You must submit the following to the department:

  • Initial Bail Bondsman License (PSS_BA) and $900.00 nonrefundable licensure fee.
  • Nonrefundable Category fee
    • Property Bail Bondsman- $250
    • Agent Bail Bondsman- $100   
    • Surety Bail Bondsman- $100
  • Complete the 40-hour entry-level training and pass the bail bondsman exam as prescribed by the Board.
  • Fingerprint card, fingerprint processing application (PSS_FP) and applicable non-refundable fee. For more information, view the Fingerprints page.

For those who will have access to a firearm, they must complete the requirements for a Firearms Endorsement. For more information, view the Firearms Endorsement page. 

Yes. The PSSAB shall have one member who is a licensed bail bondsman.

  1. Be a minimum of 18 years of age;
  2. Be a United States citizen or legal resident alien of the United States
  3. Have received a high school diploma or GED; and
  4. Complete training and pass the bail bondsman exam at a DCJS certified training school.
  • Persons who have been convicted of a felony within the Commonwealth, any other state, or the United States, who have not been pardoned, or whose civil rights have not been restored;
  • Employee, spouse of an employee or residing in the same household of an employee of a local or regional jail; sheriff's office; state or local police department; persons appointed as conservators of the peace pursuant to Article 4.1 (§9.1-150.1 et seq.) of this chapter; an office of an attorney for the Commonwealth; Department of Corrections, Department of Criminal Justice Services, or a local community corrections agency.

An attorney may be a licensed bondsman provided he does not provide bail for any person if he is also an attorney representing that person. 

The compulsory minimum entry-level training hour requirement excluding examinations and practical exercises, is 40 hours.  The course code for DCJS is 40E.  To see the topical outline or find a certified school, check the following links:

No provision was included in the law to provide training exemptions under the new licensure requirements. 

Persons who have been convicted of a felony within the Commonwealth, any other state, or the United States, who have not been pardoned, or whose civil rights have not been restored. 

No. Persons who carry or have access to a firearm while on duty must have a firearm endorsement as described under 6 VAC 20-250-90 of the Regulations. If carrying a concealed handgun, the person must also have a valid concealed handgun permit, and the written permission of his employer pursuant to §18.2-308 of the Code of Virginia. 

They are valid for 24 months. Licenses must be renewed prior to licensure expiration to include completion of in-service training. 

Yes. All individuals must take the entry-level training to become licensed. 

No. You can begin the licensure process and take training without previously being a bail bondsman.

Licensed bail bondsmen are exempt from the bail enforcement law and do not need to obtain a bail enforcement license in order to provide bail recovery. 

No, you will be issued a temporary licensure letter affording you thirty days to submit the power of attorney to the Department. This licensure letter does not authorize you to bond. 

Yes. Effective July 1, 2005 all previous bail bondsman credentials are null and void and in order to continue providing bail-bonding services, you must obtain a license from DCJS.

  • Submit proof of current licensing as a property and casualty insurance agent validated by the State Corporation Commission.
     
  • Submit copies of each qualifying power of attorney that will be used to provide surety. All qualifying powers of attorney filed with DCJS shall contain the name and contact information for both the surety agent and the registered agent of the issuing company. In the event an applicant for a surety bail bondsman license is unable to obtain a qualifying power of attorney prior to the issuance of his license.
  1. Additionally, prior to the issuance of a property bail bondsman license, each property bail bondsman applicant shall provide the following:
    1. Proof of collateral with a minimum equity of $200,000 on their bonds and
    2. Proof of collateral with a minimum equity of $200,000 on the bonds of each of their agents.
    3. The Department shall specifically approve any collateral that is not in the form of real estate, cash, or certificates of deposit issued by a FDIC-insured financial institution before it may be used as collateral.
  2. If the property used as collateral is real estate, such real estate shall be located in the Commonwealth. In addition, the property bail bondsman applicant shall submit to the Department:
    1. A true copy of the current real estate tax assessment thereof, certified by the appropriate assessing officer of the locality wherein such property is located or, at the option of the property bail bondsman, an appraisal of the fair market value of the real estate, which appraisal shall have been prepared by a licensed real estate appraiser, within one year of its submission.
    2. An affidavit by the property bail bondsman applicant that states, to the best of such person's knowledge, the amount of equity in the real estate and the amounts due under any obligations secured by liens or similar encumbrances against the real estate, including any delinquent taxes, as of the date of the submission. At its discretion, the Department may require additional documentation to verify these amounts.   This form can be accessed here.
  3. If the property used as collateral consists of cash or certificates of deposit, the property bail bondsman applicant shall submit to the Department verification of the amounts, and the names of the financial institution in which they are held.

Yes, each agent is defined as a property bail bondsman and must have a bail bondsman license in order to provide bail-bonding services in the Commonwealth.

The form must be submitted to the department by the 5th of the month. 

No. Each licensed bail bondsman is required by statute to submit a monthly outstanding bond report. 

If you cannot locate a case number at the time of the reporting period, use the words "Unable to obtain" in the case number field. The next month you should be able to locate the case number by working with the clerks or on the Internet courtroom case information site. 

Consecutively you need to enter each case number on each row of the report. Put the bond amount on the top one. On the others in the bond amount column put the following words: "See case number #" (include the case number of the total amount). 

The property bail bondsman must include the outstanding amount on every monthly report until the court releases the bond. 

The property bail bondsman must include the outstanding amount on every monthly report until the court releases the bond. 

The property bail bondsman must include the outstanding amount on every monthly report until the court releases the bond. 

The property bail bondsman must include the outstanding amount on every monthly report until the court releases the bond. 

A bail enforcement agent also known as a “bounty hunter” means any individual engaged in bail recovery. 

Bail recovery means an act whereby a person arrests a bailee with the object of surrendering the bailee to the appropriate court, jail, or police department, for the purpose of discharging the bailee’s surety from liability on his bond. “Bail recovery” shall include investigating, surveilling or locating a bailee in preparation for an imminent arrest, with such object and for such purpose. 

This law shall not apply to a licensed bail bondsman or law enforcement officer. 

  • Initial Bail Enforcement Agent application and $200.00 nonrefundable licensure fee.
  • Complete the 40-hour entry-level training at a DCJS certified training school.
  • Fingerprint card, Fingerprint Processing Application and applicable non-refundable fee. For more information, view the Fingerprints page.

For those who will have access to a firearm, they must complete the requirements for a Firearms Endorsement. For more information, view the Firearms Endorsement page. 

  • Be a minimum of 21 years of age;
  • Be a United States citizen or legal resident alien of the United States;
  • Have received a high school diploma or GED; and
  • Have successfully completed the Bail Enforcement Agent Entry-Level Training (44E)
  • Persons who have been convicted of a misdemeanor within the last five years; a misdemeanor that is similar to brandishing a firearm or stalking, or any felony within the Commonwealth, any other state, or the United States, who have not been pardoned, or whose civil rights have not been restored, or persons currently the subject of a protective order
  • Employee of a local or regional jail; sheriff's office; state or local police department; an office of an attorney for the Commonwealth; Department of Corrections, Department of Criminal Justice Services, or a local community corrections agency.

A misdemeanor conviction may be waived for good cause shown, so long as the conviction was not for one of the following or a substantially similar misdemeanor: carrying a concealed weapon, assault and battery, sexual battery, a drug offense, driving under the influence, discharging a firearm, a sex offense, or larceny. 

No provision was included in the law to exempt current bail enforcement agents from the new licensure requirements.

The compulsory minimum entry-level training hour requirement excluding examinations and practical exercises is 40 hours. The course code for DCJS is SC44. To see the topical outline or find a certified school, check the following links:

  1. Persons previously employed as law-enforcement officers for a local, state or federal government who have not terminated or been terminated from said employment more than five years prior to the application date must submit official documentation of the following with the application for partial exemption of the entry-level training requirements.
    1. Completion of law-enforcement entry level training; and
    2. Five continuous years of law-enforcement employment provided such employment as a law-enforcement officer was not terminated due to misconduct or incompetence.
  2. Persons having previous bail enforcement agent training and five years continuous experience must submit official documentation of the following with the application for partial exemption:
  3. Completion of previous bail enforcement agent training, which has been approved by the department and which meets or exceeds the compulsory minimum training standards promulgated by the board; and
  4. Five years continuous experience in bail recovery provided such experience did not end more than twelve months prior to submittal of licensure application.

Persons who have been convicted of a misdemeanor within the last five year; a misdemeanor that is similar to brandishing a firearm or stalking, or any felony within the Commonwealth, any other state, or the United States, who have not been pardoned, or whose civil rights have not been restored, or persons currently the subject of a protective order. 

No, persons who carry or have access to a firearm while on duty must have a firearm endorsement as described under 6 VAC 20-260-80 of the state regulations. If carrying a handgun concealed, the person must also have a valid concealed handgun permit, and the written permission of his employer pursuant to 18.2-308 of the Code of Virginia. 

The license is valid for 24 months. Licenses must be renewed prior to licensure expiration to include completion of in-service training. 

You may be approved for partial exemption of training if you meet the exemption requirements pursuant to 6 VAC 20-260-140. Some training requirements will still apply. 

No. You can begin the licensure process and take training without previously being a bail enforcement agent 

A training exemption is an issuance of credit which exempts an individual from taking some portion of the required training established under the minimum compulsory training requirements set forth in the Regulations. All entry-level exemptions are considered “partial”; some additional training will still be required. All in-service exemptions are considered “full training alternatives”, and must include the mandated hours and subjects required to fulfill the in-service requirement for the requested registration or certification category. 

For basic eligibility, refer to 6 VAC 20-171-445 of the state regulations as well as the specific requirements found on the applications. However, each application is reviewed and credit granted based upon specific requirements for each category. Submitting an application does not guarantee that you will be approved and the fees are non-refundable regardless of approval status. Also, there are no full exemptions for any entry-level requirement; even if you receive a partial exemption, you will be required to take some additional training. 

Applicants must select a basis for qualification in one of the following areas:

  • Law Enforcement and Training
  • Private Security Experience
  • Pre-Approved Alternate Private Security Training
  • Prior Firearms Training

The training must have been taken during the 24 months immediately preceding the expiration date of the active registration and must meet or exceed the specific requirements set forth in the state regulations for your given category. Certain alternative training programs have already been pre-approved and can be found on the Training Alternatives page on our website. Additional, job-related training that may meet the requirements would be training offered by vendors, or at conferences, trade associations, by law enforcement agencies, or through accredited colleges and universities. 

Other training will be evaluated based upon individual merit. Please do not call DCJS to attempt to "pre-screen” a particular training for approval - only the provider of alternate training may submit a request for pre-approval.

 
  • Armored Car Personnel (03E)
  • Electronic Security Core Subjects (30E)
  • Compliance Agent training except for the pre-approved online course
  • Armed Security Officer Arrest Authority (05E) course except for pre-approved GSA Security Officer entry-level training
  • Law enforcement-based exemptions are not eligible for Electronic Security Sales Representative or Electronic Security Technicians  

The process of reviewing and processing these applications is usually a minimum of 30 days. For renewals, we strongly recommend that you apply no later than 60 days prior to your expiration date to ensure time for approval and to meet any additional training requirements you might have. No partial training exemptions will be accepted after expiration of your registration. If you have expired and wish to reinstate, you must attend certified training through one of the PSS certified training schools within the specified reinstatement period.

Only one (1) training exemption category for registration or certification may be requested per application ($25.00 fee applies). If an individual wishes to receive credit for multiple registration or certification categories, they must submit the application, fee, and required documentation for each one. For example, an individual applying for a RA (initial registration application) as an "Armed Security Officer”, they may include 01E + 07E on one application. (There are no exemptions for 05E except for pre-approved GSA training sessions.) 

You can find specific instructions on the application process in our "How to Apply” section of the website or on the instructions attachment found with the application. 

Refers to personnel records; DD214; copies of business licenses indicating ownership; law enforcement transcripts; certificates of training completion; a signed letter provided directly by a current/previous employer detailing dates of employment and job duties; college transcripts; letters of commendation; private security services registrations; certifications, and/or licenses from other states; and/or other employment, training, or experience verification documents. A resume is not considered official documentation. 

No. Individuals who have been issued a Partial Training Exemption for an entry-level category must take the additional training outlined in their approval letter from a certified PSS training school. 

In-service requests must be for full training alternative credit. No exemption for partial hours will be granted. An individual being granted an in-service exemption must have successfully completed the training within the 12 months preceding the expiration date on their Registration or Certification. 

If you receive a partial exemption, the additional training must be completed within 12 months from the date the partial training exemption was issued. You must also apply for your Registration within 12 months of the date the exemption has been granted. After 12 months, the training exemption will expire. 

If you were not eligible or your prior training did not meet the requirements, you must attend the full training programs required for your registration or certification category. There is no appeal process for training exemptions and the fees are non-refundable. 

First, review the "How to Apply” page under Training Alternatives. It may also be helpful to review the FAQs for the specific category you are applying. Another source for additional information is to review the state regulations. Finally, you may wish to view the specific applications for both entry-level and in-service exemptions to help walk you through the process. 

  1. If you were ever terminated from any law enforcement or private security business as a result of misconductor incompetence, you are not eligible for a waiver and will need to complete the full entry-level training if you wish to be registered in Virginia.
  2. If the individual receiving a partial exemption does not apply to the department for registration within 12 months from the date of issuance, the exemption shall become null and void.
  3. You may only apply for one Registration or Certification, plus firearms training exemption, on the application. For example, you can request exemptions for security officer and handgun training and qualification on one application, but you would need to complete a new application if you also were seeking exemption for private investigator.

For a list of additional training hours required for each category, please refer to the entry-level application for training exemptions - instructions page. 

A person certified by DCJS to provide mandated instruction in private security subjects for a certified private security services training school. 

You must possess a valid certification as an instructor. Your instructor certification will state which courses you are certified to teach. 

For information on how to apply, please visit the Instructor page.

14I Firearms Instructor In-service (4 hours) and requalification on the range with a minimum range score of 85%.

Yes. You must have a certification as an instructor and work for a certified private security services school in order to instruct private security subjects. 

Yes. You must have completed training prior to applying for certification as an instructor. For more information, please View the Apply and Renew page for Instructors

No. View the training alternatives website for a list of schools that offer entry-level and/or in-service instructor training accepted by DCJS.

Certifications are valid for 24 months. 

Most likely you will not have to take our general instructor development entry-level class. You will need to submit a partial training exemption application (PSS WA) and fee in order for us to evaluate and credit your law enforcement instructor training. You will also need to show official documentation of ongoing in-service training or experience conducting training if your entry-level training was completed more than 24 months prior to applying. After you have been notified of receiving credit for your training, you will need to submit the PSS IA initial instructor application, nonrefundable fee, and documentation of experience and/or training in the categories in which you are seeking certification to instruct. 

Submit a written request to the attention of the Training Unit to include any additional documentation to verify eligibility to teach in the requested subjects. You must have training and/or experience in the specific category in order to be eligible for instructor certification. For more information, please refer to the following portion of the Regulations Relating to Private Security: 6 VAC 20-171-100. Initial instructor application. Please note that Firearms Instructors have additional requirements. Please see the question below. 

Yes. All instructors must first be certified as private security instructors before they can be certified as firearms instructors. 

  • Have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED).
  • Minimum of 3 years management or supervisory experience with a private security services business or with any federal, military police, state, county or municipal law enforcement agency, or in a related field; OR
  • Have 5 years general experience in a private security services business, with a federal, state, or local law enforcement agency, or in a related field; OR
  • Have a minimum of one-year experience as an instructor or teacher at an accredited educational institution or agency in the subject matter for which certification is requested, or in a related field.
  • Additionally, you must submit official documentation of previous training and a minimum of 2 years work experience in the category you wish to become certified to instruct. For more information, please refer to the following portion of the Regulations Relating to Private Security: 6 VAC 20-171-100. Initial instructor application.
  • Successful completion of an instructor development program, which meets or exceeds standards established by the department within three years immediately preceding the date of the application; OR
  • Successful completion of an instructor development program longer than 3 years prior to the date of application and have provided instruction during the 3 years immediately preceding, OR
  • Has provided instruction in a related field at an institution of higher learning. OR
  • Complete the DCJS general instructor (13E) development entry-level course (PSS_GE).

Official documentation verifying previous instructor experience, training, work experience and education for those subjects in which certification is requested. 

Yes. In order to be certified as a firearms instructor, you must first become certified as a private security services instructor. See next question for details. 

  • Must first be certified with the DCJS as a general instructor.
  • Successful completion of a firearm instructor development program, which meets or exceeds standards established by the department within three years immediately preceding the date of the application; OR
  • Successful completion of a firearm instructor development program longer than 3 years prior to the date of application and has provided instruction during the 3 years immediately preceding, or has provided instruction in a related field at an institution of higher learning. OR
  • Complete the DCJS firearms instructor development entry-level course.
  • Official documentation of previous training and a minimum of 2 years work experience in the category of firearms requested.
  • Official documentation that the applicant has successfully qualified with a minimum firearm range qualification of 85% in each of the following: revolver, semi-automatic handgun; and shotgun.  If applying for a Patrol Rifle instructor designation a minimum firearm range qualification of 85% is also required.

You must complete the in-service training within 12 months immediately preceding the expiration date of your instructor certification. 

A person authorized by the department to provide mandated instruction in specific portions of private security regulated programs, without a certified instructor present, for a certified private security services training school. 

A person providing mandated instruction in specific portions of private security subjects, with a certified instructor present, for a certified private security services training school.     

The school must possess written authorization from DCJS to instruct the portions of mandated subjects that you wish to teach.

The certified training school that wishes to utilize your expertise must apply on your behalf. You cannot be authorized as a subject matter specialist in general and solicit services to a school.  The school will need to submit a Subject Matter Specialist/Guest Lecturer form with your signature. The application must specifiy which area(s) of training the request addresses. A subject matter specialist or guest lecturer may only present portions of certified training sessions and not a course in its entirety.

Submit the Subject Matter Specialist/Guest Lecturer form and documentation of the individual's experience. You must receive written authorization from DCJS prior to allowing the individual to provide instruction.

You may wish to have an attorney instruct the basic law portion of 02E private investigator entry-level training. You may wish to have a law enforcement officer discuss arrest techniques in the 05E armed security officer arrest authority class. 

This question must be answered by an individual company's policy because it is not regulated by DCJS. 

No. A certified firearms instructor is required to instruct all portions of any firearms courses including range qualifications. 

Official documentation verifying previous training, work experience, and education for those subjects in which authorization to instruct is requested. 

A person designated by a principal of a certified private security services training school to assure the compliance of the private security services training school with all applicable requirements as provided in the Code of Virginia and the state regulations.

A certified instructor designated by a private security training school director to submit training school session notifications and training rosters and perform administrative duties in lieu of the director. 

You must be certified as an instructor and designated by an owner or principal of the certified training school. Currently, there is no certification as training director or assistant training director. 

Yes. You must have a certification as an instructor and work for a certified private security services school in order to instruct private security services regulated subjects or perform the functions of a school director. 

Yes. You must have a current, valid certification as an instructor, which requires ongoing training. At this time, there is no additional training required for a school director designation. 

Yes. The training director must be currently certified as an instructor even if he/she does not provide instruction. 

No, but you are not restricted from providing training for more than one certified training school as an instructor. 

A training school that is certified by DCJS for the specific purpose of training private security services business personnel in at least one category of the compulsory minimum training standards. 

Each training director/assistant training director has the authority to submit a training school roster to the DCJS electronically through our on-line system.

A single school can have four assistant training directors. 

You must possess a valid certification as a certified training school before you can offer classes. Classes must be taught by instructors certified to instruct in the categories for which the school offers instruction. 

For information on how to apply, please visit the Training School page.

A school can begin only after they have been issued a private security services training school certification or temporary certification. 

For a period of no more than 30 days, DCJS may grant a temportary exemption only in situations deemed to be an emergency by DCJS. 

The official number issued to a private security services training school certified by DCJS. The number will be 88 followed by 4 digits (88-1234). 

The certification number must be included on business advertising material, display advertisements in telephone directories, letterhead, business cards, local newspaper advertising, and contracts. 

The certification immediately becomes null and void and the school may not provide regulated services without the required liability coverage.  Each day of uninsured activity would be construed as an individual violation of the requirement to maintain current liability coverage and could result in sanctions to include monetary fines up to $2500.00 per day or suspension or revocation of the certification.

The school must submit the name of a new training director who is eligible for certification within 90 days following the sole training director's termination. 

No, a training director must be designated in writing on forms provided by DCJS. 

Training school certifications are valid for 24 months. 

Renewals should be submitted a minimum of 30 days prior to their expiration. 

No. Timely renewal of applications for licenses, registrations, and certifications are the responsibility of the individual businesses, training schools, instructors, compliance agents, and individual personnel. DCJS normally sends out a reminder as a courtesy to the last known mailing address or email address, but due to current technical difficulties the Department is unable to send individual reminders. The Department is working to address this issue. 

To ensure that you renew timely, remember the expiration date is listed directly on your credential, and it is your responsibility to submit for renewal 30 days in advance of the expiration.  Should you fail to renew prior to the expiration, you may apply for reinstatement during the immediate 60 days after the certification expiration date.  There are limited reasons in which an individual may request an extension, for more information on extensions, see the Extension FAQ.

Any person engaged in the business of providing, or who undertakes to provide, armored car personnel, security officers, personal protection specialists, private investigators, couriers, security canine handlers, security canine teams, detector canine handlers, detector canine teams, alarm respondents, locksmiths, central station dispatchers, electronic security employees, electronic security sales representatives or electronic security technicians and their assistants to another person under contract, expressed or implied.

 

Any person who engages in the business of or undertakes to (i) sell, (ii) install, service, maintain, design or consult in the design of any electronic security equipment to an end user; (iii) respond to or cause a response to electronic security equipment for an end user; or (iv) have access to confidential information concerning the design, extent, status, password, contact list, or location of an end user's electronic security equipment. 

Please Business page of our website for details. 

Please visit the Business page of our website for details. 

The official number issued to a private security services business licensed by DCJS. The number will be 11- followed by 4 digits – (11-1234). 

You must display your business license number on business advertising material, display advertisements in telephone directories, letterhead, business cards, local newspaper advertising, contracts, and any electronic medium, including the Internet, social media, and digital advertising. 

Any sole proprietor, individual listed as an officer or director with the Virginia State Corporation Commission, board member of the association, or partner of a licensed firm or applicant for licensure may be considered a "principal" of a company. This person(s) must submit fingerprints with the business license application. 

A company is required to be licensed if it is engaged in the business of providing, or who undertakes to provide, armored car personnel, security officers, personal protection specialists, private investigators, couriers, security canine handlers, alarm respondents, central station dispatchers, electronic security employees, electronic security sales representatives or electronic security technicians and their assistants to another person under contract, expressed or implied. 

Exclusively owned or private. For example: Kings Dominion Amusement Park employs personnel for their security needs. Kings Dominion is a proprietary business and their security employees are "in-house" proprietary security personnel. Additionally, "loss prevention" or "assets protection" for stores such as Kmart or Target are individuals employed by the company and therefore are not required to be registered with DCJS. 

If your business cannot provide all security services requested by your client, you may subcontract those services to another licensed private security services business.  If you choose to do this, keep in mind that a 1099 cannot be issued to the subcontractor. 

The business may begin providing this service only after they have been issued a private security services business license. 

Yes, it may be issued while waiting the results of the state and national fingerprint search. In addition, all other requirements must be met. 

Yes, it is a Class I misdemeanor to engage in the private security services business without a license. 

A $50.00 fee for each additional category of service over one category that the licensee provides. 

No, you can only solicit business once issued a private security services business license.

This is an individual designated by the business and certified by DCJS whose responsibilities are to ensure that the licensee and all employees conform to all application requirements, administrative requirements and standards of conduct pursuant to the Code of Virginia and the state regulations. Compliance agents also maintain documentation for all employees, or persons, that verifies compliance with requirements pursuant to the Code of Virginia and the state regulations. 

Yes, a business is required to maintain one compliance agent but may designate as many compliance agents as needed.  If a company has more then one compliance agent it must advise DCJS of the primary agent for contact purposes.

No, the compliance agent does not have to be trained and registered in any category unless he/she is actually providing regulated services in addition to compliance agent duties. 

If a new legal entity is created a new private security services license must be obtained.

No. Timely renewal of applications for licenses, registrations, and certifications are the responsibility of the individual businesses, training schools, instructors, compliance agents, and individual personnel. DCJS normally sends out a reminder as a courtesy to the last known mailing address or email address, but due to current technical difficulties the Department is unable to send individual reminders. The Department is working to address this issue. 

To ensure that you renew timely, remember the expiration date is listed directly on your credential, and it is your responsibility to submit for renewal 30 days in advance of the expiration.  Should you fail to renew prior to the expiration, you may apply for reinstatement during the immediate 60 days after your expiration date.   There are limited reasons in which an individual may request an extension, for more information on extensions, see the Extension FAQ.

Renewals should be submitted a minimum of 30 days prior to their expiration. 

The license immediately becomes null and void and the business may not provide regulated services without the required liability coverage.  Each day of uninsured activity would be construed as an individual violation of the requirement to maintain current liability coverage and could result in sanctions to include monetary fines up to $2500.00 per day or suspension or revocation of the license.

Documents must be maintained after employment is terminated for a period of not less than 3 years. 

Compliance agents ensure that the licensee and all employees conform to all application requirements, administrative requirements and standards of conduct pursuant to the Code of Virginia and the state regulations.  In addition, the agent ensures that all regulated employees carry a state issued photo identification.  Compliance agents also maintain documentation for all employees, or persons otherwise utilized, that verifies compliance with requirements pursuant to the Code of Virginia and the state regulations. 

The business must notify the department in writing within 10 calendar days and provide the name of the individual responsible for the licensee's adherence to applicable administrative requirements and standards of conduct during the period of replacement. 

A new certified compliance agent must be designated within 90 days following the sole compliance agent's termination.

No, a compliance agent must be designated in writing on forms provided by DCJS. 

Yes, DCJS needs written notification within 30 days of such a change. Written notification should include fingerprint cards and social security numbers of the new owners or principals. 

It can take up to 30 days to be issued a business license depending on when all requirements are met. 

Contact the Licensing Coordinator immediately to verify if any additional requirements need to be met. Any new officers will need to submit fingerprints and if there is an entity change it may require initial licensing requirements. 

A natural person employed by a licensed private security services business to assure the compliance of the private security services business and its personnel with the Code of Virginia and the state regulations relating to private security services. 

Compliance agents ensure that the licensee and all employees conform to all application requirements, administrative requirements and standards of conduct pursuant to the Code of Virginia and the state regulations.  In addition, the agent ensures that all regulated employees carry proper credentials while on duty. Compliance agents also maintain documentation for all employees, or persons otherwise utilized, that verifies compliance with requirements pursuant to the Code of Virginia and the state regulations.

  1. Be a minimum of 18 years of age
  2. Be a United States Citizen or legal resident alien of the United States
  3. File a properly completed application and fingerprints
  4. Pay the nonrefundable certification fee
  5. Satisfactory completion of department regulatory compliance entry-level training 

Employment in a related field is evaluated on a case-by-case basis. Such fields may include loss prevention or assets protection for a proprietary business; electrical work if applying for an electronic security business; military experience and/or other employment or experience that relates to security functions. 

The term "official documentation" refers to personnel records; DD214; copies of business licenses indicating ownership; law enforcement transcripts; certificates of training completion; a signed letter provided directly by a current/previous employer detailing dates of employment and job duties; college transcripts; letters of commendation; private security services registrations, certifications, and/or licenses from other states; and/or other employment, training, or experience verification documents. A resume is not considered official documentation. 

Individuals are scheduled on a first-come, first-served basis. If the training you requested was already full, you were scheduled for the next available training date prior to your expiration date. 

Individuals are scheduled on a first-come, first-served basis. If the training you requested was already full, you were scheduled for the next available training date prior to your expiration date. Apply early to reserve the training you wish to attend. If it is prior to your expiration date, we will try to put you in a training that is closer to you. However, you now have the option of completing your training online. Go to the Training Alternatives webpage for details. 

We try to schedule training all over Virginia. All of our training dates/locations are posted on the website about one year in advance. We try to accommodate everyone, but you will need to take training prior to your expiration date in order to remain current. Sometimes, that means attending a training in a location that is farther away than you would like. However, you now have the option of completing training online. Go to the Training Alternatives webpage for details. 

No, the compliance agent does not have to be trained and registered in any category unless he/she is actually providing regulated services in addition to compliance agent duties. 

Documents must be maintained after employment is terminated for a period of not less than 3 years. 

The business must notify the department in writing within 10 calendar days and provide the name of the individual responsible for the licensee's adherence to applicable administrative requirements and standards of conduct during the period of replacement. A new certified compliance agent must be designated within 90 days following the sole compliance agent's termination.

This training must be completed within 12 months preceding the expiration date. 

Yes, but they only have 60 days to complete training provided they submit a renewal application, renewal fee and reinstatement fee.

No, a compliance agent must be designated in writing on forms provided by DCJS. 

Yes, please note, some employers may prohibit such actions when acting in a dual capacity between private security services businesses, as it may be considered a conflict of interest.  You should check with your employer's policy for more clarification.

This term refers to the date any employee of a private security services business or training school performs services regulated or required to be regulated by DCJS. 

Any person who engages in the business of or undertakes to: (i) sell; (ii) install, service, maintain, design or consult in the design of any electronic security equipment to an end user; (iii) respond to or cause a response to electronic security equipment for an end user; or (iv) have access to confidential information concerning the design, extent, status, password, contact list, or location of an end user's electronic security equipment. 

A natural person who is employed by an electronic security business in any capacity which may give him/her access to information concerning the design, extent, status, password, contact list, or location of an end user's electronic security equipment. 

Electronic or mechanical alarm signaling devices including: burglar alarms, holdup alarms, or cameras used to detect intrusion, concealment or theft to safeguard and protect persons and property. This shall not include tags, labels, and other devices that are attached or affixed to items offered for sale, library books, and other protected articles as part of an electronic article surveillance and theft detection and deterrence system. 

A natural person who sells electronic security equipment on behalf of an electronic security business to the end user. 

A natural person who installs, services, maintains or repairs electronic security equipment.

A natural person who works as a laborer under the supervision of the electronic security technician in the course of his normal duties, but who may not make connections to any electronic security equipment. 

Are electronic security businesses different than other private security services businesses?
No. They must apply for a business license and adhere to all administrative requirements and standards of conduct for any private security services business. For more information on private security businesses, please see the "business" FAQ

For information on how to apply for a business license, please visit the Business page.

The business must notify the end user in writing within 30 days of the transfer of monitoring services. The agreement can only be transferred to another electronic security company licensed to do business in Virginia. 

The Director of DCJS has established criminal history guidelines for the Private Security Services Section to use when reviewing criminal histories. The Code of Virginia requires denial of a license, registration or certification for specific violations listed under §9.1-139K of the Code. Should you be denied a license, registration or certification, you can appeal that denial by submitting a written request for an Informal Fact Finding Conference under the Administrative Process Act.  The letter of denial will explain how to submit this request.

If you were arrested for a criminal offense and appeared in court, a decision was made as to your guilt or innocence. If you paid court cost, a fine or served community service and/or were sentenced to jail, you were convicted. Sometimes the court will defer judgment until you have completed some requirement and then dismiss the charge. If you are unsure whether you were convicted or not, you should list the charge and we will make a determination when the criminal history is returned. 

If you plead "nolo contendere" (no contest) you stated that while you do not wish to plead guilty you agree that the prosecutor has sufficient evidence that the court would find you guilty. This is considered the same as pleading guilty as far as the conviction is concerned. Offering an "Alford Plea" is also considered a guilty plea. 

If you have a criminal history that leads to the denial of your application, you will receive a denial letter that states why you were denied. Additionally, the compliance agent for the business you were employed by is notified that you are ineligible to work in the private security industry. 

If you are denied licensure, registration or certification you will be notified by mail. You can appeal that denial by submitting a written request for an Informal Fact Finding Conference under the Administrative Process Act.  The letter of denial will explain how to submit this request. 

These fees reflect the costs of handling, issuance, and production associated with administering and processing applications for licensing, registration, certification and other administrative requests for services relating to programs regulated by the Private Security Services Section. 

All fees are listed on each application. Go to the Forms & Applications page to view and/or download the applications.  In addition a full schedule of fees is available in the regulations 6VAC20-171-20.

For any Private Security or SCOP programs, a reinstatement fee must be submitted for renewal applications receivedwithin 60 days after a license, registration or certification has expired. The reinstatement fee is 50% above and beyond the renewal fee and must be submitted with all appropriate paperwork before your renewal will be issued.   Bail Bondsmen and Bail Enforcement Agents do not have provisions for reinstatement.

DCJS may suspend the registration, license, certification, or authority it has granted any person, licensee or registrant.

No licenses, certifications or registrations will be issued until all outstanding fees or monetary penalties owed to DCJS are paid in full. 

No. Applications and/or documentation received without proper fees cannot be processed and will be returned. 

Please see the fingerprints page of our website for details. 

Fingerprints must be submitted by anyone wishing to receive a credential for any program regulated by the Private Security Services Section at DCJS. 

Current and /former law enforcement officials who have been fingerprinted by a federal, state or local law enforcement agency do not register the results with DCJS. Since the criminal history information cannot be distributed to any other source, we cannot obtain the criminal history from a previous employer. Additionally, while one's fingerprints do not change, a criminal history may.

This term refers to the date any employee of a private security services business or training school performs services regulated or required to be regulated by DCJS. 

  1. "Principal" means any sole proprietor, individual listed as an officer or director with the Virginia State Corporation Commission, board member of the association, or partner of a licensed firm or applicant for licensure.
  2. "Supervisor" means any natural person who directly or indirectly supervises registered or certified private security services business personnel.

The Criminal Justice Services Board, through DCJS, is obligated to secure the public safety and welfare against incompetent, unqualified, unscrupulous, or unfit persons engaging in the activities of private security services. An individual with a criminal history involving a conviction of a felony or certain misdemeanors may be denied licensure, registration or certification. Any person convicted of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude (lying, stealing, cheating); assault and battery; damage to real or personal property; controlled substances (drugs) or imitation controlled substances; prohibited sexual behavior; or firearms offenses or any felony may have their application denied.  Bail Bondsmen, Bail Enforcement Agents, and SCOP should see their specific FAQ's relating to this question. 

When the fingerprints are submitted to the Virginia State Police (VSP), they determine if the prints are classifiable or unclassifiable. If they are classifiable, the criminal history is returned to the DCJS. If the fingerprints are unclassifiable, the VSP notifies the DCJS and the applicant is notified to submit another fingerprint card. The second submission is at no cost or penalty to the applicant if returned within 30 days.

Armored car personnel are required to submit fingerprints each renewal period for a criminal history check. This is a federal requirement regarding the inter-state travel of armored cars. 

A registration is issued to an individual person and not the employer. Provided your registration is valid, you will not need to submit fingerprints again unless you are registered as armored car personnel. 

A criminal history is normally returned within 30 days after the submission of fingerprints to the Virginia State Police. However, it may take longer if the fingerprints are unclassifiable. 

Whenever you submit an initial application  for a credentialyou must submit for a new criminal history records search with a new fingerprint application, fingerprint cards and fee unless you submitted fingerprints within the previous 120 days. 

If fingerprints were submitted within the last 120 days it must have been for the purpose of applying for another credential within the same regulatory program. For example you applied for a registration with the Private Security Services Program and you now wish to apply for a Private Security Services compliance agent certification. 

If you are applying under one of the other regulatory programs, Bail Bondsmen, Bail Enforcement Agents, Special Conservators of the Peace or a Tow Truck Driver Authorization, you must submit new fingerprint cards, application and fee.  The criminal history eligibility requirements are different for each program.

You are immediately notified of the results of the National Criminal History Search if a conviction is reported that would deny you eligibility for applying for a credential. This notification is delivered by mail to your last known mailing address.  If your private security services business employer is known, the compliance agent of that business is only notified that your application has been denied.

Every person licensed as a private security services business, certified as a private security services training school or registered as a Special Conservator of the Peace must have insurance or a surety bond. 

Insurance may be obtained from any surety company authorized to do business in the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

No, but you must use a company authorized to do business in the Commonwealth. 

Private Security Services Businesses and Training Schools require: 

  • A surety bond in the amount of $100,000 executed by a surety company authorized to do business in Virginia, or
  • A certificate of insurance reflecting the department as a certificate holder, showing a policy of comprehensive general liability insurance with a minimum coverage of $100,000 per individual occurrence and $300,000 general aggregate issued by an insurance company authorized to do business in Virginia

Special Conservators of the Peace require: 

  • A surety bond or cash bond in the amount not to be less than $10,000 executed by a surety company authorized to do business in Virginia, or
     
  • A certificate of insurance reflecting the department as a certificate holder, showing a policy of comprehensive general liability insurance with a minimum coverage of $10,000 issued by an insurance company authorized to do business in Virginia.

The license, registration or certification is immediately null and void. The business, school or Special Conservator of the Peace will have to complete an initial application and meet all initial application requirements. 

No, the Code of Virginia states that a surety bond or general liability insurance is a requirement for licensure and that the bond or insurance must be maintained as long as the business is licensed by DCJS.

No, the Code of Virginia states that a surety bond or general liability insurance is a requirement to be registered as a Special Conservator of the Peace and that the bond or insurance must be maintained as long and the Special Conservator of the Peace is registered by DCJS. 

No, the Code of Virginia states that a surety bond or general liability insurance is a requirement to be certified as a training school and that the bond or insurance must be maintained as long as the school is certified by DCJS. 

Submit a Certificate of Insurance, reflecting the Department of Criminal Justice Services as Certificate Holder and in the prescribed amount.  This information must be submitted when applying for an initial or renewal license or school certification.  The licensed business or training school is required to maintain the liability in the prescribed amount at all times. 

The license or school certification immediately becomes null and void and the business or school may not provide regulated services without the required liability coverage.  Each day of uninsured activity would be construed as an individual violation of the requirement to maintain current liability coverage and could result in sanctions to include monetary fines up to $2500.00 per day or suspension or revocation of the license or certification.

Special Conservator of the Peace Registrations immediately become null and void and the Special Conservator may not provide regulated services.

Yes, the insurance or bond must be secured, in an amount fixed by DCJS, before the license or certification will be operative. The liability or surety bond must be maintained as long as the licensee or certificate holder is licensed or certified by DCJS. 

No, this is not always true. The fact that DCJS is a Certificate Holder should insure that notice is given if the policy is cancelled for any reason, but does not necessarily mean that the insurance company will send a certificate of insurance to DCJS each time the policy is renewed. 

Please see the individual registration category in the Programs section of our website for details. 

Please see the individual registration category in the Programs section of our website for details. 

That depends upon which category you wish to work. A central station dispatcher, electronic security sales representative, electronic security technician, electronic security technician's assistant and an unarmed security officer can work for ninety consecutive days while completing the compulsory minimum training requirements provided their fingerprints were submitted on or before their date of hire. All other categories must have completed all required training and have a current registration in order to work in a registered category. 

The current regulation [6 VAC 20-171-120.D] specifies that an individual seeking registration as an unarmed security officer, alarm respondent, central station dispatcher, electronic security sales representative, electronic security technician, or electronic security technician's assistant may be employed for a period not to exceed 90 consecutive days in any categories listed above while completing the compulsory minimum training standards, provided the individual is not employed in excess of 120 days without having been issued a registration form the DCJS.  In essence, you have 90 days to complete the required training and your temporary registration letter will allow you to continue to work, however, you must then be properly registered with a valid Photo ID card in hand, no later than the 120th day of beginning employment.  

View our searchable directory of training schools. You can search by the course you wish to take. 

Training is required to be reported to DCJS by the certified training school. Individuals should not send a training completion form to the DCJS. You can verify submission of training through the school you attended. Remember that training is not the only requirement for certification and/or registration. You must also meet all other application requirements prior to your credentials being issued by DCJS. 

The training completion form is for your records only. Your employer's compliance agent should keep a copy in your employee file. Do not send it to DCJS. The school will submit a roster to us verifying your training. 

For training to be credited, an application must be submitted within 12 months of the completion date. 

You must receive training once during each 24 month period of registration or certification and prior to the expiration date of the credential.

Ffirearms training must be completed annually as firearms endorsements are only issued on a one-year basis.  Firearms retraining/requalification will only be credited if it is completed with the last 90 days prior to the firearm endorsement expiration date.

No. Expiration dates are based on application date. You can complete training at any time during the 24 months prior to expiration and your registration will be renewed for 2 years from your current expiration date.

For armed registrations, firearm retraining/requalification will only be credited if completed within the 90 days immediately preceding the expiration date of the endorsement.

Partial training exemptions are evaluated on a first-come, first-served basis and are not guaranteed for credit unless pre-approved. Therefore, to ensure that you have ample time to attend additional training if required, you should submit the partial training exemption application at least 90 days prior to your expiration date. However, if you have attended a pre-approved training alternative listed on our website, you should submit your application at least 30 days prior to your expiration date. 

Yes, DCJS cannot accept training that is more than 12 months old so you will need to start over with entry-level training. 

We schedule individuals for training conducted by DCJS such as compliance agent and general instructor development. For all other training in any registered category, you must contact the appropriate school and register for their training directly. 

Individuals are scheduled in the order that their applications with payment are received. If the training you requested was already full, you were scheduled for the next available training date prior to your expiration date

Most likely, yes. Individuals are scheduled in the order that their applications with payment are received. If the training you requested was already full, you were scheduled for the next available training date prior to your expiration date. Apply early to reserve the training you wish to attend. If it is prior to your expiration date, we will try to put you in a training that is closer to you. For other options, please see a list of accepted alternatives on our website. 

We try to schedule training all over the state. All of our training dates/locations are posted on this website about one year in advance. We try to accommodate everyone, but you will need to take training prior to your expiration date in order to remain current. Sometimes, that means taking training in a location that is farther away than you would like. For other options, please see a list of accepted alternatives on our website. 

No, DCJS cannot accept faxed applications. In order for applications to be processed, they must be filled out correctly and submitted with proper payment and official documentation, if applicable. 

No. Individuals are scheduled in the order that their applications with payment are received. We cannot reserve seats in a class. 

Individuals are scheduled in the order that their applications with payment are received. Applications are received every day for scheduling. This website is updated nightly.

Most likely, yes. If you have previous training and/or experience for the category in which you wish to register, you may qualify for a waiver (partial training exemption). For information on how to apply for a waiver, please see the "how to apply" section. 

Yes, although how much training is determined on a case-by-case basis. You must submit the partial training exemption application and fee along with documentation concerning the school, course syllabus, your grade and instructor credentials.

Yes, although how much training is determined on a case-by-case basis. You must submit the waiver application (PSS_WA) and fee along with documentation concerning the school, course syllabus, your grade and instructor credentials. 

There are some alternatives. Please see a list of accepted alternatives on this website. 

Some events are accepted. Please see a list of accepted conferences and seminars on this website. 

Some courses are accepted. Please see a list of accepted courses on this website. 

Investigations conducted in response to a complaint become a matter of public record when the investigation and adjudication is completed. 

Public and they are available upon request. 

The respondent in a complaint has the right to know the source of the complaint. The respondent will be informed if the complaint is submitted anonymously. Once DCJS knows the identity of the complainant, we cannot withhold that information from the respondent.

After an investigation is completed and determined unfounded, the complainant and respondent are notified by mail that the investigation is closed and was unfounded. 

When an investigation is completed and violations of the Code of Virginia or Administrative Code (regulations) are founded, the respondent is notified by Consent Order. The Consent Order is a written, binding agreement that explains the violations and what the sanction may be. The sanction can range from probation to revocation to monetary penalty up to $2,500 per violation or any combination thereof. The sanction guidelines were endorsed by the Criminal Justice Service Board and take into consideration whether the offense is a 1st, 2nd or 3rd incident. The penalties become more severe if violations are repeated.

The results of a complaint investigated by DCJS are available to the public. 

Complaints may be submitted: (1) In writing, or on a form provided by DCJS, signed by the complainant; (2) In writing, submitted anonymously, providing sufficient detailed information for DCJS to conduct an investigation; or (3) Via telephone, providing the complaint alleges activities which constitute a life-threatening situation, or have resulted in personal injury/loss to the public or to a consumer, or which may result in imminent harm or personal injury, and that provides sufficient detailed information for DCJS to conduct an investigation. . 

Yes, however,  you must provide enough detail for DCJS to conduct an investigation. If you wish to remain anonymous, you cannot reveal your identity to anyone with DCJS and/or connected with this investigation. If we know your identity, we cannot refuse to provide it if requested. 

A complaint may be filed via telephone only if the complaint alleges activities which constitute a life-threatening situation, or have resulted in personal injury/loss to the public or to a consumer, or which may result in imminent harm or personal injury, and that provides sufficient detailed information for DCJS to conduct an investigation. 

Yes, you should provide written information identifying the licensed private security business and the name of the investigator you contracted with to handle your investigation. You must provide information that can establish a violation of theVirginia Code or Adminstrative Code (regulations) governing private security.  Fee disputes will not be investigated unless the terms of the contract were not fulfilled.

 

DCJS does not regulate the fees charged by a private security business. We do require the business to maintain documentary evidence of terms between the client and the business. You can file a complaint if you feel the business did not meet its agreement with you. 

By state law, all monetary penalties imposed as a sanction shall be deposited into the state treasury to the credit of the State Literary Fund. The Department of Criminal Justice Services does not benefit from monetary penalties.

You may appeal the decision by submitting a written request for an informal fact-finding conference. The decisions may continue to be appealed through a formal hearing, a Criminal Justice Services Board hearing, and finally the Circuit Court. 

An informal fact-finding conference is the first step in the appeal process if the respondent disagrees with the DCJS's decision to deny or sanction. This hearing is conducted to allow the respondent to dispute evidence or introduce evidence of mitigating circumstances. 

You can request that information in a written request to the Security Services Section of DCJS.

You can request that information in a written request to the Security Services Section of DCJS.

You must submit the extension request form. It must be received prior to the expiration date with official documentation (include a copy of the physician's record of the injury or illness or a copy of the government orders) justifying the reason for the request and a projected date when the individual, business, or training school will be in compliance. The private security services business, individual or school must be non-operational during the period of extension.

The following are the only circumstances for which extensions may be granted:

  • Extended illness;
  • Extended injury;
  • Military or foreign service; or
  • Any emergency temporary assignment of private security personnel for purposes of (i) natural disaster, (ii) homeland security or (iii) documented threat by the private security services business or training school for which the personnel is employed.

The estimated date of when you will be able to fulfill all renewal requirements. The date can be extended if you are given new military orders or if your physical recovery is progressing slower than originally predicted. 

Yes. Additional renewal extensions may be approved upon written request of the person, business, or training school, provided an extension request is submitted with additional supporting documentation. The total time for renewal extension, including additional extensions, shall not exceed 12 months beyond the original expiration date.

No. Timely renewal of applications for licenses, registrations, and certifications are the responsibility of the individual businesses, training schools, instructors, compliance agents, and individual personnel, although DCJS sends out renewal reminders as a courtesy to the last known mailing address. 

Businesses, training schools and individual registrants or certified personnel can request a renewal extension. 

No. Extension requests can only be submitted prior to the expiration of the license, registration or certification.This restriction may be waived based on the Department's individual evaluation of circumstances that justifiy a waiver. 

No. The private security services person, business, or training school shall be non-operational during the period of extension unless given an exemption by the Department in an emergency situation.

Physician's note, military or government orders or documentation of emergency temporary assignment.

The term "armed" refers to certain private security registrants, bail bondsmen, bail enforcement agent, or SCOP who carries or has immediate access to a firearm in the performance of his duties.

Armed Private Security Services registration categories.  Armed security officers and Armored Car Personnel are required to have a firearm endorsement on their registration.  Private Investigators, Personal Protection Specialists, Security/Detector Canine Handlers, Alarm Respondents must have a firearm endorsement only if they will have access to a firearm in the performance of their duties. 

Locksmiths and employees of an Electronic Security Services Business with the exception of alarm respondents are exempt from the requirement to have a firearm endorsement when such person carries with him a valid concealed handgun permit issued in accordance with 18.2-308 of the Code of Virginia.

A firearms endorsement is a verification on a valid registration card to show that an individual has successfully completed the annual firearms training and has met the requirements as set forth in the regulations.  Armed registrations are issued for a two year period but the firearm endorsement will expire annually on the same month as the month of expiration of the Registration.  If a registration expires in December every two years, the firearm endorsement will expire each year in December.

 

Please see the Programs section of our website for details. 

Yes for certain Private Security Services registration categories.  Armed security officers and Armored Car Personnel are required to have a firearm endorsement on their registration.  Private Investigators, Personal Protection Specialists, Security/Detector Canine Handlers, Alarm Respondents must have a firearm endorsement only if they will have access to a firearm in the performance of their duties. 

Bail Bondsmen, Bail Enforcement Agents and Special Conservators of the Peace licensure and registrations may also be armed if there is access to a firearm in the performance of their duties as well.

In order to be armed, you must submit the firearms endorsement application with fee, complete required firearms training, fulfill all other requirements and be eligible to carry a firearm. Certain criminal convictions and other barriers such as individuals currently under protective orders could make an applicant ineligible for a firearm endorsement.

Firearms training must be completed before the firearms endorsement will be issued. After that, firearms retraining must be completed annually but only within the 90 days immediately preceding the expiration date of the active endorsement.  If training is not completed by the expiration date, entry level training will be required to reapply for an endorsement. 

You must contact the individual range or school for that information. 

If you carry or have access to a firearm during the course of your duties in certain registered categories, you must have a firearm endorsement issued by DCJS to carry a firearm. This includes successful completion of training and submittal of the firearms endorsement application and fee.

Locksmiths and employees of an Electronic Security Services Business with the exception of alarm respondents are exempt from the requirement to have a firearm endorsement when such person carries with him a valid concealed handgun permit issued in accordance with 18.2-308 of the Code of Virginia.

No. Unless otherwise exempted by law, to carry concealed in the course of his/her duties, an individual must have in his/her possession a valid registration with a firearms endorsement; permission of employer; and a valid concealed handgun permit.

Locksmiths and employees of an Electronic Security Services Business with the exception of alarm respondents are exempt from the requirement to have a firearm endorsement when such person carries with him a valid concealed handgun permit issued in accordance with 18.2-308 of the Code of Virginia.

Yes. You must qualify with each type of action and caliber of firearm that you will carry. 

Yes, provided they have successfully completed an entry-level handgun course (07E) or the security officer handgun course (75E) from a DCJS-certified training school.

No. Firearms training exemptions can only be given to those who have completed qualification within the past 12 months at a criminal justice agency, academy or correctional department within Virginia for initial firearm endorsement applications, or within the 90 days immediately preceding the expiration of an active firearm endorsement. You must submit the waiver application, fee and documentation to see if your training qualifies.

Yes, however, your training must have occurred within the past 12 months from a criminal justice agency, academy or correctional department within Virginia if applying for an initial firearm endorsement or within the 90 days immediately proceding the expiration date of an active firearm endorsement. You must submit the waiver application, fee and documentation to see if your training qualifies.

An exemption may be granted provided the training meets or exceeds the requirements in the state regulations and qualification occurred on a DCJS approved firearm course. You must submit the partial training exemption application, fee and documentation to see if your training qualifies.

Yes, provided that a renewal application is received within 60 days after expiration date along with a reinstatement fee that is 50% above and beyond the renewal fee. After 60 days, the applicant must meet all initial requirements to include submission of fingerprints, initial applications with fees and completion of entry-level training.  Provisions are not available for reinstatement for Bail Bondsmen and Bail Enforcement Agents.

No. Timely renewal of applications for licenses, registrations, and certifications are the responsibility of the individual businesses, training schools, instructors, compliance agents, and individual personnel. DCJS normally sends out a reminder as a courtesy to the last known mailing address or email address, but due to current technical difficulties the Department is unable to send individual reminders. The Department is working to address this issue. 

To ensure that you renew timely, remember the expiration date is listed directly on your credential, and it is your responsibility to submit for renewal 30 days in advance of the expiration.  Should you fail to renew prior to the expiration, you may apply for reinstatement during the immediate 60 days after your expiration date with the exception of firearm endorsement expirations which must be renewed by the expiration.  There are limited reasons in which an individual may request an extension, for more information on extensions, see the Extension FAQ.

All renewals must be received at least 30 days prior to expiration. 

Bail Bondsmen Licenses, Bail Enforcement Licenses and Firearm Endorsements must be renewed with all applicable training completed prior to the expiration date or initial application requirements must be met to include initial fees, fingerprint submittal and entry-level training requirements.  Firearm endorsement requalification may be completed only within the 90 days immediately preceding the expiration of the active endorsement.

No. The regulations do not permit DCJS to reinstate renewal applications received after the 60 day reinstatement period has expired. 

No, you are not authorized to work during the reinstatement period. 

Yes, as long as you are able to provide current liability insurance at the time of reinstatement.  You must be non-operational until you are reinstated.  If you are in violation of this requirement and provide unlicensed, uninsured services, you may face monetary sanctions up to $2500.00 per day of uninsured activity or be denied the ability to reinstate or reapply for a license or certification.

"Private security services business" means any person engaged in the business of providing, or who undertakes to provide, armored car personnel, security officers, personal protection specialists, private investigators, couriers, security canine handlers, security canine teams, detector canine handlers, detector canine teams, alarm respondents, locksmiths, central station dispatchers, electronic security employees, electronic security sales representatives or electronic security technicians and their assistants to another person under contract, express or implied.

If your business cannot provide all security services requested by your client, you may subcontract those services to another licensed private security services business. If you choose to do this, keep in mind that a 1099 cannot be issued to the subcontractor. 

You may apply for registration in as many categories as you wish provided you have completed the necessary training for each category. Your application cannot be processed until all training requirements for each category marked has been completed. 

Yes. You must submit the Additional Registration Category Application on-line at http://www.dcjs.virginia.gov/online, pay the appropriate fee, and complete all required training. This will NOT change the expiration date of your current registration. For example: if your registration expires in four months and you recently completed training for a new category and submit the application, your new category will expire on the same day as your current registration card, or four months from now.

There is no additional charge for adding or dropping categories on your renewal application at time of renewal.

Currently the only reciprocity agreement that is available is for private investigators. The states that qualify are North Carolina, Georgia, Tennessee, Oklahoma, Louisiana and Florida. It only applies if an investigation originates in the investigator's home state and carries over to one of the agreement states. That allows the investigator to enter the reciprocity state to pursue the investigation for a period of 30 days. If an investigation should take longer than the 30 days allotted, DCJS must be notified.

Some private security credentials require the submittal of official documentation for the purpose of eligibility.  This refers to personnel records; DD214; copies of business licenses indicating ownership; law enforcement transcripts; certificates of training completion; a signed letter provided directly by a current/previous employer detailing dates of employment and job duties; college transcripts; letters of commendation; private security services registrations; certifications, and/or licenses from other states; and/or other employment, training, or experience verification documents. A resume is not considered official documentation.

 

The purpose is to secure the public safety and welfare against incompetent, unqualified, unscrupulous or unfit persons engaging in private security services. 

Visit our website to view our searchable database of training schools. 

Visit our website to view our searchable database of current licensed businesses. 

Apply for a Tow Truck Driver Registration through our online application portal.  The total cost for the online application portion is $112. Once the online application is completed, you will receive instructions on how to have your fingerprints scanned through Fieldprint to complete the criminal background check.

Submission of an application does not grant authority to drive a tow truck.  Tow truck drivers are required to have their tow truck driver registration document in their possession when driving a tow truck.  

Once DCJS receives a completed application, we have to await the results of the Federal criminal history check before making a licensing decision. This can take up to 60 days.

If your registration has expired, you must submit an Initial Application to obtain a new Tow Truck Driver Registration.

Checks and money orders are not accepted.  A credit card may be used for the bulk processing of payments for multiple applicants. 

The criminal history background check process is handled through the Virginia State Police and FBI using your fingerprints. In compliance with state and federal guidelines, fingerprints must be destroyed after processed.

As of October 1, 2018, DCJS no longer accepts paper applications. Applications must be submitted through the online application portal

A delay in processing may result from submitting an incomplete application or if the applicant delays getting their fingerprints submitted through Fieldprint. If the applicant completed their fingerprints at Fieldprint prior to submitting their online application, they must contact DCJS to move their application forward.

Persons that have been convicted of a felony are not automatically denied a Tow Truck Driver registration.  To review the criminal history background check requirements, please visit Section 17.1-805.C. of the Code of Virginia utilizing this link.   http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/17.1-805/

Changing an address or requesting a duplicate registration can be done by logging into your online account.  A change of address should be submitted within ten days of your change of address.  This assists us in our communications with applicants and registrants.

No.  All registration and form fees are nonrefundable. 

  • Submit Private Security Services, SCOP, Bail Bondsman, and Bail Enforcement Agents Applications including Initial, Renewal, and Additional Categories
  • Submit Firearm Endorsement Applications including Initial and Renewal
  • Submit Private Security Compliance Agent Certification including Initial and Renewal
  • Submit Private Security Services Business License Applications including Initial, Renewal, and Additional Categories
  • Submit Instructor Certification Applications including Initial, Renewal, and Additional Categories
  • Submit Training School Applications including Initial, Renewal, and Additional Categories
  • Submit Tow Truck Initial and Renewal Applications
  • Make Employer Bulk Payments for their Employees Registration, License, or Certification
  • Request Duplicate/Replacement Registration, License, or Certificate
  • Find a Training School
  • Find Online Training Information
  • Find DCJS Compliance Agent/Instructor In-classroom Training
  • Request Training Forms
  • Perform Individual, Business License, and Training School Verifications
  • Check Application Status
  • Internet Explorer
  • Chrome
  • Safari

*** No mobile platforms are compatible at this time.

Online services are available 24 hours a day, seven days a week, and 365 days a year.  (Occasionally, the services may be unavailable during maintenance or system outages.)

Currently, only major credit cards are accepted: Visa, Mastercard, Discover and American Express.

First, you need to create an account using your Social Security Number. This also requires a valid email address and the creation of a password. It is important that you write down the email, password, and answers to the security questions that you used to create your account. Your account will allow you to login at any time to view and make changes to your registration, license, or certification.

Click on the link “Forgot Password” on the login page. This will prompt you to enter the answers to the security questions that you answered when you created your account. Once the questions have been answered, the login page will appear. You will receive an email with a temporary password. Use the temporary password to login and then change the password to one you can remember.

For assistance or troubleshooting your online account, you may contact a System Administrator at privatesecurityonline@dcjs.virginia.gov.

Yes.  You must create a separate login for each credential as an individual registration, a business license, and/or school certification are separate under the Virginia Administrative Code.

Yes. A registration, license, or certification may be renewed online during the renewal cycle. The renewal cycle begins 90 days before the expiration date of your credential.

Yes.  There is a fee required for a duplicate that may be paid by credit card during the online process.  

No.  A name change request must be accompanied by a copy of a marriage license, divorce decree, court order, or other official document that verifies the name change.  Please review the required documentation on the bottom of the following attachment:  Acceptable Documents for Verifying Leagal Presence / Name Change

No.  Individuals are required to have their registration, license or certification on their person (or posted) prior to carrying out the registered, licensed or certified activities.  The submission and payment of an application online does not grant authority to provide services.

In the section of the online application where supplemental documents are requested, there is an upload feature for you to submit those documents. Please pay close attention to these sections and upload the documents before submitting the completed application.

Yes.  It is strongly encouraged that you submit your application before submitting fingerprints in order to receive the Fieldprint code needed to schedule your fingerprint appointment. The code is on the receipt page in bold letters.

No.  As of October 1, 2018, DCJS no longer accepts paper applications.

Yes.  If you must leave an application during processing, you may come back to it at a later date, but the application can only remain incomplete for 30 days before it is discarded in the system.  

No. All registration, licensing, and certification fees are non-refundable.

You will have a total of 30 days to conclude the application process after the date you submit your online application and payment.  If you do not submit the required documentation within the 30 day timeframe, your application will become incomplete and will be cancelled.

You may check your application status on our web site at https://www.cms.dcjs.virginia.gov/GLSuiteWeb/Clients/VADCJS/Public/ApplicationStatus/Search.aspx

PLEASE NOTE: Once all requirements have been met, DCJS will mail your registration, license, or certification to the address of record.  

Businesses: PSS@dcjs.virginia.gov

Compliance Agent Online: Distance.learning@dcjs.virginia.gov

Training Schools: PSSTraining@dcjs.virginia.gov

Registrants: PSS@dcjs.virginia.gov

Tow Truck Drivers: towing@DCJS.virginia.gov

Bail Bondsman: BB@dcjs.virginia.gov

Bail Enforcement Agents: BEA@dcjs.virginia.gov

Special Conservator of the Peace (SCOP): SCOP@dcjs.virginia.gov

Administrator for Online Regulatory Licensing System: PrivateSecurityOnline@DCJS.virginia.gov

No, you will not be able to make any changes or modify an application once the payment has been made. If you need assistance with removing a category that you may have selected in error, you will need to contact the Department at 804-786-4700 or via email PSS@dcjs.virginia.gov

Effective July 1, 2017, Private Security Services Registrants shall be issued a photo-identification card.

All Private Security Services Registrants will be able to obtain the new photo-identification card. This includes:

  • Armored Car Personnel
  • Canine Handlers (Detector and Security)
  • Central Station Dispatchers*
    • See FAQ below ("What if I live outside of Virginia?")
  • Electronic Security Technicians
  • Electronic Security Technician Assistants
  • Electronic Security Sales Representatives
  • Locksmiths
  • Personal Protection Specialists (Armed and Unarmed)
  • Private Investigators\
  • Security Officers (Armed and Unarmed)

Please note: this does not include Compliance Agents or Instructors who are certified by our Department.

You will be issued a new photo-identification card if you submit an application on or after July 1, 2017 that would result in the issuance of a new credential. Examples are:

  • Initial Registration Applications
     
  • Renewal Applications (including firearm endorsement renewals)
     
  • Additional Category Applications
     
  • Firearm Endorsement Applications
     
  • Replacement Registration Applications

Please note: If you submit your application prior to July 1, 2017, you will not be issued a photo-identification card. To take advantage of the new photo-identification card, submit your registration renewal application on or after July 1st. If you are not yet due for renewal you can submit a replacement/duplicate registration application and fee on or after July 1, 2017.

DCJS has partnered with the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to make this process easy and convenient for you. If you already have a photo on file with the DMV, you don’t need to do anything! If there is no photo on file, you will be issued a letter that serves as your approved registration. This letter will also instruct you on what to do in order to have your photo taken so a card can be issued to you.

No problem! If there is no photo on file, you will be issued a letter that serves as your approved registration – no card is needed. However, if you still want a photo-identification card your letter will provide instructions on what is needed to obtain a card.

Please note: you will be required to visit a Virginia DMV to take a photo. 

The new fee schedules only apply to Private Security Registrants. The fee schedule will be effective July 1, 2017 and is as follows:

  • Renewal Registration Application Fee: $34.00
     
  • Initial Registration Application Fee: $39.00
     
  • Reinstatement Fee: $17.00
     
  • Additional Registration Category Fee: $34.00
     
  • Replacement Registration ID Fee: $34.00
     
  • Firearm Endorsement Fee (renewal or additional category): $24.00

Please allow 7-14 business days to receive your card once all registration requirements have been satisfied.

To obtain a duplicate ID, you may submit and pay for a Duplicate Replacement Application by creating and logging into your online account here or by submitting the paper application and applicable fee to our office for processing. If your current registration was issued prior to July 1, 2017 but you would like to obtain the new photo ID prior to your next renewal, you can also submit the Duplicate/Replacement Registration Application and applicable fee for that purpose.

To review the legislation change refer to §9.1-102.1 of the Code of Virginia by clicking here.

We are here to answer any questions you may have. You can contact our Customer Service Unit at 804-786-4700. You may also email us at ora.info@dcjs.virginia.gov

A threat assessment is a fact-based process emphasizing an appraisal of observed (or reasonably observable) behaviors to identify potentially dangerous or violent situations, to investigate/assess them, and to manage/address them.

The goal of threat assessment is to determine if the subject is on a pathway to violence.  The overall goal of threat assessment is to ensure the safety of all involved.  

Higher Education

Virginia Code states that each public institution of higher educations must establish a threat assessment team that includes representatives from law enforcement, mental health professions, student affairs, human resources, and if available higher education counsel. The purpose of the team is to implement assessment, intervention, and action policies such as recognition of threatening behaviors and threat reporting mechanisms.  The teams are also required to establish relationships with local and state law enforcement and mental health agencies to assist in assessment and intervention.

Pre-K-12

Per Virginia Code, all Virginia pre-k-12 public schools must be covered by a threat assessment team and each school board must adopt policies for the assessment of individuals and students whose behavior may pose a threat to the safety of the school. Each team must include persons with expertise in counseling, instruction, school administration, and law enforcement. The team should work to provide guidance to students, faculty, and staff on recognizing threatening behavior, identify members of the school community to whom threats should be reported, implement threat assessment policies and procedures, and report data on threat assessments to VCSCS.  For a quick overview of threat assessment in Virginia’s pre-K-12 schools, check out the VCSCS video: An Overview of Threat Assessment Prevention.

No. DCJS does not accept paper applications. You must submit application and payment online and upload required documentations if applicable.

The individual registration will expire and you must complete all initial application requirements. This includes submittal of a new registration application, entry-level training requirements, Criminal History Processing form and required fees.

If adding a firearm endorsement to your current registration, you must submit an on-line Firearm Endorsement Application at http://www.dcjs.virginia.gov/online and pay the appropriate fee. Firearm endorsements expire annually on the same month as the registration. If your registration has been issued for two years expiring in the month of December, the firearm endorsement will expire in December annually even if it was added only 4 months prior to that date.

You will receive a Temporary Registration Letter for emailed or mailed to you.  Once your criminal history background check is approved, your DMV Wallet Card will print and it will take about 7-14 business days to receive it.

Please visit https://fieldprintvirginia.com or call 877-614-4364 to make an appointment to be fingerprinted for a Criminal History records check.

A background investigation is separate and distinct from a state or local criminal record check. It must include other inquiries into the person's life, such as LInX (separate from the criminal record check), reference checks, employment checks, a review of school records, and/or an in-depth personal interview.   

  1. All DCJS certifications expire on the date of departure from a criminal justice agency.  Employment is required for certification.
     
  2. This includes all types of criminal justice certifications under DCJS purview (jail officer, DOC correctional officer, etc.).
     
  3. See FAQ 2. for reinstatement procedures for former Virginia Certified law enforcement officers.

 

  1. Law enforcement officer certification reinstatement:
    1. A fully certified law enforcement officer may reinstate his/her LE certification by returning to law enforcement employment within 24 months and completing 40 hours of law enforcement in-service training within 120 days of hire.  Jail officers must complete 24 hours jail in-service and court security/civil process officers must complete 16 hours in-service.
       
    2. Former Virginia certified law enforcement officers, jail officers, court security/civil process officers who have been out of such employment for more than 24 months may be eligible for a partial training waiver upon return to employment as a law enforcement officer:
      1. Applicant officer must have at least 5 years continuous previous experience as a certified law enforcement officer; and/or
         
      2. Applicant must be out of such employment for less than 5 years.
         
    3. The final decision on the waiver and details of the training requirements is based upon the reason and number of years since separation from law enforcement service. (6VAC20-20-30)
       
    4. This reinstatement procedure is only for former officers certified in Virginia.
  1. There is no complete exemption or lateral for out-of-state officers in Virginia. DCJS reviews applications for partial training waivers on a case-by-case basis based upon prior training and experience as a law enforcement officer.
    1. Applicant officer must have at least 5 years continuous previous experience as a certified law enforcement officer; and
       
    2. Be out of such employment for less than 2 years.  (§ 9.1-116)
       
  2. The training requirements for those with prior out-of-state experience include training in the high liability areas such as (but not limited to) legal issues, some patrol techniques, defensive tactics, use of force, weapons use and driver training.  You will also be required to pass the Virginia Certification Exam and complete a minimum of 100 hours of field training in conjunction with answering calls for law enforcement service with the Virginia agency that employs you.
     
  3. These exemptions are only available at the request of a Virginia criminal justice agency and would not be available to you on a pre-employment basis.  There are also some Virginia agencies that will not accept any exemptions and do mandate the completion of the entire basic academy regardless of the certification status of the officer.
  1. There is no complete exemption or lateral for former federal officers seeking law enforcement certification in Virginia. Applications for partial training waivers are reviewed on a case-by-case basis, reviewing prior training and experience as a law enforcement officer.  Partial training waivers are only available for certified officers separated from a law enforcement agency as a certified officer for less than 2 years.
    1. Applicant officer must have at least 5 years continuous previous experience as a certified law enforcement officer; and
       
    2. Be out of such employment for less than 2 years.  (§ 9.1-116)
       
  2. The training requirements for prior federal officers are based upon a comparison of the officer’s prior training and experience.  Virginia law enforcement certification is for local law enforcement, which is significantly different than federal agents.  The training requirements will include at a minimum, training in the high liability areas to including legal issues, patrol techniques, defensive tactics, use of force, weapons use and driver training.  This training includes successful completion of the Virginia Certification Exam and a minimum of 100 hours of field training in conjunction with answering law enforcement calls for service with the employing Virginia agency.
     
  3. These exemptions are only available at the request of a Virginia law enforcement agency and would not be available to you on a pre-employment basis.  There are also some Virginia agencies that will not accept any exemptions and do mandate the completion of the entire basic academy regardless of the certification status of the officer. (§ 9.1-116)
  1. New officers/deputies must be reported to DCJS through the records management system within ten (10) days of employment or appointment.

 

  1. All officers are required to satisfactorily complete the compulsory minimum training standards and requirements within 12 months of the date of appointment as an officer.  (6VAC20-20-40)

 

  1. DCJS requires successful completion of the General Instructor Development training course; certification is not required. (6VAC20-80-20)

 

  1. The Chief of Police, Sheriff or Agency Administrator may request a Training Extension of the time limit for completion of in-service training under the following conditions 6VAC20-20-40 (if submitted prior to the training due date):
    1. Illness,
       
    2. Injury,
       
    3. Military service,
       
    4. Special duty assignment required and performed in the public interest,
       
    5. Administrative leave involving the determination or worker’s compensation or disability retirement issues, full-time educational leave or suspension pending investigation or adjudication of a crime; or
       
    6. Any other reason documented by the agency administrator.
       
    7. Failing to pass in-service compulsory minimum training standards and requirements within specified time limits is NOT a valid reason for a training extension.

 

  1. If the apprenticeship is not completed within 12 months of completion of the instructor development training, the officer would have to repeat the basic requirements for the instructorship.
  1. The academy director must verify each instructor has taught a minimum of 8 hours per instructorship from initial certification or last recertification date to be eligible for recertification.  If the hours have not been met, the instructorship will not be recertified without going through the instructorship reinstatement process.
     
  2. If the instructorship expires due to lack of the 8 hour instruction requirement, the reinstatement apprenticeship shall include the remaining hours of the required instruction in addition to the minimum of 4 hour apprenticeship (2 hours for speed measurement).

 

  1. Be employed as an officer with a Virginia criminal justice agency under DCJS purview that has authority/ability to perform duties associated with the function.   (The agency is required to report to DCJS all officers assigned to specific functions through the records management system)
     
  2. Complete the Virginia compulsory minimum training standards in basic training through a DCJS certified criminal justice academy
     
  3. Successfully pass the law enforcement certification exam (for law enforcement certification only). (§ 15.2-1706)
     
  4. Complete field training requirements
    1. Law enforcement officers must complete at least 100 hours of field training in conjunction with answering calls for law enforcement service
       
    2. All compulsory minimum training standards to include field training must be completed within the 12 months training period from date of hire and reported to DCJS.

 

  1. Certified criminal justice academies may allow individual to attend mandated entry level training programs who are not currently employed by a Virginia criminal justice agency as defined in §9.1-101.  Details to include tuition must be obtained by contacting the individual academy.  This training is solely based upon a private contract between the academy and the individual seeking the training.
     
  2. This training does not guarantee an offer of employment by a Virginia criminal justice agency. 
     
  3. Successful completion of the pre-employment training is valid for up to 24 months from the date of completion of the pre-employment training program.

 

  1. No, in-service training is required to be completed within the 2 year period following your last in-service completion.  Certifications expire on the due date.
     
  2. Officers who fail to comply with in-service training within the 2 years shall forfeit his office, upon receipt of notice. Such forfeiture shall create a vacancy in the office and all pay and allowances shall cease. (§ 9.1-115) 
     
  3. Failure to comply with mandated training requirements is grounds for decertification as a law enforcement or jail officer.  (§ 15.2-1707 (A)(v))

 

  1. Yes.  Background investigations including fingerprint-based criminal history records inquiries to both the Central Criminal Records Exchange and the FBI are required for all new hires of law enforcement officers, deputy sheriffs and jail officers.  (§ 15.2-1705)

 

  1. No.  All DCJS certifications require employment with a criminal justice agency.  In-service training is only recorded for those employed with the function associated with the training.

 

  1. Expired certification
    1. If the instructorship has been expired less than 12 months, the agency or academy may request the instructorship be reinstated by submitting an Instructor Reinstatement Form (IC-2) with the agency administrator’s signature and the academy director’s signature to DCJS form approval.
       
    2. The expired instructor must complete an approved instructor recertification course through a certified academy and complete a subsequent apprenticeship.
       
    3. If the instructorship is expired due to lack of the 8 hour instruction requirement, the reinstatement apprenticeship shall include the remaining hours of the required instruction in addition to the minimal 4 hours apprenticeship (2 hours for speed measurement).
       
    4. All instructorship certifications expired for more than 12 months shall not be eligible for reinstatement.  A new instructor development course would be required.

 

  1. Employment related instructorship reinstatement
    1. Instructor certification expires when the certified instructor is no longer employed by the agency that requested the certification.
       
    2. Upon reemployment with a Virginia criminal justice agency or certified academy, the agency or academy may request the instructorship be reinstated by submitting an Instructor Reinstatement Form (IC-2) with the agency administrator’s signature and the academy director’s signature to DCJS for approval.

 

 

  1. Yes.  General instructors who are also field training officers may count field training hours toward the required general instructor hours.  Documentation must be submitted to the academy of record.

 

  1. All criminal justice officers (law enforcement, jail, court security, civil process, DOC correctional officers are required to complete the compulsory minimum training standards within 12 months of the date of hire or appointment. (6VAC20-20-40)
     
  2. Your agency and/or academy policy will determine whether or not you can repeat failed training if it can be completed within the 12 months.
     
  3. There are no training extensions available for class failures.

 

The Department of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS) ensures that sub-grantees comply with all grant conditions.  The department develops a risk-based monitoring plan, and conducts fiscal and programmatic monitoring on all sub-grantees, including enhanced monitoring of sub-grantees determined to be medium and high risk.

The Director of DCJS has the authority, under Chapter 1 of Title 9.1, Code of Virginia (§§9-100 through 186.14), to implement policies needed for the operation of the Agency.  Grant Monitors and the Grants Administration Staff are responsible for monitoring the activities of sub-grantees to ensure that awards are used for authorized purposes and comply with 2 C.F.R. §§ 200.303 and 200.331, along with other federal statutes, regulations, and the terms and conditions of the awards.  The DCJS grant solicitation, subsequent application, and statement of grant award (SOGA) contain all of the required information listed in 2 C.F.R. § 200.331(a).

A risk assessment is completed by the Grant Monitor before the grant award period begins and/or annually to inform the monitoring plan for the following fiscal year. Grant Monitors will complete a risk assessment using the Grant Monitoring Risk Assessment, which meets the required elements in 2 CFR 200.331(b), to evaluate each sub-grantee’s risk of non-compliance with federal statutes, regulations, and the terms and conditions of the award to determine the appropriate level and schedule of sub-grantee monitoring.

The risk assessment takes into consideration the following financial and programmatic factors:

  1. Total dollar amount of grant award
  2. Timeliness of financial reporting to DCJS
  3. Results of a Single-Audit
  4. Date of most recent site visit
  5. Timeliness of programmatic progress reporting to DCJS
  6. Turnover of DCJS-funded key staff
  7. Duration of sub-grantee’s grant experience.
  8. Other issues of non-compliance and recurring or unresolved issues

A weighted numeric value is assigned to each factor, with higher numbers indicating higher risk.  Based on the total risk score, sub-grantees will be placed in the risk categories of high, moderate, or low.  A score of six or lower is low risk.  A score of seven to thirteen is medium risk.  A score of 14 or greater is high risk. A sub-grantee's risk level may be adjusted to a higher level based on additional information that DCJS is aware of, including results of other grant monitoring from partner agencies, financial instability, results from previous site visits, recurring or unresolved issues, concerns about internal controls, and financial management issues.  These concerns should be documented on the Grant Monitoring Risk Assessment Tool.  A completed copy of the risk assessment will be kept in the sub-grantee’s file. 

When material risk is identified in a sub-recipient’s organization or project, 2 CFR 200.331 requires pass-through entities to implement risk management tools to ensure proper accountability, compliance with program requirements, and achievement of performance goals.  Examples of available risk management tools include:

  • Providing sub-recipients with training and technical assistance on program related matters.
  • More frequent monitoring of programmatic aims or invoices.
  • More frequent communication with PI.
  • On-site review of the sub-recipient’s program operations.
  • Stringent review of audits and prompt action when instances of non-compliance are identified.
  • Enforcement action for non-compliance, including temporary withholding of payments, disallowing a cost when all or part of the cost is non-compliant, wholly or partially suspending or terminating the sub-award, withholding further funds from the project, or any other legally available remedies.

Grants Administration Staff will:

  1. Ensure entity is not debarred (see Debarred or Suspended Procedure and Policy) prior to award and periodically during the award period.
  2. Analyze audit findings for sub-grantees that are required under 2 CFR § 200.332 (f) to have a completed audit.
  3. Verify that audits are conducted for sub-grantees that are required under 2 CFR § 200.332 (f) to be audited (“when it is expected that the sub-grantee’s Federal awards expended during the respective fiscal year equaled or exceeded the $750,000 threshold set forth in 2 CFR §200.501 Audit requirements”).
  4. Conduct fiscal desk reviews and on-site monitoring visits based on requests from the grant monitors or coordinators.
  5. Conduct in-depth financial reviews of programs identified during the fiscal desk reviews and on-site monitoring visits as needing further review.
  6. Determine corrective action required of the sub-grantee if there are concerns in the audit finding, fiscal desk reviews, or on-site monitoring visits. Work with the Grant Monitor to communicate concerns to the sub-grantee and monitor compliance with corrective action plans.
  7. Issue management decisions for audit findings relating to DCJS grant funding.
  8. Enter sub-sub-grantee into FFATA if an award is over $25,000 (see FFATA Policy).

Grant Monitors:

  1. Review quarterly financial and programmatic reports required by DCJS.
  2. Follow-up with sub-grantees and ensure that sub-grantees take timely and appropriate action on all deficiencies pertaining to the grant award detected through audits, on-site monitoring visits, desk reviews, and other monitoring activities.
  3. Conduct trainings and/or provide technical assistance for sub-grantees to help administer the grant.
  4. Evaluate any newly revealed information that may affect sub-grantees’ risk score and modify the monitoring plan as necessary.
  5. Perform pre-award review based on the questionnaire to determine the fitness of sub-grantees to receive new grant funds, or perform a risk assessment.
  6. Coordinate with the DCJS Grants Management Section for the issuance of management decisions for audit findings relating to DCJS grant funding.
  7. Conduct on-site monitoring visits of sub-grantees to ensure financial and programmatic compliance.

Monitoring is the process of reviewing, with staff of a grant-funded project, the project’s implementation, activities, performance, and expenditures to determine if it is operating as proposed in the approved grant application and in accordance with grant requirements and conditions, as well as any applicable regulatory requirements, and to identify any technical assistance needs of the grant recipient.  Monitoring may include review of the fiscal and programmatic aspects of a grant-funded project.  The term “monitoring” is used to describe both the broad overall system of reviewing and tracking the use of federal and state funds, and the more specific day-to-day review processes to assure that a particular sub-grantee complies with federal or state rules and regulations, and is meeting the goals and objectives of the grant.

Prior to the site visits, the Grant Monitor will send a formal notification letter at least 30 calendar days before the visit to confirm dates and scope of review; provide details of documentation needed for the review; specify expected timeframe for the review; and ensure key officials are available during the visit.  The Grant Monitor will also provide the sub-grantee with the Items for Review Checklist (located on the Victims Services page:  https://www.dcjs.virginia.gov/victims-services/forms) and request that supporting documentation be compiled by the start of the visit. 

During the review, the Grant Monitor will complete the sub-grantee Monitoring Tool and address noted concerns with the sub-grantee. The Grant Monitor will track each step followed during the review process, document conversations with sub-grantee staff, and inspect the progress of the project/program.  At the end of the on-site monitoring visit, the Grant Monitor will meet with key officials to present the tentative findings noted from the financial review.  After the on-site monitoring visit, the Grant Monitor will issue a Post-Review Letter to the sub-grantee within 60 calendar days documenting recommendations for corrective action and requiring the submission of a corrective action plan within 45 calendar days by the sub-grantee, if necessary.

For sub-grantees determined to be high risk, DCJS staff will conduct an on-site monitoring visit annually.  For sub-grantees determined to be medium or low risk, DCJS staff will conduct on-site monitoring every two years.

Records pertinent to the award must be retained for a period of three (3) years from the date of submission of the final expenditure report. Sub-grantees must provide access, including performance measurement information, in addition to the financial records, supporting documents, statistical records, and other pertinent records indicated in 2 C.F.R. 200.333.

A file shall be kept on each sub-award. The file should reflect the sub-award number and should at least contain the following:

  1. Supporting documentation of any expenditures pertaining to this sub-award (i.e., original receipts, invoices, etc.);
  2. Documentation of employee and volunteer timesheets pertaining to the sub-award;
  3. Signed copies of any contract supported by the sub-award;
  4. Documentation for sub-award matching funds;
  5. Indirect cost rate;
  6. Property records of equipment purchased with grant funds, including serial numbers; and
  7. Other pertinent information (i.e., correspondence with DCJS, budget revisions, special conditions, etc.)

Print and read the Grant Award Package and Special Conditions in their entirety.  To accept the terms and conditions of the award, the Project Administrator must sign the award acceptance and email it to grantsmgmt@dcjs.virginia.gov.  The award acceptance, also known as the Statement of Grant Award (SOGA), must be received by DCJS within the initial 60 days of the award period.  

The award acceptance must be received prior to funds being disbursed.  To check the status of the award acceptance, logon to GMIS.

The Uniform Guidance in 2 CFR 200.77 defines "period of performance" as the time during which the non-Federal entity (sub-grantee) may incur new obligations to carry out the work authorized under the Federal award.  The period of performance represents the one-year period for which the award was made.  The Grant Award Package (Statement of Grant Award) provides the award period for each grant (eg. July 1, 2019-June 30, 2020).

To obtain payment, the Financial Officer must contact grantsweb@dcjs.virginia.gov to request access to the Grants Management Online Information System (GMIS).

A special condition is an item included in the Notice of Grant Award that requires the grantee to accomplish certain tasks or meet certain requirements within a particular period of time in order to comply with the terms of the grant.  It is important that you review the conditions carefully as some might require action before funds will be disbursed.

To check the status of special conditions, logon to GMIS and select View Status.  Then select, Special Conditions.  If you have questions about the status, contact your Grant Monitor.

Typically, all award conditions are reviewed within ten (10) working days.  If the submission meets all requirements, the Grant Monitor sends approval to Grants Administration.  Grants Administration then processes the approval (i.e. enters the approved budget in GMIS, checks off all un-met conditions).  Sub-recipients receive notice of approval via email.  If the submission does not meet with approval, the Grant Monitor will contact the sub-recipient to request additional information.

The System for Award Management (SAM) (https://www.sam.gov) is a federal government website that serves as a central registration point for government contractors.  Sub-grantees must register in SAM in order to receive an award, and must maintain an active registration for the entire period of the award. 

The Office on Civil Rights (OCR) offers civil rights training to assist sub-recipients in meeting their federal civil rights obligations. The online training, which consists of six segments and self-tests, provides an overview of applicable non-discrimination laws and the general civil rights obligations that are tied to grants awarded by the Department of Justice.  The civil rights training modules offered through OCR can be accessed at https://ojp.gov/about/ocr/assistance.htm.  The sub-grantee must review these training modules at least once per grant cycle and must view the civil rights overview, standard assurances modules, and the module on obligations to provide services to Limited English Proficient (LEP) individuals.

As a recipient of Department of Justice funding, all sub-recipients must comply with the requirements regarding Equal Employment Opportunity Plans (EEOP).  In certain cases, sub-recipients must develop an EEOP.  Your organization is required to submit a Certification Report and/or the Utilization Report section of your plan to the Office of Civil Rights.  Further guidance can be found at https://ojp.gov/about/ocr/eeop.htm . The Certification form required by OJP can be found at http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/about/ocr/pdfs/cert.pdf .

Within 60 days of the starting date of the grant, the sub-grantee must initiate the project funded.  If not, the sub-grantee must report to DCJS, in writing, the steps taken to initiate the project, the reasons for the delay, and the expected starting date.  If the project is not operational within 90 days of the start date, the sub-grantee must obtain approval in writing from DCJS for a new implementation date or DCJS may cancel and terminate the project and redistribute the funds.

Sub-grantees can request up to two (2) report extensions during the award period.  To submit a request, contact your Grant Monitor and provide the reasons for the delay in reporting as well as an anticipated date of when the report will be filed.  All requests must be submitted before the reporting deadline. 

According to the Department of Justice (DOJ) Grants Financial Guide, all sub-recipients are required to establish and maintain adequate accounting systems and financial records and to accurately account for funds awarded to them.  Recipients must have a financial management system in place that is able to record and report on the receipt, obligation, and expenditure of grant funds. Accounting systems should be able to account for award funds separately (no comingling of funds).  An adequate accounting system allows recipients to maintain documentation to support all receipts and expenditures and obligations of federal funds.  Keep detailed accounting records and documentation to track all of the following information:

  • Federal funds awarded
  • Federal funds drawn down
  • Matching funds of State, local, and private organizations, when applicable
  • Program income
  • Sub-awards (amount, purpose, award conditions, and current status)
  • Contracts expensed against the award
  • Expenditures

Please consult Subpart D of 2 C.F.R. Part 200, including 2 C.F.R. § 200.302, for more information.

Direct costs are "those costs that can be identified specifically with a particular sponsored project relatively easily with a high degree of accuracy." For example, the salary of a direct service provider or the purchase of specific supplies for a specific project are direct costs.

They must be:

  • Allowable (as described by federal cost principles and according to federal regulations and grant guidelines)
  • Reasonable (what a prudent person would spend);
  • Allocable (limited to that portion of expenses directly benefiting the project and consistently treated as direct charges).

Indirect costs are those that have been incurred for common or joint objectives and cannot be readily identified with a particular final cost objective. Direct cost of minor amounts may be treated as indirect costs under the conditions described in §200.413 Direct costs paragraph (d).  After direct costs have been determined and assigned directly to awards or other work as appropriate, indirect costs are those remaining to be allocated to benefitting cost objectives. A cost may not be allocated to a federal award as an indirect cost if any other cost incurred for the same purpose, in like circumstances, has been assigned to a federal award as a direct cost.  Indirect costs are frequently referred to as overhead expenses.  Examples of indirect costs are: accounting and legal expenses, administrative salaries, office expenses, rent, security expenses, utilities, and telecommunications. 

An indirect cost rate is a tool for determining the proportion of indirect costs each program should bear. It is the ratio (expressed as a percentage) of the indirect costs to a direct cost base. Organizations who wish to request indirect costs, that already have a negotiated rate with a federal cognizant agency, must use that negotiated rate in the grant application request, if indirect costs are requested. If the negotiated rate is expired, the applicant can apply for a one-time extension of up to four years without further negotiation. Application for an extension has to be made through the cognizant federal agency that initially negotiated the indirect cost rate. Non-federal organizations that have never had a negotiated indirect cost rate, and governmental departments or agencies that receive less than $35 million in direct federal funding per year and do not have a negotiated rate, may use the 10% de minimis indirect cost rate based on the organization’s modified total direct costs (MTDC).

You do not have to request indirect costs, but if you choose to, it is allowable.  You have two options when requesting indirect costs: using a formal Indirect Cost Rate Agreement (ICRA) or using a “De Minimis” rate.  The ICRA is a formal rate agreement that an organization has applied for and received from the federal cognizant agency (DCJS does not approve ICRAs).  Organizations must have a letter or other documentation that lists the federally-negotiated rate. The “De Minimis” rate can be used by organizations that have never had a federally-approved Indirect Cost Rate Agreement.  Organizations can use a rate of up to 10% of the Modified Total Direct Costs (MTDC) of their budget for indirect costs.

Modified Total Direct Costs (MTDC) is the base to which indirect costs rates are applied.  MTDC includes direct salaries and wages, applicable fringe benefits, materials and supplies, services, travel, and up to the first $25,000 of each subaward.  MTDC excludes equipment, capital expenditures, charges for rent, tuition remission, participants support costs and the portion of each subaward in excess of $25,000. 

To calculate indirect costs, you must first determine the Modified Total Direct Costs (MTDC) amount of your budget. Indirect costs that can be requested are not based on the entire project budget, but on the MTDC amount. Use the MTDC Worksheet https://www.dcjs.virginia.gov/content/mtdc-worksheet to calculate your MTDC amount. The Worksheet will also calculate the amount of indirect costs that you can request.  the MTDC Worksheet must be completed each quarter, based on actual expenses.  The actual MTDC amount will determine the amount of Indirect Costs to be reimbursed for that quarter. In other words, the amount of Indirect Costs reimbursed should/will vary from quarter to quarter. The amount of Indirect Costs requested for reimbursement each quarter cannot simply be the total for the year divided by four; the amount must be based on actual MTDC amounts.  The MTDC Worksheet should be emailed to grantsmgmt@dcjs.virginia.gov each quarter.

Matching funds are the non-federal share of costs that the grantee or the sub-grantee are required to contribute to accomplish the purposes of the grant. The primary reason is to share the costs of various government programs across jurisdictions or with the private sector.  Funders sometimes structure match requirements to promote sustainability of projects past the life of the grant program.

All matching funds on awarded grants must be:

  1. Verifiable in program/organization records and provided for in the approved budget;
  2. Derived from non-federal funding sources;
  3. Not used as matching funds in other areas;
  4. VOCA-allowable costs;
  5. Necessary and reasonable for efficient accomplishment of project objectives;
  6. In compliance with all federal and state guidelines; AND
  7. Of an appropriate percentage.

Cash match is either the grantee organization’s own funds (general revenue) or cash donations from non-federal third parties (i.e. partner organizations), or by non-federal grants.  A cash match contribution is an actual cash contribution.  Cash used as match may be obtained from other state (non-DCJS), local, program income, or private sources.  Cash funds cannot be derived from federal sources.  Once funds are committed to match for this project, they cannot be used for match in other areas.

 

In-kind match is typically in the form of the value of personnel, goods, and services, including direct and indirect costs.  Some examples include:  volunteered professional services, materials/equipment, space and facilities, non-federally funded program activities, etc.  Sub-grantees must document the contributed resource of value for all forms of in-kind match.  For specific guidance regarding match requirements, please refer to the Victims Services Grant section online and select the specific grant program. 

The system of policies and procedures for valuing, documenting, recording, processing, and reporting in-kind match is similar to the process used for tracking all organizational expenditures.  The first step in establishing a match tracking system is the development of a match budget. This projected budget outlines how much is cash and how much is in-kind. Creating cost centers to report cash match provides a straightforward tracking method.

Grant recipients must maintain records that clearly show the source, the amount, and the period during which the match was allocated. In-kind contributions are determined at their fair market value. The basis for determining the value of personal services, materials, and equipment must be documented and to the extent feasible, supported by the same methods used by the grantee for its own paid employees.  Volunteer services used as in-kind match are allowable and recommended. Volunteer services may be professional or technical services, consultants, or skilled/unskilled labor assisting on the project. Records must be maintained documenting all volunteer services used as in-kind match.

For additional guidance on the value of volunteer time, go to www.independentsector.org/volunteer_time.  Non-compliance with documenting in-kind match amounts may result in a requirement to provide cash match, a reduction to the grant award, and/or other grant conditions.

If the sub-grantee is a local government or non-profit organization and expends $750,000 or more in federal awards (from all sources) during its fiscal year, the sub-grantee is required to submit the appropriate single or program specific audit in accordance with the provisions outlined in 2CFR Part 200 Subpart F.

Single audits serve multiple purposes.  In general, besides reporting on the fair representation of the financial statements, they are implemented to determine if the entity has complied with direct and material compliance requirements for each major federal program. They are used as a report card by federal funding agencies and pass-through entities to address problems and also used to provide assurance regarding compliance and information about a non-federal entity’s internal control over compliance.

A financial statement review is conducted by an independent auditor, but is narrower in scope and less rigorous with respect to the level of examination and analysis than a financial statement audit. The auditor examines the organization’s financial statements and determines whether they are consistent with generally accepted accounting principles.  The auditor’s report is intended to provide a limited level of assurance that the financial statements are free of misrepresentations.

If you have been assigned the Finance Officer position on a DCJS awards, you should submit a request for access to grantsweb@dcjs.virginia.gov. Please allow 3-5 business days for a response back. If you are a user needing access to upload progress reports, request funds, and/or maintain financial information, you will need to contact your Finance Officer.   

For DCJS auditing purposes, the Finance Officer for the grant and/or locality manages the user list in GMIS.  They can add or delete users from their profile as necessary. 

In addition, if any of the three contacts listed on the Grant Application face sheet changes, the sub-grantee is required to submit a Program Update Form (signed by the Project Administrator) to DCJS notifying us of the change. The form should then be submitted to your Grant Monitor and grantsweb@dcjs.virginia.gov.

Although for auditing purposes we do not recommend this process, yes, this is allowable in the GMIS online system.

Yes, you may assign different persons to work on the programmatic side and the financial side. There is no limit on the number of users you can have or the number of persons working in the grant at the same time performing different functions.

Yes, users who are no longer affiliated with the organization should be removed from the system immediately by the Finance Officer.  As Finance Officer, you are responsible for maintaining your online GMIS list of users.  To do that, log into the GMIS website and click on the Financial Officer: Manage Users link under Additional Option. 

For technical assistance email GMIS Technical Support at grantsweb@dcjs.virginia.gov. You may also call the DCJS Main Line at 804-786-4000 Option 2. To reach Grants Administration, choose Option 3.

All reports must be submitted through the Grants Management Online Information System (GMIS) https://grants.dcjs.virginia.gov/.  When you log on to the system, select Quarterly Reporting and Financial Reports.  Reported expenditures may not exceed approved budgeted amounts within budget categories.  You may only charge to the award allowable costs incurred during the grant award period.  After submission, the Financial Officer will be sent an email for approval.  For financial assistance with GMIS contact, Bill Dodd, bill.dodd@dcjs.virginia.gov or 804.371.0638 or Mark Fero, mark.fero@dcjs.virgnia.gov or 804.225.2782.

Sub-grantees must properly track the use of award funds and maintain adequate supporting documentation for all paid grant and match staff and volunteer time reported.  Source documentation must be retained and be available for inspection for all grant funded expenditures.  Sub-grantees may be subject to additional financial and programmatic on-site monitoring, which may be on short notice, and agrees that it will cooperate with any such monitoring.

For awards comprised of Federal Funds and required Match, the percentage of Federal Funds expenditures must not exceed the percentage stipulated in the award, even if the full award amount is not expended.

The sub-grantee agrees to submit a final financial report and return all received and unexpended grant funds to DCJS within 45 days of the end of the grant award period.

The final financial report should be marked as final when all grant expenditures have been reported.

To make revisions to financial reports, select Revise Quarterly Reports.  Select the reporting period and current year.  Then click the Revise button for the report you would like to revise.  For financial assistance with GMIS contact, Bill Dodd, bill.dodd@dcjs.virginia.gov or 804.371.0638 or Mark Fero, mark.fero@dcjs.virgnia.gov or 804.225.2782.

Disbursement of funds will occur on a cost reimbursement basis for actual funds expended.  Actual expenditures should be reported quarterly and invoiced pursuant to approved line item budget categories in the grant award package.  Grantees will only be reimbursed for costs that have been incurred within the grant period.  Grant funds, including matching funds, may only be expended and/or obligated during the grant period.  All obligations must be fulfilled no later than 90 days after the end of the grant period.  Requests for reimbursement shall be submitted through DCJS GMIS.

All requests must be submitted in GMIS.  To submit a request, select Applications and then Request for Funds.  Drawdowns cannot be processed until all quarterly financial and programmatic reports have been approved.

All requests are processed within (30) working days.  To check the status of a request, please logon to GMIS.

The most common reasons vouchers are denied are: (1) the award was not accepted and Special Conditions of the grant have not been met; (2) there is no approved budget in GMIS; (3) the financial and programmatic reporting requirements have not been fulfilled; (4) the amount requested exceeded what was available; (5) the amount requested exceeds the reported expenditures; (6) the award period has passed and closeout was initiated.

For questions about financial reporting and requesting funds, please contact Mark Fero, Grants Compliance Supervisor, mark.fero@dcjs.virginia.gov or 804.225.2782.

A budget amendment allows you to move any portion of your award amount from one category to another.   All sub-recipients must obtain approval from DCJS for any amendment requests prior to the change being implemented.

Budget amendments are reviewed by the Grant Monitor within (10) working days.  The approval process can take up to (21) working days depending on whether additional revisions are requested.  To check the status of a budget amendment request, logon to GMIS.  Once approved, the sub-recipient will be notified via email and the budget will be updated in GMIS.

All amendment requests for VOCA funded programs must be submitted at least 45 days prior to the end of the award period.  For VAWA and SASP grants, requests must be submitted within 60 days of the end of the award period.  Requests submitted after the project end date, or those that would require retroactive approval, will be denied, unless DCJS grants an exception based on extenuating circumstances.

No more than two (2) budget amendments will be permitted during the grant period.

The budget amendment narrative supplements the revised budget and must be uploaded in GMIS with the amendment request.  The narrative form is located on the Victims Services page:  https://www.dcjs.virginia.gov/victims-services/forms.  The purpose of the budget amendment narrative is to explain why the change is being requested and to itemize the changes. In the narrative, please indicate how much money you are requesting to move in a category and indicate if the request is increasing or decreasing the amount from the most recently approved budget. Then provide justification and itemize (describe/list the items, quantity, unit cost, total amount).

Example:  Funds are requested to conduct up to 4 training sessions using the National Organization for Victim Assistance (NOVA) evidence-based coordinated community response protocols. The target audience includes law enforcement, medical forensic staff, victim advocates, school personnel, licensed counselors, and other agency partners. The purpose of the training is to enhance access to services for victims of crime.  Training programs will provide: a copy of the NOVA accredited curriculum guidebook ($35/book) and access to NOVA’s online resource center for continuing education credits and additional victim-centered resources. Training sessions will be offered in (4) locations throughout the state of Virginia to an estimated 50 participants (4 sessions/year x 50 participants/session @ $35 / participant=$7000).

According to 2 CFR 200 Uniform Administrative Requirements, Cost Principles, and Audit Requirements for Federal Awards, a cost is reasonable if, in its nature and amount, it does not exceed that which would be incurred by a prudent person under the circumstances prevailing at the time the decision was made to incur the cost.  A cost is allocable to a particular sponsored project if the goods or services involved are chargeable or assignable to the project in accordance with the relative benefits received.  For more information on cost principles, allowable costs, etc. please refer to the grant program guidelines for the specific award.

No.  Sub-recipients that need to move funds within a budget category can submit an in-line budget adjustment request via email to their assigned Grant Monitor.

The most common reasons budget requests are denied are: (1) the request was submitted after the deadline; (2) the revised budget does not agree with the narrative; (3) the request includes items that are unallowable or unreasonable according to grant guidelines; (4) the request was not submitted on the approved form or in the correct format.

All funds must be expended and/or obligated by the end of the award period.  On occasion, sub-grantees may incur obligations or encumber funds toward the end of a subaward period for which payment cannot be made until after the subaward period has ended. In such cases, sub-grantees should only report the actual expenditures paid during the reporting period. Obligations made prior to the end of the subaward period, but not yet paid, can be reported on the financial report. Agencies will then have an additional 45 days to pay those obligations and report the expenditure on the final financial report.

To return unexpended funds, please make a check made payable to "Treasurer of Virginia" (note the grant number on the check or in correspondence) and send it to:

Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services

1100 Bank St

12th floor, Finance Section

Richmond, VA 23219

In accordance with a Criminal Justice Services Board policy, applicable to all DCJS grant programs, no current recipient of funding will be considered for continuation funding if, as of the grant application due date, any of the required Financial and Progress reports for the current grant are more than 30 days overdue. For good cause, submitted in writing, DCJS may waive this provision.

In adhering to the requirements and conditions of our grants, grant recipients must submit a Program Change Form to DCJS within thirty (30) days for grant funded personnel changes or if changes in the Project Administrator, Project Director, and/or Finance Officer occur (positions are vacated and subsequently filled).   The Project Administrator position is the signing authority required for our grants and by accepting the grant award, he/she assumes full responsibility for the management of all aspects of the grant and activities funded by the grant. 

Therefore, DCJS requires that the Project Administrator notify us of any staff changes specifically for the Project Administrator, Project Director, and/or Finance Officer positions. For those positions, the Project Administrator’s signature is required.  Grant-funded staff changes can be documented on the Program Update Form, and do not require a signature. Please note, the form must be completed and emailed to your DCJS Grant Monitor. The new form can be found here: http://www.dcjs.virginia.gov/grants/forms.

All forms are located on the Victims Services page:  https://www.dcjs.virginia.gov/victims-services/forms.  Email the completed form to your DCJS Grant Monitor.

Changes to the Project Director, Project Administrator, Finance Officer require signature by the Project Administrator.

Sub-recipients are required to submit, on or before scheduled due dates, financial and programmatic reports throughout the grant period, as well as final reports to close the grant.  Financial reports are due 15 days after the end of each calendar quarter.  Reports are required even if no expenditures/activity occurred during the quarter. If the due date falls on a weekend or non-business day, the report is due on the next business day. For financial questions, contact Bill Dodd at (804) 371-0638 or via email at Bill.Dodd@dcjs.virginia.gov or Mark Fero at (804) 225- 2782 or via email at Mark.Fero@dcjs.virginia.gov.  
 
Most programmatic reports are due 15 days after the end of each calendar quarter (refer to your award package for program-specific conditions).  No eligible current recipient of funding will be considered for continuation funding if, as of the continuation application due date, any of the required financial and progress reports for the current grant are more than 30 days overdue. For good cause, submitted in writing by the grant recipient, DCJS may waive this provision.  To submit reports, requests, and to view your grant award, refer to the Grants Management Information System (GMIS) at our website: www.dcjs.virginia.gov/grants/gmis-online. In order to use this web-based system, if you have not previously done so, you must obtain a user name and password set up by your Finance Officer.  Failure to submit reports by the deadline dates may result in delay for reimbursement requests and/or cancellation of the subaward.  For more information on reporting requirements specific to your DCJS grant, please refer to the award conditions and/or the Victims Services Grants page.

Yes, each year VCSCS offers several training sessions on threat assessment.  The training features an overview of threat assessment, details of forming and operating a threat assessment team, the identification of threats, and legal issues, among other topics.  Visit the VCSCS Training Page to find trainings near you or request a session in your locality by completing the Training Request Form 

 

Yes, both sessions will be available on our website.  The recordings will be available after all sessions have been completed.

The "Online Help" button seen throughout the system provides instructional help depending on the screen you are on.  The Funding Opportunity "Ask a Question" button will send the question to the program coordinator.

The forms do not auto save so you must click save. You can save as you go without completing the required fields. However, you can’t mark the form as complete until all required fields are completed.

Initially, the statement of grant award process will remain the same. You will receive a paper copy for the Project Administrator to sign and email back to DCJS.

All grants will be moving into OGMS but at different times. Contact your grant monitor for the timeline of your specific grant program. Any individual who assists with the grant application or management should register in the system. Training sessions are available on the website so they will be able to watch at any time.

Please contact your grant monitor for the timeline of when your specific grant program will start using OGMS.

Yes, eventually all grant programs will be using OGMS. Please contact your grant monitor for the timeline of when your specific grant program will start using OGMS.

For the first phase of implementation, we are transitioning a select number of DCJS grants:

  • CCCA/PSA-Community Corrections & Pretrial Services Expansion Grants – Start Date 1/1/2021
  • PAPIS Pre-Release and Post-Incarceration Services Expansion Grants – Start Date 1/1/2021
  •  VSTOP-Violence Against Women Grants – Start Date 1/1/2021
  •  SASP-Sexual Assault Services Program Grants – Start Date 1/1/2021

Please contact your grant monitor for the timeline of when your specific grant program will start using OGMS. New grant solicitations/ funding opportunities are planned to start in the new system.  There may be exceptions so continue to check the DCJS website for all funding opportunities and guidelines.

The DCJS website for OGMS training provides recorded training videos and additional materials to assist you with the system.  https://www.dcjs.virginia.gov/grants/ogms-training-resources

You will receive notifications from your specific grant program when it’s implemented in OGMS with additional information.

At this time,  you should use GMIS to access historical data.

You will be able to print documents from OGMS.

All questions about a specific grant program should be directed to your grant monitor.

OGMS registration is open! Please note that the registration process can take 3-5 days.

Yes, everyone will need to register for a new account.  Once you register, the system will send you a series of emails with your new username and temporary password.

No, you will only need to register one time.  Once you are registered, you can apply for any funding opportunity that is posted.

Any individual who assists with the application and/or the management of the grant should register in OGMS. This would include Project Directors, Project Administrators, and Finance Officers. There is no limit to the number of people who can register under a single organization.

No, users will only see the grants they are associated with so it’s important to add the necessary individuals as additional contacts.

The UEI is the organization’s DUNS.

Contact your organization’s finance office.

This is your organization's Federal ID number. It is the same number you have used on face sheets when you applied for a grant in the past.

Add zeros to the end of your number to make it 9 digits.

An employer identification number (EIN) is a nine-digit number assigned by the IRS. It's used to identify the tax accounts of employers and certain others who have no employees. The IRS uses the number to identify taxpayers who are required to file various business tax returns.

The organization is based on the Federal ID Number associated with the DCJS grant.

FIPS codes are numbers which uniquely identify geographic areas. The number of digits in FIPS codes vary depending on the level of geography. State-level FIPS codes have two digits, county-level FIPS codes have five digits of which the first two are the FIPS code of the state to which the county belongs. In OGMS, the county-level FIPS code will display 3 digits.

Send your locality and this issue to the ogmssupport@dcjs.virginia.gov to get your FIPs included.

When you register, you will enter your personal information on the top form which is your business contact information. There is a separate organization form where you enter the contact information for the locality.

Each person will have their own dashboard.  If you have a shared deadline, that item will show on both dashboards.  However, each dashboard is unique to the person that is logged in.

You can update your profile (personal information) once you have been approved.

If both individuals will be working on the grant, you would include both. When the current project director leaves, you will be able to remove them from the grant after it’s been awarded.

Any individual using OGMS will need to register. The email address you enter will receive system alerts for things such as report deadlines, status changes and correspondence from DCJS.

Please double check the DUNS you are entering. If you still have an issue report it to ogmssupport@dcjs.virginia.gov.

Selecting one program area of interest does not limit your access to apply to other program areas. Is it only for registration purposes. 

OGMS does not allow for roles to be assigned for external users. However, when completing the application you will enter the contact information for the Project Director, Project Administrator, and Finance Officer.

Yes, the grant’s Project Administrator should register in the system.

Although DCJS does include Project Administrators in most of our communications, it is the organization's responsibility to ensure all necessary people are registered in OGMS.

This would be the person with signature authority - The Project Administrator listed on the Statement of Grant Award (SOGA) has signatory authority on the grant.  The primary contact can be the Project Administrator or a designee.  To delegate authority to someone other than the Project Administrator, please send a letter with the application grant numbers(s) to grantsmgmt@dcjs.virginia.gov and copy your grant monitor.

Yes, you can edit and save the forms until you submit the application.

This depends on the funding opportunity, contact your Program Coordinator for specifics.

The performance statement is on the face sheet and is shared with the CJSB to demonstrate the accomplishments of the projects and supports continuation funding.

DCJS staff can choose to answer in private or post the response for others to view.

Refer to the DCJS grant program funding opportunity for guidance and instructions.

Yes, if you allow others access to your application multiple users can edit and view the information

Not all of the forms in the training demonstration will be part of every program / funding opportunity. Forms are specific to each funding opportunity.  Please refer to the DCJS grant program funding opportunity for guidance and instructions.

 

Yes, you can print a copy of the submitted application however, the attachments would need to be printed separately.

Yes, if a staff member is added as an additional contact they have access to edit the application.   In addition, you will have the option to associate staff members after the grant has been awarded.

Yes, electronic signatures will be accepted in the system. However, initially, the statement of grant award process will remain the same. You will receive an emailed copy for the Project Administrator to sign and email back to DCJS.

List all staff who are responsible for managing the grant.  These users will have the ability to complete and submit reports, contract amendments, correspondence, and view grant information.

Initially, the grant award will continue to be a manual process outside of the new system.  Once all DCJS grants transition to the new system, contracts (formerly known as award letters) will be issued in OGMS.

As many as you need, the system doesn't have a limit to the additional contacts.

The system will use the email address you provided during registration. The email address should be assigned to a staff person who has access to view important correspondence regarding your grant.  Alerts are system generated and will be sent to all contacts on the grant.

The award will be issued to the locality.  Each locality can have multiple users register in the system to manage the award.  Each person’s role and responsibility in managing the award is determined by the locality.  The project administrator has signatory authority unless another person is assigned as a designee. 

Yes, you can still submit the report.  If you anticipate submitting a late status report, you will need to reach out to your grant monitor for instructions and complete a reporting extension contract amendment.

No, auto fill is not available on the application forms.  However, a specific grant program can allow you the option to copy the application under future funding opportunities. 

There is no limit to the number of users who can register under one organization. Any grant started or submitted by one of those users will now be associated with that organization. For the user to have access to the application and grant tracking they will need to be added as an additional contact. This can be done at the application level or in grant tracking after the grant has been awarded.

The project administrator has signatory authority unless another person is designated to have signing authority.  The project administrator, or designated individual, will need to electronically sign the Authority Certification form in the application. 

Check with your grant monitor on using the "withdraw" function before you use it. However, If you withdraw a report you would have to start a brand new one.  You would withdraw if it was invalid or not needed.

You would submit a contract amendment and register the new individual in OGMS.  Once the registration is complete and the contract amendment has been approved you will need to add the individual as an additional contact on the grant. For instructions on this process, please refer to the OGMS Training & Resources page.

Yes, you can make edits until you submit the application.

No, the font entered can't be changed.

You can only select one person as the primary contact.

The project administrator should be listed as the primary contact but other individuals can be listed under additional contacts.  

One quarter = 3 months

Yes.  If a match is required those columns will be available in your budget.  Please refer to instructions in your funding opportunity or contact your program coordinator.

You will complete the application in OGMS and will not need to send a PDF. However, some funding opportunities will still require you to upload documents. Your Project Administrator will need to sign the Authority Certification.

No, the program coordinator is the DCJS staff that coordinates the funding opportunity (grant program). Your grant monitor is the assigned person to assist you with your grants, monitor compliance, and provide training and technical assistance. Under some grant programs, these may be the same DCJS staff person.

The person with signing authority will complete this form in OGMS and sign electronically before submitting your application to DCJS (see below)

The frequency may depend on the specific grant program.

Programs will be scheduling their own specific training sessions. We do not have anticipated dates at this time. Check with your grant monitor for additional information.

The Claims process will include the financial report and request for funds that you are used to in GMIS.  A terminology crosswalk is located at https://www.dcjs.virginia.gov/grants/ogms-training-resources

Yes, the print feature will show up when you preview the claim.

Yes, the Detail of Expenditure form is asking for a line by line expense report.  You can contact your grant monitor for additional guidance.

At this time, supporting documentation of expenditures is not required for all programs.   Any questions regarding your specific project or grant program can be sent to your grant monitor.

The Grantee is the organization, which could be a locality. The grantee is the initial recipient of the funds from DCJS who signs the statement of grant award.

Yes, unless told otherwise by your grant monitor or your grant is one of the following:

  • CCCA/PSA-Community Corrections & Pretrial Services Expansion Grants – Start Date 1/1/2021
  • PAPIS Pre-Release and Post-Incarceration Services Expansion Grants – Start Date 1/1/2021
  • VSTOP-Violence Against Women Grants – Start Date 1/1/2021
  • SASP-Sexual Assault Services Program Grants – Start Date 1/1/2021.

That is an internal process decision. If the locality wants the Finance Officer to review the requests and approve before its submitted then that is their decision.  The business flow of a person entering the request and sending for the finance officer to approve no longer exists in OGMS.

Please contact your grant monitor for additional guidance or send this question to OGMSsupport@dcjs.virginia.gov

If the person is associated with the grant they will have access to all management capabilities. However, closed grants will not be available unless the new person was added to the grant.

Only a few grant programs have been implemented in the system. Please contact your grant monitor for additional guidance.

The high level budget will show for all programs. Some grant programs may include additional forms but not all of them. The forms displayed in the training videos are example forms for demonstration purposes.

It depends on the grant program. Contact your grant monitor for additional guidance.

Anyone who is associated with the grant will be able to see the report.

Please confirm reporting instructions with your grant monitor.

Yes, the system has a timeout session if you are inactive for 30 minutes.

You can print blank reports in the status report preview. 

When completing the Reimbursement, OGMS will auto populate amounts from the approved budget and calculate the available balance. The system will not allow you to enter expenses in a category not approved in the budget.  For specific instructions on how to enter claims visit the OGMS Training & Resources page and/or contact your grant monitor.

You would include both salary and fringe.  For specific instructions on how to enter claims visit the OGMS Training & Resources page and/or contact your grant monitor.

Check with your grant monitor for reporting instructions.

You will only enter under special if your grant is funded by state special funds. Your contract will let you know what categories to use.  Please refer to the funding opportunity for specific instructions and/or contact your Program Coordinator.

The training example did not include a budget with a match. If you have a match requirement, the columns will show up on the budget and claim forms.  Please refer to the funding opportunity for detailed instructions or contact your grant monitor.

Yes, moving forward DCJS plans to post all new funding opportunities in OGMS.

The majority of grants are reimbursement only. Please contact your grant monitor for additional guidance.

Yes, reimbursements are still done quarterly.  For reporting deadlines, please refer to the award package and/or contact your grant monitor.

You will have to submit a contract amendment change form with the new City Manager’s information and make sure the new person registers in OGMS.  After the contract amendment is approved and the person has registered, you can associate them with the grant. For detailed instructions contact your grant monitor.

Usually, the Primary Contact is the person with signature authority - The Project Administrator listed on the Statement of Grant Award (SOGA) has signatory authority on the grant.  For the CCCA/PSA grants, the primary contact is the person with the day-to-day responsibility for the grant, usually the Agency director. However, your City Manager or County Administrator must register in OGMS. If they are not registered, your application will not accepted.

To delegate authority to someone other than the Project Administrator, the project administrator must submit a letter to grantsmgmt@dcjs.virginia.gov with the applicable application grant numbers(s) and the name, position, and contact information.  Please be sure to copy the grant monitor.

Initially, the grant award will continue to be a manual process outside of the new system.  Once all DCJS grants transition to the new system, contracts (formerly known as award letters) will be issued in OGMS.

Electronic signatures will be accepted in OGMS. However, initially, the statement of grant award process will remain the same and you will receive an emailed copy of the Statement of Grant Award (SOGA) for the Project Administrator to sign and email back to DCJS.

You can only select one person as the primary contact. For CCCA/PSA grants, this individual is the project director. Other individuals can be listed under additional contacts.  

You will have to submit a contract amendment change form with the new City Manager’s information and make sure the new person registers in OGMS.  After the contract amendment is approved and the person has registered, you can associate them with the grant. For detailed instructions contact your grant monitor.

Please contact your grant monitor for additional guidance or send this question to OGMSsupport@dcjs.virginia.gov

Yes, if you allow others access to your application multiple users can edit and view the information.

As many as you need, the system doesn't have a limit to the additional contacts.

List all staff who are responsible for managing the grant.  These users will have the ability to complete and submit reports, contract amendments, correspondence, and view grant information.

All registered users in the Organization can see the application pages.

Yes, you can make edits until you submit the application.

Once you submit your application, the grant monitor will review it for completeness and accuracy before accepting it as complete. If you know that you need to make corrections, use the OGMS “ask a question” function to let your monitor know you need to edit the application.

One person starts the application, but other registered users can edit the application before it is submitted.

You cannot merge duplicate applications. You can cut and pasted from the duplicates and then withdrawal the applications that are not needed.

Please do not create more than one application.

For the CCCA/PSA grants, the County Administrator/City Manager is required to register in OGMS and approve the submission with an electronic signature. If they also want to sign a hardcopy, you can print the application for their signature and keep it for your files.

The performance statement is on the face sheet and is shared with the CJSB to demonstrate the accomplishments of the projects and supports continuation funding. For CCCA/PSA grants please include the following data elements in the following format:

Yes. However, you must now upload it as a spreadsheet or word document. You are no longer required or allowed to convert it to a PDF.

When completing the Reimbursement, OGMS will auto populate amounts from the approved budget and calculate the available balance. The system will not allow you to enter expenses in a category not approved in the budget.  For specific instructions on how to enter claims visit the OGMS Training & Resources page and/or contact your grant monitor.

That is an internal process decision. If the locality wants the Finance Officer to review the requests and approve before its submitted then that is their decision.  The business flow of a person entering the request and sending for the finance officer to approve no longer exists in OGMS.

Yes, the Detail of Expenditure form is asking for a line by line expense report.  You can contact your grant monitor for additional guidance.

Today's session is for demonstration purposes only.  Instructions on how to submit claims will be posted on the OGMS Training & Resources page:  https://www.dcjs.virginia.gov/grants/ogms-training-resources

Claims require a detail list of expenditures.  This process is program specific.  Please follow up with the Program Coordinator after this session concludes for additional guidance.